We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a great spot close to everything rooms were very clean, modern with plenty of room. Staff at reception were always helpful and the pub food was excellent for bre sky and dinner. Give this place ago it won't disappoint.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to stay service was second to none, accommodation was well presented clean & spacious. I highly recommend dining in the pub food was plentiful & tasty. Do yourself a favour and treat yourself it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martysmith99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to stay in Hunters Valley and Harrigans looked very attractive. The rooms definitely not 4 star, food and drinks were really overpriced. We went on a winery tour, great fun and good value for money. When we arrived back at Harrigans we were ready for a meal but there was a power cut, the electricity was off for approx 2 hours and when restored the kitchen remained closed. There is nowhere to walk to nearby for a meal and as we had been on a wine tour that day we could not drive anywhere, fortunately we had crisps and biscuits, hardly a culinary delight. I appreciate that power cuts occur but to completely close the kitchen was ludicrous, sandwiches would have sufficed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cags1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The accommodation was faultless, all that it promised to be, private balcony with great views.
Christmas lights spectacular next door with their own food stalls open untill 10:30 pm.Easy drive back to bed.
Good breakfast untill 10:30am made it easy for the children.Friendly staff, nice decor.
Jumping castle to keep children happy while parents enjoy their drink/meal.
Check out 11am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyheart69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Hunter Valley. We thought we would stay at Harrigan’s as it was central to everything in the Hunter and had somewhere we could get a meal as well. When I booked, I supposedly was given a great deal - at $300 a night!! The room we had literally backed onto the bar & band area. The so-called "courtyard" looked more like a prison exercise yard with no greenery - just bare walls. To quote their website, they state that all studio rooms have "a private balcony or terrace looking out onto the beautiful vineyards". What a load of garbage!! There was also no wifi available in the room - apparently it was not working and unlikely to come on again for the weekend. Later that night after reception had closed, we found a sign in the room saying that earplugs were supplied in order to get a good night sleep! Never have I paid $300 for a room and had to be supplied with earplugs (& only 1 pair at that!)!! We also booked into the restaurant for dinner and waited an hour for a steak and chicken dish which were cold and dried out. Basically, we had no sleep due to the band noise that got increasingly louder as the night went on. When we went to complain the next morning and cancel our 2nd nights accommodation, we were quite rudely told "you do know you booked into a pub" and then "I suppose I’ll let you out of the 2nd nights booking!" Service from the staff overall was arrogant and unprofessional. I feel conned, duped, and totally and utterly ripped off and quite frankly ruined the weekend away. We will NEVER go back there again, and would NEVER recommend Harrigan's for anyone - certainly not at that price!!! Be wary - if you are going to stay there, make sure you ask for a room as far away as possible from the band area - even then, I think you would still experience some noise. I think that Harrigan's has lost their touch with providing quality "customer service" - I thought that in the hospitality industry, that would be a given!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lelahlurline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here one night on a visit to hunter valley gardens xmas lights. Harrigans is about the only place close by that does a one night stay. Stayed in a studio room with tickets to xmas lights and breakfast included, 1 adult & 2 children. Thought it was a bit expensive but is on par with neighbouring properties. Room was quite large, plenty of room for the 3 of us. Great little patio with superb view of local vineyard. The hotel has a pool but we didn't gt to use it on this occasion. The bathroom has been partly renovated, had a few little idiosyncrasies that didn't flow with the room which also made it seem dated - not a problem to the stay though. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty to satisfy with continual fresh top ups and late enough to allow a sleep in!!
Only thing that really bugged me was the noise from the pub band i couldn't sleep with it, but the kids crashed without a problem... not sure how you get away from the noise given it is a pub!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having a great time in the Hunter Valley sampling all the wines and restaurants. Have to say we only went to each place once EXCEPT for Harrigans ... was so good we couldn't leave the valley before going back for a second night. Not sure if they thought we were famous but we felt like it. Friendly courtiuos service is certainly not lacking at this place. Despite the large number of patrons our host ( ?..Kristylee) gave us personalised service. Well Done. We Will Be Back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation

Address: Broke Road | Hunter Valley Gardens, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $110 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a little Irish charm at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, right in the heart of the Vineyards. Offering superb 4-star accommodation, this unique property features 48 guest rooms and suites, each with its own private courtyard/balcony and undercover parking right outside. Relax around the resort-style swimming pool. During your stay, enjoy the casual dining experience of Harrigan's Restaurant, serving a choice of Irish and Australian fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrigan`s Irish Pub And Accommodation
Harrigan`s Irish Pub Hotel Pokolbin
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing