We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thistle Hill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hunter Valley”
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We loved our stay at the Thistle Hill Guest House immensly. It's lovely accomodation, beautifully placed and put together with everything you could wish for and the wonderful breakfasts were enhanced by the peace and tranquility of the surroundings. We can't thank Chris and Glenn enough for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — The friendly atmostphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
226
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Our stay at the Lavender Cottage at Thistle Hill was wonderful. It was so tastefully decorated and very clean. Our host was so helpful with recommendations for wineries and great eats. We felt so relaxed and away from it all. When we arrived we were welcomed with a wonderful bottle of wine and a great cheese platter. Also the fridge was filled with all the fixins for a great breakfast. Would highly recommend this. Also checked out the rooms available in the main house. They were also very nice. Can't wait to go back. It is truly a gem.

  • Liked — serene setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petalpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We chose Thistle Hill after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.

On arrival we were greeted by Chris and Glenn and shown to our tastefully decorated guestroom with crisp white sheets and fluffy towels. The Guesthouse is on 25 acres with views to the vineyard and within a easy drive from wineries and the Hunter Valley Gardens.

Breakfast is served in the Guest Pavillion overlooking the pool. There is a log fire with comfortable lounges for a cosy retreat during the winter months. The guesthouse family includes a pet Kangaroo Chloe, Tinkerbell the Cat and the two dogs.

Chris extended her hospitality by giving our daughter who was celebrating her birthday a small gift.

Well done Chris and Glenn.

The only suggestion we could make would me an addition of a shade sail for the pool.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and friendly hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2006

Simply a wonderful experience. We arrived to a welcome complinentary bottle of the local produce and a nice selection of cheese. followed by a glass of liqueur. The room was tastfully appointed, with the most comfortable of beds. A perfect ensuite with a great shower. Breakfast was excellent and in a lovely setting. To cap it all, the pet Kangroo was around for photographs. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go For It
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuldReckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids
Level Contributor
189 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Faultless. Excellent, spotless, well-furnished and equipped rooms, resident kangaroo, excellent breakfast and wine and cheese welcome pack. What a shame that everyone cannot do it this well. Would recommend with no hesitation.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not miss
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Had a fantastic 2 night stay in this elegantly furnished, friendly guesthouse. If you want a memorable stay in the Hunter Valley then this is the ideal base.
This was one of the best accommodations we stayed in during our 4 week tour on the East Coast. Owners could not have been more welcoming or friendly, new guest lounge had recently been completed and it is a stunning building that gives a great area to relax in and eat breakfast.

  • Liked — decor, additional touches
  • Disliked — cold at times in room even with heating on (it was Winter)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2006

We arrived after struggling through the Sydney traffic and were greeted with a bottle of their own wine and cheese and biscuits. A great start to our break in the country. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. You can sit on the veranda enjoying the sunset over the vinyards or feed the "tame" kangaroo. In the mornings breakfast is eaten on the terrace by the pool. If you like a full english breakfast you will be disappointed but there was an ample supply of other fare including fruit, croissants , cereals and toast. Our hosts were charming people and made us really feel at home. We would certainly return there if we were in the Hunter Valley again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.2 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.1 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Property: Thistle Hill Guest House
Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing