We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushed aside - very disappointed”

Scarborough Wine Co
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Please be aware that we are generally unable to take walk-in groups over 8 people if not booked prior to arrival.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pushed aside - very disappointed”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our party of 8 arrived today anticipating a wonderful experience based on previous reviews, however ours was vastly different. Upon arrival, we were taken to a tasting area in +30 degree heat outside (despite numerous tables being available inside in the air conditioning??) Staff were very disinterested to the point of rudeness - we really enjoyed some of the wines we tasted & were keen to buy, however as we walked into the cellar door the staff barely looked up at us (they were deep in conversation). We left without completing a taste of the selection and won't be back!
The Hunter is full of wonderful cellar doors that offer great tasting experiences so if you would like to be treated with respect, don't go past wineries such as Tintilla, First Creek or Gundog Estate wineries.

3 Thank elfexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalScarb, Owner at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback after your trip here to Scarborough Wine Co. Naturally I am very disapppointed to hear that you did not enjoy your tasting experience. We do have a policy for groups of 8 or more to have a stand up tasting outside regardless of whether we are full inside or not :with our limited tasting fascilities we find this is the best way to ensure that groups are taken care of along with the smaller groups coming through. That aside, I am very sorry that the experience that you and your friends had was not up to the standard which you are right to expect (after reading all our great reviews). I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the wines and I hope that when you are back in the Hunter Valley again that you come by and taste with us again so that we are able to give you the service that you are right to expect. Cheers Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great place to stop in Hunter Valley”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first time to Hunter Valley and we decided to go on our own, rather than on a tour. Thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews, Scarborough was one of the wine cellars we stopped at. It was by far the best one.

When we arrived, we were greeted and seated at our own table. I enjoyed that we could sit and relax. Scarborough has a somewhat structured wine tasting, which was informative and enjoyable. I enjoy wine, but am by no means a conessiuer, so having this structured tasting, with a great host who answered my questions, was great.

The wines were awesome! It was also nice to have some cheese and crackers between tastings. If you are looking for somewhere to stop, I would highly recommend this place. It was clean, inviting, had excellent wines and great hosts. You won't be disappointed.


Visited March 2013
4 Thank EB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Professional wine tasting at this beautiful venue”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Years ago, when I visited this winery, Ian Scarborough made only Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, and then only if the grapes were good enough. On my most recent visit, I found that the range of wines produced has widened considerably. Their quality and the professionalism of the wine tastings remains the same.

I loved the wines (and bought a few) but the use of 9 glasses for 9 different wines is so important, as is the explanation of the wines by the attentive staff and the relaxed, unhurried atmosphere for the tastings. Personally, I do not taste wines and eat cheese and crackers at the same time, but our nominated driver for that day enjoyed the cheeses as much (or perhaps almost as much!) as we savoured the wines.

Add to this the beauty of the location and tastings at this winery are a must on a visit to the best of the Hunter.

Visited January 2013
2 Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible service and fabulous wines”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Scarborough is a must stop destination in the Hunter Valley. The wines are consistently good and staff and service are the best in the Hunter. A very personal approach to wine tasting. Loved that we could take our young family and they were looked after aswell and made to feel very welcome. A must stop destination for your trip to the Hunter Valley.

Visited March 2013
2 Thank MastermindTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great wines, the barmaid was very knowledgable about the wines and the area. 1st time visiting the new tasting rooms, great spot.

Visited February 2013
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Wine Co also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle

Been to Scarborough Wine Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing