We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop in Hunter Valley”

Scarborough Wine Co Tasting Room
Ranked #1 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Please be aware that we are generally unable to take walk-in groups over 8 people if not booked prior to arrival.
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great place to stop in Hunter Valley”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first time to Hunter Valley and we decided to go on our own, rather than on a tour. Thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews, Scarborough was one of the wine cellars we stopped at. It was by far the best one.

When we arrived, we were greeted and seated at our own table. I enjoyed that we could sit and relax. Scarborough has a somewhat structured wine tasting, which was informative and enjoyable. I enjoy wine, but am by no means a conessiuer, so having this structured tasting, with a great host who answered my questions, was great.

The wines were awesome! It was also nice to have some cheese and crackers between tastings. If you are looking for somewhere to stop, I would highly recommend this place. It was clean, inviting, had excellent wines and great hosts. You won't be disappointed.

Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank EB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    46
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Professional wine tasting at this beautiful venue”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Years ago, when I visited this winery, Ian Scarborough made only Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, and then only if the grapes were good enough. On my most recent visit, I found that the range of wines produced has widened considerably. Their quality and the professionalism of the wine tastings remains the same.

I loved the wines (and bought a few) but the use of 9 glasses for 9 different wines is so important, as is the explanation of the wines by the attentive staff and the relaxed, unhurried atmosphere for the tastings. Personally, I do not taste wines and eat cheese and crackers at the same time, but our nominated driver for that day enjoyed the cheeses as much (or perhaps almost as much!) as we savoured the wines.

Add to this the beauty of the location and tastings at this winery are a must on a visit to the best of the Hunter.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible service and fabulous wines”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Scarborough is a must stop destination in the Hunter Valley. The wines are consistently good and staff and service are the best in the Hunter. A very personal approach to wine tasting. Loved that we could take our young family and they were looked after aswell and made to feel very welcome. A must stop destination for your trip to the Hunter Valley.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MastermindTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great wines, the barmaid was very knowledgable about the wines and the area. 1st time visiting the new tasting rooms, great spot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic tasting experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a beautiful location. This has to be one of the best tasting experiences in the Hunter. The professionalism of the staff should be noted and the presentation of the tasting glasses. We always make a trip to Scarborough Wine as the wines are great, the view fantastic and the staff helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank msdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Wine Co Tasting Room also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scarborough Wine Co Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing