We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Winery”
Review of Moorebank Vineyard

Moorebank Vineyard
Ranked #32 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moorebank is one of the smallest but finest estates in the Hunter Valley, producing hand-made premium wines and is a family owned and operated boutique vineyard, where outstanding wines come from outstanding grapes.Come and taste our range of premium wines, the new selection of our sons 'Grandis' Ginseng Infused wines as well as a wide range of hand-made, wine inspired condiments.Open 7 days, 10:00am - 5:00pm
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stopped in late on Sunday afternoon, it's our first visit to this winery but it will now be one of our regulars! The lady who looked after us was so informative and helpful. We learnt so much about the wines and why they reacted in our mouths the way they did! We found some lovely wines to take home and also some of the condiments. We also bought some of the natural Lemonade, it was so refreshing!! Also loved the black sheep out the front, we fed it some biscuits, it was so gentle. Thanks for a wonderful experience and See you next time we are in the area!!

Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Good afternoon Dianne F, it's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time at Moorebank & that we were able to provide you with knowledge & a bit of fun thanks to Sheila!
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
Hope you thoroughly enjoy your purchases & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I first came across this Vineyard 15 years ago, and have been a member ever since. Even when I lived in California, I'd still order wine (especially the Merlot and fortified wines) from here.

The people who work there are always friendly, fun, and knowledgeable about their product. They obviously believe in what they sell.

Thank SiobhanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Good afternoon to the lovely SiobhanEllis,
We can't thank you enough for all your continued support to Moorebank over the past 15 years.
We always love catching up yourself and Akiko when you come visit our Cellar Door & we look forward for many more to come!
Chat with you in April for your stock up ;) Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

From my first visit I fell in love with the place. The wines are exceptional. The traditional wines of the Hunter, the Semillon and the Shiraz are presented here in exquisite style. The "Summar" Semillon is presented in two separate bottle sizes distinguishing the fruits that have been grown on their sandy plot and the other from their clay plot, you get a great chance to taste the difference that soil types can make to the flavours in wines. The "Black Sheep" Shiraz is full of good peppery flavours and darker berry fruits, has that lovely Hunter savoury, leathery flavour to it. They make a wonderful range of other wines, preserves and delicacies that make it a very tough place to leave. The team, headed by Ian and Deb, are mostly family but even the staff seem to be part of the clan in this place. Take the time to visit and try most of whats on offer and you might feel like part of the family too, the generous hospitality of the Moorebank team is worth making the trip the Hunter for.

Thank BennyKriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Good afternoon BennyKriks, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at Moorebank.
We strive to give all our customers a fun, knowledgeable & relaxed tasting experience & we hope you received this.
When you happen to be visiting us again, please be sure to let us know who you are so we can say thank you for your support .
We look forward to seeing you again at Moorebank soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went on a private wine tour. This happened to be our first stop and boy did it set such a high standard, we wish we went there at the end of the tour because the other wineries didnt come close.
Ian the owner of the winery was there himself and his approach was truly warm & inviting. He is quite a character, joking around with everyone while giving great insight into the wines. The wine here was also my favourite by far, we went to all the bigger wineries in the area but i think you are truly missing out if you don't try the personalised approach offered by smaller wineries in the area.

Cant wait to visit again truly made our trip !

Thank Amin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Good afternoon Amin25, thank you for your review.
It's so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our wines, your time with Ian & how we made your trip to the Hunter!

Dont forget to mention who you are when you visit our cellar door again to receive some V.I.P treament!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group of 4 and the decision was easily unanimous, this was our favourite vineyard. It was also the first and we all wished we had stayed longer.

Yes there's $5 tasting fee but you get a custom experience from the owner himself, not a cookie cutter sales pitch. Also if you find a wine, the $5 is taken off the price, no big deal really, don't get caught up on this.

Ian has many great stories and can talk to you about wine in a less serious manner (and more serious if you wish). Ian also picked up on our separate tastes very quickly and we all found wines we liked, the Merlot I loved!

The tasting is very generous and my partner took such a liking to a late harvest, that Ian let her take the remainder of the tasting bottle for the road.

Overall we found this to be a fantastic little vineyard, fair enough if you don't end up liking the wine but go in with a good attitude and you'll have a great experience with Ian regardless.

Thank yellowchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Good afternoon yellowchicken, thank you for such a 'clucking' good review, Ian had a memorable tasting with you guys also!

In regards to our $5.00 tasting charge, I know this can surprise the odd person, but thank you for understanding why we do this and keep in mind that for all returning customers, there is no future charges for tastings when you visit us again.

For you and your friends to receieve some special treatment with your next tasting be sure to mention who you are!

Hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorebank Vineyard also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Moorebank Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing