We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Indeed”
Review of Piggs Peake Winery

Piggs Peake Winery
Ranked #13 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky Indeed”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were recommended to come here from another vineyard as it was original, quirky and the wines were great.
The staff are so friendly. The wines are something you won't get in the bottle shop at home. Even the grapes I don't usually like, the persuaded me. Great selection of varieties you wouldn't usually see at a cellar door in the Hunter.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    37
    7
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cut through the bulldust and there might be a decent winew here.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I did bring back a wine called Pigs Blood which is very nice. I could take or leave the other wines and the person behind the bar tended to lay it on a bit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ditu-Wonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great wine range with even better names”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

These guys make a great wines with some really imaginative names.
The cellar door is somewhat small and cluttered but don't let that get in teh way of trying some great wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Argeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“SSSShhhhhh we don't want everyone to know”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Steve, Linda & the team are just awesome. This is my absolute number 1 winery. Steve makes some unusual wines, but he never makes anything that isn't fabulous. If the grapes aren't there to make a particular style of wine great, then he doesn't make that particular wine that year. Their wines are not cheap, but they are absolutely terrific. Pigbrusco and Pinot Piggio are 2 of my favourites. I hope you pay them a visit next time you visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellersforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the name”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I found a really great wine, Suckling Pig Shiraz. It's one of the best I've tasted. The tasting area could be upgraded though, it's quite small when you have more than a group of people at the same time

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank timmye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggs Peake Winery also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Piggs Peake Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing