We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$83
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
19
23
13
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
23
13
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful settingtwo nightswinehuntervineyardsvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 71 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The accommodation needs renovation, it is way past it's used by date. However our room was clean, warm and very comfortable.

Don't come here for the accommodation, come for the amazing food at shakey tables restaurant.

We haven't been here for years, but stayed last week. The food was as always, outstanding, we would recommend this place on the restaurant alone. Don't come here expecting a beautifully appointed room, you will be disappointed, come for amazing food and a lovely views of vines and acreage.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at huntercountry lodge for 2 nights fantastic food at Shakey tables restaurant , great room clean and comfortable 2 great ladies conducting breakfast great job since they were full and kept smiling and chatting with guest . Great job

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package through girls getaway. The rooms were rustic, clean with basic facilities & the bed was amazingly comfortable. Nice verandah to sit outside for drinks, this looked out onto the pool. There is plenty of space to "look out onto" or wander about . The food was great, breakfast was contintental but included meats, relishes, boiled eggs homemade jam delicious!. We had dinner at Shakey Tables which was a real delight, staff were very accommdating the food different but yum especially dessert.
Room service was slightly expensive but good.
The only downfall was other guests staying were noisy late at night an the rooms were not sound proof.
This hotel is on the outskrts of the wineries however we were picked up for our wine tour so didnt need the car.

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the pool, trees and vines
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcircus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed her for a girls weekend away, the rooms were clean with basic facilities & the bed was amazingly comfortable. Nice verandah to sit outside for drinks, this looked out onto the pool. This would be a good place to with children as there is plenty of room to run. The food was great both for breakfast and dinner. The room service was also good. the only downfall was other guests staying were noisy late at night an the rooms were not very sound proof.

Room Tip: the rooms at the end of the verandah would be the quietest as there would be no one walking past your room late at night.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizmatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hunter Country Lodge in November and loved every minute of it! The rooms are a little out-dated and simple, however, the love of the owners and their unique personalities breathe through every other part of the property. The long gravel driveway can be misleading, but it reveals an old-style house and rows and rows of grape vines, used to make the delicious house wines. One of our favourite features were the worn and well loved antique doors which give a uniqueness to every single room, other eclectic details such as the old farm truck, garden arch and stunning antique church pews really caught our eye. While the accomodation was modest, the restaurant was anything but. Clearly the love of chef Paula, this motel surprised us with a fine dining experience a few steps away from our front door. Somewhat of a culture clash, however, well worth the price tag. I will however add that we were given one night free dining in the restaurant as we stayed more than two nights, a very good deal for us.

Last but not least be sure to try some of Simon's home grown wine. As unique and eclectic as the rest of their little corner of the world, we walked away with more than a few to enjoy when we got home. This was just our sort of place, will be our first choice when we head back there. For the surroundings, Paula's food, Simon's wine and their fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drac86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews