We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but service dwindled through the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but service dwindled through the night”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a Thursday night (29/12/2011) and had a very mixed experience.

Advantages:
Food was delicious. We brought my bf's mother and she said it was the best desert she has in her life. All our plates were empty at the end of each course.
The service up to the main course was fantastic

Disadvantages:
Our booking was never taken down in the book. Even after giving our contact details.
Once we were served our main course we were forgotten about. No more water top us or having our wine poured for us which was what impressed us in the first half of their service.
We were left sitting with our dinner plates infront of us for at least 30mins.
We had to wave to get the servers attention in order to get them to take it away and then again to get menus for dessert
It took another 20mins to get them back to get our order for dessert
It then took a further 15mins after finishing desserts to get the bill

I believe all these issues can easily be fixed and people would leave as happy as they started their meal. It was not busy enough for this kind of service. I am giving a rating of 3 because the food was so tasty but if it was based on service I would give it a 1/5.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
6
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We only decided to go to the Hunter from Sydney last minute one Saturday morning. Jazz in the Vines was on we discovered and accommodation was scarce. We got in here (via the tourist Info people) and although the room was basic it was a pleasant surprise to find reasonably priced bottles of the estates wines in the room. It was clean and had a rustic appeal. The bed was comfy. For the price I probably would normally expect a bit more but we have stayed in such a range of places and prices. The included breakfast was a bit strange, no hot component was offered, just hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast with local produce tea and coffee.

Room Tip: I think all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I agree with JR1Sydney - accommodation very basic albeit the bed was comfortable but certainly not worth the price paid ($380 1nt d/b/b). We booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1 as the room in which we stayed was quite run down - the sliding bathroom door got stuck each time you tried to open or close it, so had to leave it ajar enough to slide ourselves in & out.... the shower door was cracked & the vanity old & broken. There was a sewerage stench that seemed to invade the room at night making it difficult to sleep although we had the aircon on (which was noisy) - it had no effect. And yes, the squeaky verandah could certainly be a problem with people walking up & down at all hours. We did eat at the restaurant & did enjoy our meal - the waitress very friendly & attentive but breakfast was as others have said - only a basic continental breakfast available. For the additional night we found alternate accommodation at the Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens where we were upgraded to a deluxe spa room for the price of a studio room - $302 1nt d/b/full bkfst - chalk & cheese!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capable_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pokolbin hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The accommodation was basic but comfortable, but overpriced. For the amount paid I expect better than basic and comfortable. We did not eat at the restaurant and breakfast was self serve with no hot food. Will stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JR1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I'm a world traveler - I live in Colorado. I camp, I tie my food up from bears, I'm no wimp. But charging over $200 for a sparse log cabin room invested with 4-inch spiders is not acceptable. The $10 hostel we recently visited in Costa Rica was cleaner and had better service. 3-inch spiders criss-crossed the porch area. The door to our room barely locked. The bathroom was reminiscent of budget summer camp facilities. The service at the restaurant was glacially slow, and the food nothing to shout about. When I shared my dismay with the innkeeper in the morning, I was told they are committed to organic farming and would never consider using pesticides. Perhaps they should stick to farming and abandon their inn-keeping pursuits.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw,Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Lovely weekend getaway. The log style cabins are really cosy and plenty of hot water in a spacious shower! The verandah outside allows you to sit and take in the ambience of the place- truly magnificent.
The owners and staff are extremely hospitable and you do feel you are getting personalised attention.
The only thing I would suggest is that they remove the mention of providing a hot cooked breakfast from the website, as they dont. HOWEVER what they do provide from breakfast is a high quality continental breakfast - which was truly yummy. So although initially disappointed to not have a cooked breakfast it was short lived once we tasted what was on offer.
I would definitely return to this place and would happilly recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisdarnannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

On arriving we were pleasantly surprised by the quaint rooms positioned along the beautiful wooden verandah. Unfortunately the verandah is incredible noisy when anyone walks along it, and unluckily for us there was a hens party group staying on the night we were there who were making an incredible noise until after midnight. The rooms were cosy but very basic, dated and incredibly over priced - more than $200 a night! The tariff included breakfast at the award winning Shakey tables restaurant, which was again in dire need of a make over and the food for breakfast was all 'serve yourself' as per any standard motel breakfast buffet, but with an even more limited selection. There was not even a menu for cooked eggs, only a bucket of cold hard boiled eggs. For $200 in the overpriced accomodation we expected more, especially since their write up insinuated that you'd be treated to breakfast in the award winning restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtodd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
7.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.9 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant

Property: Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant
Address: Cessnock-Branxton Rd | Rothbury, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Country Hotel Shakey Tables
Hunter Country Lodge & Shakey Tables Restaurant Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing