We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable food fine wine”
Review of Villa du Pays

Villa du Pays
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Villa du Pays restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Talia greeted,seated and served us. Thoroughly gracious host with warm conversation. Our food selections and wine pairing along with a couple of small tastings between courses made for a very pleasurable experience. An impromptu nature show with 10-12 kangaroos, baby rabbit just outside the window, a single crow and several protective mynah birds added to a very pleasant meal. Top marks Talia.

Thank lawlers2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Great service, excellent food.
The venison was amazing and finished with the timeless affogato
Highly recommend

Thank Getaway689730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeogateEW, Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. We hope to see you dine with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Dinner was just incredible! Simply amazing. Everything from my entree to main to dessert was perfection. The Caramel Bombe Alaska is a MUST!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeogateEW, Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

The Bombe Alaska is a great dessert! I am pleased that you enjoyed it and your whole experience with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

We headed to the Hunter Valley from Sydney after work on a Friday for the weekend, and were really dismayed to find by the time we reached the valley at around 7ish, a lot of the restaurants were about to close (I’ll never understand why restaurants outside of the city in Australia have to close so early!). Anyway, we chose Villa du Pays because it was one of the only restaurants that would seat us at 8pm, and we really weren’t disappointed. We were greeted by a lovely, friendly waiter, John, who served us the whole night. The service was excellent, and really added to the whole experience. We both chose the fillet steak which was cooked exactly as we liked it. A delicious Hunter Valley Shiraz from the Leogate cellar accompanied our food. All in all, a really enjoyable evening after a stressful time trying to find somewhere to eat after a long drive. Thank you to John for your good humour and great service.

Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeogateEW, Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

I am glad that we were able to accommodate you and it allowed you to dine with us at Villa du Pays. We have an excellent team that work hard and strive to make a rapport with our guests and it is pleasing to hear that you had this experience with us. Our chefs, i believe, are some of the best in the valley who are very passionate about what is sent out on the plate. We hope to see you dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

Visit to Hunter Valley and were undecided where to go for dinner. After searching google for restaurants in the area we decided to try out the Villa du Pays in Pokolbin. We were mesmerised by this venue as we drove through the big gates and up to the restaurant. It was everything the website had stated. We normally would have an entree and main when we go out but this time we decided to add in the dessert. And wow wow wow. It was certainly fine dining. Entree, main and dessert were fantastic. The staff's professionalism was great and explained all the meals and made suggestions as to we were unsure of what to have. Also met the owners and they are very nice and welcoming couple. We could not fault anything. This was certainly fine dining and reasonably priced. It was a great choice and glad we chose to go there. Worth a visit if you are in the Hunter Valley.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mattar0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeogateEW, Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you so much for this great review. Our team at Leogate strive to make our guests have a memorable time with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa du Pays also viewed

 

Been to Villa du Pays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing