We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hamburgers”

Tuk Tuk Hunter Valley
Ranked #25 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We were recently voted in the top 10 Burger Restaurants in Australia. Our aim is to provide quality food at an affordable price and we offer a menu that consists of over 40 items with nothing over $20.00 ! We are very proud of our commitment to our locals and visitors alike, we want you to visit The Hunter, eat drink and be merry, but still have some money in your wallets to get home. Life is about being happy, flavour is freedom, so get amongst it :-)
Beaumont Hills
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hamburgers”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

For a quick lunch whilst on the go in the wine country, you can't go wrong with the scrumptious hamburgers at Tuk Tuk cafe, which faces the vines. The Service was quick and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2013Johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Tuk Tuk Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Joanna,
Wow, high praise indeed from someone whom has reviewed 43 restaurants.
Thank you so very much, we love the fact that you appreciate what we are trying to do at Tuk Tuk, we want to bring excellent quality food to the Valley at a reasonable price, we want families to come here and leave with enough money in their wallets to get home, so far so good!
Over the last 8 months we hope we have built enough of a following so as to take the concept with us wherever we go.
Thanks again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    84
    30
    12
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Pulled Pork Roll!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

A local in the Hunter, this is my new favourite place to grab a bite to eat. I usually steer clear of the Tempus Two complex as it is a well known overpriced tourist trap. However, Tuk Tuk is the exception. Amazing unique burgers at very reasonable prices. My favourite, Pulled pork roll is $12 which is very reasonable and absolutely delicious! I have also had the fried watermelon and bacon burger which sounds terrible, but believe me... its ah-maze-ing!
I have read some reviews here about the waiting times encountered and although I am not condoning a wait time of over an hour (which I find a little unbelievable) I do know that they clearly state on the menu and on the walls that there can be a wait time for specific burgers and that they don't send food out in the order that it has been ordered, due to various cooking times. This being said, I have never waited more than 20mins for my food. Perhaps, before you decide to place an order, check and see how busy they are - if there seems to be a lot of customers waiting and you don't have time to relax and wait - pop next door and grab some oily undercooked and overpriced Japanese food instead!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Tuk Tuk Hunter Valley, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Cosmo,
Thanks mate, reviews like yours make it all worthwhile.
We try very hard to do our best and over the Easter Holidays we were hammered, it is the busiest time of the year in the Hunter, so it is very rewarding to receive a review like yours and all the other positive ones as well.
Always happy to have our locals come in, please say g'day next time, I found your observations spot on and quite humerous !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good burgers!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

A decent range of "gourmet" burgers, We tried a couple and both where well presented, out of the ordinary and easily eaten !! It's basically an upmarket take away ( you pay for it and they bring it out, in that context the service is okay) that's in a nice setting, wait time in our case was acceptable (~10min) . We ate a bit earlier as it was Mothers day and looked like it could be busy later. Burgers cost around the $13 mark. Rating based on burger range, quality and acceptable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belleferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Treasure tuk, tucked away in Tempus Two complex”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent the weekend away at the Hunter Valley. Found this fabulous burger place tucked away in Tempus Two complex. Fabulous choice of burgers on offer. Enjoyed our burgers so much on the first day we decided to go for lunch again the next day. Burgers are reasonably priced compared to other lunch menus in the Hunter region. Burgers were tasty with plenty of filling. If wanting to enjoy these burgers go before the rush of lunchtime as I believe the waiting time can become quite long. We had lunch each day around 12:00 with no waiting time, other than waiting for our burgers to be freshly cooked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burger variety”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

It is tucked away in the Tempest Two complex.
Great variety of burgers and quick, friendly service.
Sadly no gluten free buns were available on the day we visited, but they substituted it by putting it in lettuce instead like a 'Sang Choi Bow' - clever!
Disappointingly they also forgot the cranberry sauce on my burger but service was so hospitable and friendly that it didn't bother me at all because they fixed it so quickly and were very apologetic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarTee_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuk Tuk Hunter Valley also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Tuk Tuk Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing