We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but could be cleaner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Reviewed January 9, 2011

For a couple with a toddler this was a good choice because the location means a lot is within walking distance. The one bedroom apartment is spacious enough for a little one to play in which is handy. However, we found our room had obviously been cleaned in a hurry as there were crumbs still on the carpet from previous occupants, the bedside table and bed head were quite dusty and a little sticker was on the bedroom floor. Whilst these are minor things it makes you question how well the rest of the apartment had been cleaned.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our studio room was unbelievably noisy, very disappointing for a 3 night stay. We could hear the neighboring room's participants open drawers, vomit and their Tv like it was in our room. Resort is well positioned and reception staff very friendly. Staff in cafe lifeless. If you choose this hotel make sure you book the whole unit not a studio room with PAPER thin walls. Very disappointing . Heather

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hop3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This place is right in the heart of Hunter Valley but I won't stay there again.. very average.
Stay away from the restaurant, very poor and slow services. :(

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcakebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The location could not be beat - great views, peaceful setting, near the best Hunter Valley destinations. Rooms were spacious, nice and clean. Service was spotty - the front desk staff was mediocre at best, there is not daily cleaning service unless you ask for it (and pay extra) and the restaurant is VERY slow (even when not busy at all). We would stay there again but avoid the restaurant and not look to the staff for advice...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed one night in the Superior One bedroom apartment. We had a small kitchen and dining area. It had received a soft refurb since the last time we stayed. Overall pricing seemed on the high side for what we received considering the local market was slow.The one bedroom apartment had an adjoing room which when opened would make it into the two bedroom apartment. We were lucky to have a quiet couple in the adjoining apartment which was connected by an interconnecting door. We enjoyed the small courtyard patio and the views into the surrounding hills were beautiful. Staff at the property were courteous. Within walking distance to local attractions. We also walked to the Oishi Restaurant at Tempus Two and loved the food and service there. Overall quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We travelled to the Hunter Valley to see an outdoor concert at Hope Estate Wines. We decided not to book accommodation in advance as we planned to drive home that evening.

On arrival in the Hunter in the early afternoon, we changed our minds and decided to try and find a room for the night. After an hour of calling almost every hotel/motel and B&B in the Hunter Valley, we were lucky enough to find a room available at the Leisure Inn.

For the price of the room, we did expect a better experience. The lady at reception seemed disinterested in our arrival, and was quick to point out that reception closes at 6pm. You really are on your own here, if you need anything "after hours" forget about it - which is not a good thing if you have been drinking, you can hardly jump in the car and drive the 15 minutes into Cessnock.

The room was ok, the little villas look big from the outside, but it's not until you get up close that you realise that they are made up of multiple rooms with common walls. The room was actually quite small and very basic.

The bathroom was ordinary & the water pressure in the shower was terrible.

One nice thing was that Kangaroos were wandering around the grounds and at one point came within a few metres of us out the front of our room.

Breakfast the next morning was very basic. Not much on offer and the quality was poor.

We were grateful to find a room on a busy weekend in the Hunter Valley, and leaving it so late to book we could not be picky, so I'm glad we found this place, but we won't be returning.

If you are offering a basic room, no staff after 6pm and a very poor, school camp like breakfast in the morning, you can't go on charging the high room rates. Bring the rates down and this place would be ok for budget travellers.

This is a fantastic area and the hotel is located right in the middle of it. With a little care and attention to detail, this COULD be a nice place to stay. At present it is not. The owners need to staff their property properly, (particularly after hours) if they want to continue charging the high rates they do.

There are many better places to stay, within a short walk of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The room, location and reception were all fine and the room was ready early for our very early arrival which was really appreciated. The room, 1 bdrm villa, had a great outlook, very clean and spacious. The corner spa was great at the end of a day wine touring. What was disappointing though was the breakfast. Our deal clearly stated, 'full buffet continental breakfast" so upon arrival to breakfast the first morning we were greeted with a single page menu outlining what there was to choose from. Menu???? Every buffet breakfast I've ever been to involved choices, many choices. Even the basic ones have cereals, toasts, toppings, juices etc,etc. Not this one! All that was on the menu were 5 or 6 different ways you could cook eggs and bacon/ham. Extremely disappointing especially before a big day of touring and too bad if you were allergic to egg products as one guest no doubtedly was (overheard saying so as her and her partner made a quick exit after reading the menu).
Disappointing also was the complimentary bottle of local wine upon arrival. It was no where to be seen and after inquiries were told none left but after further prompting a bottle of cheap white was surrendered even though a red was requested.
As I said the rooms and view were good but I know we won't be going back unless advertising what you get is actually what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank werridaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Firstly thank you for your feedback.

The restaurant onsite is currently run by Hunter Café and Restaurant; we have supplied your feedback to the owners of Hunter Café and Restaurant and will pursue the matters raised further with them.

We have investigated the issue raised of the wine. As your package is open to a selection of local wines from our supplier (package included Shiraz or Verdelho however we also include sparkling Chardonnay), wine is generally selected and given at check in.

From investigation we have found at the time of your stay we had in stock Shiraz, Verdelho & Sparkling Chardonnay, the staff member involved has reported that a third wine that is not included in your package options (Merlot) was not available.

I apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused, we have retrained the staff member and instated procedures to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.5 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Address: 485 McDonalds Rd | Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $92 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing