We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great getaway, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We choose this place based on location. Did not disappoint on that, and the room was well sized, neat and tidy. We booked via lastminute.com and were informed because of that we were entitled to late check out and a free bottle of house wine - bonus! A pleasant overall stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Y225
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Please let me know when next you choose to book as I would like to offer you a room upgrade on your next stay.
All the best
Anthony Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    425
    161
    65
    34
See reviews for
165
574
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just want to say thank you for giving us a lovely room opposite the pond for my partners birthday. We had a really enjoyable weekend and the location was just perfect. So central to everything in the Hunter. Staff were great, very accommodating without being intruding. Cant wait to go back. Vikki

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Vikki B’
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again when next you choose to stay with us.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

As a travel agent, I had done my research on this property and chose it for its location. It's a great location that's it. Stayed in a 1 bedroom spa unit. No hot water, pressure resembles that of a garden hose, complained to staff who were rude, lied and not helpful. Would have to be one of the worst stays I have had in my life. Mould in the bathroom which made having a spa very unappealing. Carpet riddled with stains. The bed was hard and very uncomfortable.

I've travelled and stayed in a lot of 4 star hotels, and I think I got ripped off. There isn't even enough room for all the cars to be parked, making it an inconvenient walk to the room.

Understandably faults happens but the hotels staff took the complaint on like I was lying to them. Very poor.

Would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bonbon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We spent a night at the Leisure Inn for a visit to some of the wineries. The location is very good, close to a lot of wineries and restaurants. Quietly situated on a small lake, with pretty views, this motel has good comfort, nice bed, good bathroom, good room size. One could use the microwave to heat a meal, table and chairs are in the room. There is a pool and a lovely terrace to sit outside. Good inexpensive base for the Hunter Valley. There is a funky bicycle rental place very close by, Grapemobile for a wine tour with a difference.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Readingrat
Thank you for your review on trip advisor and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please contact me when next booking so we can offer you a complimentary room upgrade on your next visit.
Thank you again
Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Due to a family emergency in the area, we had to book into Pokolbin Inn a week prior to a planned holiday there. The staff were very accommodating and when the stay had to be extended even longer to accommodate a funeral, the staff went out of their way to assist us. The kindness and compassion was very much appreciated. The rooms were well-equipped, clean and more than adequate for our needs. The environment was calming and just what we needed to help us through a difficult time. Thank you to the staff of Leisure Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauveen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Mauveen T
Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. I am glad to hear that my staff were able to assist you and I wish you all the very best in the future.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Central location and nice property but could use improvement.

Good: Peaceful, clean, friendly staff, spa was a nice surprise, great location.
Bad: We had two single beds combined to make our double. Obviously there will be an uncomfortable seam in the middle. Walls are quite thin but we were lucky to have quiet neighbours. Our room got very damp as our bathroom window was broken and we couldn't keep our front door open. There was no way to lock the flyscreen door. We returned each night to the damp smell of air freshener.

All in all still a good stay but there is definitely room for improvement.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hcwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and this was really good experience.
The Inn located next the Hunter Valley garden. It is easy to get there by taxi (you can catch one from bus station). Room is well equipped with cooking items and glassware. Our room is really spacious with one bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 living room (which has a bed-sofa). More than enough for two of us.
We love the restaurant as well. I had beef and my friend had chicken, both of them were really delicious. However, we actually had to wait really long for those 2 dishes, roughly 45 minutes.
I would recommend this place for anyone wants a short stay at weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanhLien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear HanhLien
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. We enjoyed seeing you at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
4.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Property: Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Address: Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing