We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful stay with lovely views of the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay with lovely views of the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely self catered stay, you can buy really good gourmet food and have a nice meal in with a lovely bottle of wine while enjoying a good view of the gardens / lake. We found our room very comfortable but the walls were slightly thin and we could hear the television from the room next door. Still it's a great location and very peaceful. Have recommended it to friends and will definitely return again. We also saw some kangaroos close to the lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llyrvak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear LLyrvak
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Please let me know when next you choose to stay as we would like to offer you a bottle of wine for your next visit on us.
Kind regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    424
    161
    65
    31
See reviews for
165
569
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the start this was a disaster stay. Firstly the door was unable to be locked. The light in the bathroom flicked on and off. The hot tap fell off whilst I was under the shower so I nearly got scalded. Carpet putrid.Restaurant was supposed to be booked out when 2 tables were occupied at 7pm. No room service, some didn't even get clean towels. Tired to charge extra $29 for coffee we never had. 5 days later still no refund of our $100 surety which they held. WILL NEVER RETURN.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinklady2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Pinklady 2830
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation.
I have looked through this room and we have since had the issue of the flickering lights and carpets addressed. Thank you for letting me know of this as this is certainly not the standard we wish to maintain or present to our guests.
I understand you were not happy with room service and towels. The rate you elected to stay with us on was a non service rate. This is clearly stated in your paperwork and you would have selected this when booking with us. Your booking paperwork also states that if you contact reception we are more than happy to provide extra amenities for your room.
Regarding the $100 deposit we do not take this money nor do we receive it. It is simply frozen and automatically released by your bank at the end of 7-10 days.

Thank you
Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here in a two bedroom for three nights, payed over $600.
Rooms were ok, service was average. Games room costs to play any games. (I assumed for what we payed they would be free).

My main problem with them is this.. To this day I am STILL WAITING FOR MY $100 deposit to be paid back to us!!!! We checked out on Feb 20th. I thought 7 days was a long time to wait for our money to be released. After the 7 days instead of the money being released (it was showing as being held in the account), it was DEBITED!! After numerous calls to the Leisure Inn, and to the bank (Leisure Inn are blaming this on the bank and told us to sort it out with them) we still have gotten nowhere!
This is very frustrating. This was supposed to be a nice relaxing family getaway. It has turned into a stressful situation.
We have a 2 year old, a 3 year old and I am 32 weeks pregnant. $100 is a lot of money for our family!

Twice we were told someone would get back to us and they didn't.
Finally the manager Diane called me today (after the Department of Fair Trading contacted them-I had filed a complaint about a week ago).
Diane didn't apologize and didn't seem sorry for the stress this has caused us.

WE WILL NEVER BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear JoJo2688
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I understand that you thought the computer games on the property would be free. However, this is not implied anywhere and they are just stock standard arcade games.

Regarding your $100 deposit. I would like to clear this up as you seemed to have left out a couple of important pieces of information.
The $100 at check in is purely a pre-authorisation on your credit card. It is not taken, the hotel does not take nor receives the money at any time. It is merely a freezing of $100 on your card which your bank automatically releases after 7-10 days.
We spoke with you and informed you that we had spoken with the bank at length and they would not discuss anything with us as it was a privacy issue. The bank would only speak with you.
We informed you we had even sent a fax to the bank requesting they release what they are holding back to you asap. In this phone call we gave you the direct numbers for who we had spoken too at the bank and again reminded you unfortunately there was nothing further we could do as the bank would not discuss this further due to privacy.

I am sorry that this has occurred and cause considerable stress, but the hotel has never received this money, held this money in any way.

The bank rightly so would not speak to us due to privacy hence we gave this information to you straight away as they can only speak to the account holder.

Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Located in a beautiful, scenic area, close to many vineyards and the beautiful Hunter Valley Gardens. We stayed for two nights and found the rooms very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was close to the road and I would have preferred one on the other side of the property. There were plenty of places to visit, even in the middle of the week and the area often has top name artists performing in concert at various locations.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road for an even better stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We hit the Hunter for a 'Valentines' weekend and booked Pokolbin Hill as it is well positioned and within walking distance to many of the wineries.
The huge big bed was quite luxurious and whilst the room was well appointed, unfortunately it had an adjoining door to the adjoining apartment which really offered no privacy. Could hear everything going on next door and visa versa I'm sure!!
The pool was very refreshing, though take your own towel as no pool towels are supplied (unless you use your bathroom towel). We had to go through the drama of having to pay for extra towels plus leave a deposit which seems a bit silly when they could have been supplied as part of the room linen.
The room was not serviced for our 2 night stay and whilst this was expected and not a problem, extra tea, coffee and milk supplies to last the 2 days wouldn't have gone astray!
On-site restaurant was good and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast spread.
All in all highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are away with your loved one and want privacy, check first to see if you will be in a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talbs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Location perfect - rooms not ready - waited over 1 1/2hrs - then not booked room - had to go and ask for tea and coffee refreshments - its the little things.....to their defence it was a big w/end in vineyards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Chrispan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Chrispan2013
Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. We enjoyed having you stay with us during this busy time and always try our best to please guests and improve any way we can based on feedback.
I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade when next you choose to stay with us. Thank you again for your review
Kind Regards Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week and we were very happy with our accommodation. It is close to many of the wineries. It has a nice pool and the BBQ area was nice and clean. Found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only complaint would be the rooms closer to the road can get a bit noisy during the day with trucks as they are doing roadwork down near Harrigans pub, but no problems at night as we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Roberte
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit with us. We enjoyed having you at the hotel especially over this busy time. Please let me know when next you intend to book as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next stay with us.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager
Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Property: Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Address: Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing