We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Nearby Hotels
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$110
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$246
$231
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$170
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,076)
Filter reviews
1,076 results
Traveler rating
341
453
173
71
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
453
173
71
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe hunter valley gardensspa bathone bedroom apartmentwalking distancecentral locationbbq areahope estateself containedgreat place to staymid weekchristmas lightsshort stayliving areapleasant staytennis courtslong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
871 - 876 of 1,076 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the start this was a disaster stay. Firstly the door was unable to be locked. The light in the bathroom flicked on and off. The hot tap fell off whilst I was under the shower so I nearly got scalded. Carpet putrid.Restaurant was supposed to be booked out when 2 tables were occupied at 7pm. No room service, some didn't even get clean towels. Tired to charge extra $29 for coffee we never had. 5 days later still no refund of our $100 surety which they held. WILL NEVER RETURN.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinklady2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Pinklady 2830
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation.
I have looked through this room and we have since had the issue of the flickering lights and carpets addressed. Thank you for letting me know of this as this is certainly not the standard we wish to maintain or present to our guests.
I understand you were not happy with room service and towels. The rate you elected to stay with us on was a non service rate. This is clearly stated in your paperwork and you would have selected this when booking with us. Your booking paperwork also states that if you contact reception we are more than happy to provide extra amenities for your room.
Regarding the $100 deposit we do not take this money nor do we receive it. It is simply frozen and automatically released by your bank at the end of 7-10 days.

Thank you
Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here in a two bedroom for three nights, payed over $600.
Rooms were ok, service was average. Games room costs to play any games. (I assumed for what we payed they would be free).

My main problem with them is this.. To this day I am STILL WAITING FOR MY $100 deposit to be paid back to us!!!! We checked out on Feb 20th. I thought 7 days was a long time to wait for our money to be released. After the 7 days instead of the money being released (it was showing as being held in the account), it was DEBITED!! After numerous calls to the Leisure Inn, and to the bank (Leisure Inn are blaming this on the bank and told us to sort it out with them) we still have gotten nowhere!
This is very frustrating. This was supposed to be a nice relaxing family getaway. It has turned into a stressful situation.
We have a 2 year old, a 3 year old and I am 32 weeks pregnant. $100 is a lot of money for our family!

Twice we were told someone would get back to us and they didn't.
Finally the manager Diane called me today (after the Department of Fair Trading contacted them-I had filed a complaint about a week ago).
Diane didn't apologize and didn't seem sorry for the stress this has caused us.

WE WILL NEVER BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear JoJo2688
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I understand that you thought the computer games on the property would be free. However, this is not implied anywhere and they are just stock standard arcade games.

Regarding your $100 deposit. I would like to clear this up as you seemed to have left out a couple of important pieces of information.
The $100 at check in is purely a pre-authorisation on your credit card. It is not taken, the hotel does not take nor receives the money at any time. It is merely a freezing of $100 on your card which your bank automatically releases after 7-10 days.
We spoke with you and informed you that we had spoken with the bank at length and they would not discuss anything with us as it was a privacy issue. The bank would only speak with you.
We informed you we had even sent a fax to the bank requesting they release what they are holding back to you asap. In this phone call we gave you the direct numbers for who we had spoken too at the bank and again reminded you unfortunately there was nothing further we could do as the bank would not discuss this further due to privacy.

I am sorry that this has occurred and cause considerable stress, but the hotel has never received this money, held this money in any way.

The bank rightly so would not speak to us due to privacy hence we gave this information to you straight away as they can only speak to the account holder.

Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Located in a beautiful, scenic area, close to many vineyards and the beautiful Hunter Valley Gardens. We stayed for two nights and found the rooms very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was close to the road and I would have preferred one on the other side of the property. There were plenty of places to visit, even in the middle of the week and the area often has top name artists performing in concert at various locations.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road for an even better stay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We hit the Hunter for a 'Valentines' weekend and booked Pokolbin Hill as it is well positioned and within walking distance to many of the wineries.
The huge big bed was quite luxurious and whilst the room was well appointed, unfortunately it had an adjoining door to the adjoining apartment which really offered no privacy. Could hear everything going on next door and visa versa I'm sure!!
The pool was very refreshing, though take your own towel as no pool towels are supplied (unless you use your bathroom towel). We had to go through the drama of having to pay for extra towels plus leave a deposit which seems a bit silly when they could have been supplied as part of the room linen.
The room was not serviced for our 2 night stay and whilst this was expected and not a problem, extra tea, coffee and milk supplies to last the 2 days wouldn't have gone astray!
On-site restaurant was good and we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast spread.
All in all highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are away with your loved one and want privacy, check first to see if you will be in a room with an adjoining door as adjoining door = no privacy!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talbs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Location perfect - rooms not ready - waited over 1 1/2hrs - then not booked room - had to go and ask for tea and coffee refreshments - its the little things.....to their defence it was a big w/end in vineyards.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Chrispan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Chrispan2013
Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. We enjoyed having you stay with us during this busy time and always try our best to please guests and improve any way we can based on feedback.
I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade when next you choose to stay with us. Thank you again for your review
Kind Regards Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews