We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staff were rude, unfriendly & unaccomodating. Sheets & doona were dirty & stained. Bathroom was dirty. Walls are paper thing (could hear everything the couple next door said). Had breakfast there - all pre cooked and tasted like rubber. Would definitely not recommend and wont stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rachel M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am extremely disappointed that you had an unsatisfactory stay. Could you please contact me regarding the staff issues raised as I would like to have more detail regarding your comments? Rude and unfriendly are not what I want to have guests experience and I wish to take up the specifics with the staff.
As for the breakfast I can assure you that nothing is pre cooked, all food is prepared on the day and cooked to order, So , I am sorry you did not have a great experience and apologies.
I can assure you the walls are insulated but unfortunately sometimes the guests next door are not considerate of others.

Please contact me personally so that I can discuss your issues and make amends.
Best regards,

Wayne Brenton
Resort Manager
gmpokolbin@leisureinnhotels.com
Direct: +61 2 4998 4403
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    429
    162
    65
    34
See reviews for
166
581
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa. It was perfect for our girls weekend with enough room for us to chill out but still be close enough to everything we wanted to do. They were very friendly and accommodating and had recommendations of where to go for tasting and dinner etc. The Cafe was fabulous for breakfast also and the rooms spacious and private. We liked being a distance from the other rooms also.We will be back and will recommend to others. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Such a great place to stay clean with a stock bed and a spa was great the staff where great and friendly and where very helpful the location is great right in the middle of some of the wineries of the hunter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedford17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This was my third stay at pokolbin leisure inn. Stayed here with my husband and two year old over June long weekend. The location is fantastic being in amongst the wineries and set out on a big property with a lake, ducks and horses. The fact that the accommodation is in small self contained cabins is great for small kids. However I received three calls to ask whether I needed a cot and during those calls I requested a cabin by the lake which I never got. I also wasn't impressed with breakfast- the food just didn't seem fresh and the dining room including the high chair we got lacked cleanliness. But overall always enjoy staying here. It's convenient for families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband & I Enjoyed 3 wonderful days in The Hunter staying at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill. We had a studio room which was of a good size with microwave, sink, cutlery & all the normal utensils. The layout is not the normal motel type but buildings scattered within a beautiful property far away from each other so you feel you are the only people there. Leisure Inn is ideally situated to the Gardens, many vineyards & a wonderful complex including The Smelly Cheese Shop. Each day we bought bread & cheese & enjoyed our lunch sitting outside The Smelly Cheese shop drinking coffee & enjoying the spectacular view. Although the Gardens not at their best we still enjoyed walking the 3.9 kls around including the man made snow & ice skating rink. Our 3 days in The Hunter were just wonderful & after speaking to many friends we realised how fortunate we were to be staying in such a beautiful place centrally located at Leisure Inn. Gail Byrne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here with a discount voucher and was blown away by how wonderful the staff were! When I arrived I discovered that I had mixed up the booking and was a week earlier than expected. The staff bent over backwards to ease my embarrassment and managed to squeeze me in despite it being a busy holiday period. The location can't be beaten, across from several cellar doors and the large Hunter Valley Gardens complex. I stayed here on my own but would happily return with my two small children and husband - beautiful pool facilities and large grounds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floraville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service was great.
The room was fantastic with water views and a spa. Would highly recommend for couples. We were in a 1 bedroom villa with water views. We used a Groupon voucher and had no problems redeeming with the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
4.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Property: Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Address: Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing