We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay in the suite!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“stay in the suite!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

quite nice here. i had to wait to check in because it seems they have only one persn doing check ins and they actually take you to your room. that means that people arriving while the only staff member is out are standing ringing the bell and nothing happens. they need a little sign that says something like 'take a seat, we'll be back soon' not a big deal, but also not a great first impression. we stayed in one of 2 suites and it had everything we could possibly have wanted. i found the bed comfy, and liked the pillows and doona. really liked the balconies over looking the vineyard, very peaceful. its a great pokolbin location. restaurant is also very good. only complaint i have is that i stayed here on my wedding night and we didnt even get a complimentary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    98
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
236
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed here over two nights with another couple. We had the Vineyard Studio and Suite - each self contained but with a common foyer and separate parking. It was a perfect set up as it provided one living area but separate bathrooms (and for a longer stay that bit of extra private space with separate balconies as well). The rooms were very clean and comfortable, plenty of space and a lovely aspect from the balcony. There is a very good restaurant on site (Il Cacciatore) just a short stroll from the rooms which makes for a very relaxed evening with no discussion over who will drive. We also had the room service pizza one night - also enjoyable and a few different flavours. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating and the location is close to the main centre of Pokolbin but without the traffic that can sometimes be encountered there. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I left a review today on the Hunter Valley Accommodation Centre titled, "I wouldn't let my dog stay here' and just what a bad experience I had there. The saving grace was arriving at the Hermitage and asking the person at reception if they had a room at short notice,and for 1 night. No hesitation, I was told there was a room free and I could have it for $40 off the asking price ($250 now $210).Explaining what happened with the accommodation I booked, I asked to see the room. I was given the key and directed to the room. I LOVED IT!. I took it without hesitation -it was clean, it was comfortable,and the reception staff were so friendly and engaging. I was saved. I will be going back there anytime I visit again (and we seem to do so once every 6months).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed in a Lodge Room over Easter 2010. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a large sitting area and an outdoor terrace looking over a vineyard and gardens. We were next door to the excellent Italian restaurant (Il Cacciatore), but there was no noise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Even though they were busy, nothing was too much trouble. Our package included breakfast, which comprised muesli, yoghurt, muffins etc left in the room fridge and a delicious hot meal brought straight from the kitchen in the morning. There were coffee, tea, biscuits and a toaster in the room. Hermitage Lodge is very central to all the Hunter wineries and they provided plenty of tourist information, wine magazines etc. We also did some enjoyable walks along the country roads. There is always something on in the Hunter Valley. It's a very easy trip from Sydney and we will definitely return to Hermitage Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Hermitage is located in a good spot at Hunters Valley with assorted attractions nearby. The Lodge itself was nice and relaxing and you can borrow DVDs to watch in the evenings. We overslept and front desk reluctantly agreed to give us another half hour for check out. The restaurant was lovely but even though it wasn't crowded, service was a little too slow for a starved pregnant me. The food was not bad but I think you can get better value else where.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed in Hermitage Lodge after finding a last minute deal and only really needed a nice comfortable bed for the night so we could have one more day exploring the magnificent Hunter Valley. Unfortuntely for Hermitage we had stayed in Wilderness Grove the previous night so that experience was a little hard to top!

Saying that there was absolutely nothing to complain about in Hermitage. We had a lovely spacious room with a great comfortable bed. The swimming pool is also particularly good and it's a great location for the wine tour pick up. We decided to have our pizza in our room and borrow some DVDs from reception as it was our last night together. That coupled with the massive storm over the vineyards off our balcony made the experience memorable.

If you want something extra extra special I can't recommend Wilderness enough but if you want a great stay at a good price then Hermitage is more than adequate.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

My husband and I spent 6 glorious days at the Hermitage Lodge. It is a beautiful location. So peaceful. The restaurant is absolutely incredible - particularly the pizza. Room was lovely and quite with incredible view of the vineyard. Staff was gracious and warm and very helpful. Would return to this spot in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Property: Hermitage Lodge
Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing