We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, vineyard views”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central location, vineyard views”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked suite for 2 nights, enjoyed stay. Suite well furnished. Breakfast included, plentiful selection. Wi Fi included. Couldn't fault Hermitage Lodge. Would definitely stay there again if in Hunter region, highly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    101
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
248
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Old Bar, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was such a memorable place to celebrate our special anniversary. The setting of our studio, which overlooked the vineyard, was sensational. Inside the studio was great also. Very roomy, comfy bed and we loved the walk-in shower. The food left for our breakfast was excellent. The fruit swirl yoghurt & home-made muesli were to die for. We had a dinner in the restaurant one night & it was lovely too. When we were settling the account, a little test tube of dried herbs was given with our change (which came from their garden). What a nice touch! All in all, we would recommend Hermitage Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 244lindam244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Love love love Hermitage Lodge.
Booking was smooth. We got a great price for a mid week stay (165 AUD per night for a studio). Easy to find, right in the centre of the Hunter valley at Pokolbin.
The site is spotless, the welcome was warm and charming. Our Studio (Bimbadgen) was spotless inside and out. Perfect for a couple, with a huge bed, kitchenette, seating area, table and huge bathroom. Oh and not to mention the lovely deck overlooking the vineyard. Such bliss!
There is a huge tv, good free DVD collection to borrow from at reception. And. Free. Wifi. Free wifi. Did I mention free wifi?!
(FREE WIFI!)

It worked very well having the breakfast items delivered to your fridge with the room tidying each day. Cereal, milk, filter coffee, yoghurts, muffins, fresh orange juiceand all the trimmings. Brilliant. We had pizzas from the take out part of the Il Cacciatore restaurant one night, very good quality and at only 15 AUD per pizza, great value. We didn't dine at the restaurant itself, but by all accounts it is a great dining experience there too.
Bed was very comfy. I react to feather pillows, a synthetic alternative would be nice.
We took a guided tour of the wineries one day, it was simple to be picked up at the front entrance of the Lodge, and within 30 seconds we were at Tempus 2 cellar door. There is also a bicycle renting company just up the road from Hermitage Lodge, if you want to visit the area via pedal power.
I can wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at one of the premier suite when visited HV with the family and we thoroughly enjoy our stay at Hermitage Lodge. Was greeted by owner Mark himself when we arrived in the afternoon after a long drive from Blue Mountain along the windy putty road, and he personally show us our suite.

The Suite was immaculately well kept and comes with a full service kitchen (yes dishwasher included). The master bedroom is located upstairs and comes with a huge bathroom, while the living area below comes with a open kitchen, dining area and a living area with a sofa bed (queen size) with another adjoining bathroom. Both levels comes with balcony with the top floor balcony coming with a Jaccuzi tub overlooking the vineyard!

The suite itself overlook the vineyard which was really nice n the kids had a great time in the Jacuzzi one afternoon (there is a small pool in the property too just in case you want something bigger).

The property also came with the award winning Italian restaurant in case you ain't looking to travel out for a meal. However it is open for Dinner.

Location wise, it is right smack in the middle of wine country so it is easy getting around (in a car) to do your tasting and sight seeing.

Great place to be staying when in HV definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for the mid week upgrade to the premier suite if the promotion is running. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icewolfmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I get nervous when taking international visitors around because I really want them to enjoy them selves and I want my choices to be just right. The Hermitage made me look like a star!

First up, the restaurant, Il Cacciatore, is a serious and justly renowned restaurant (I lucked that one - didn't know before we got there). We all had great meals - well worth the fairly substantial price (within the range for a really good restaurant). I took time out to seek out and thank the chef for the rolled pork belly which was melt in the mouth delicious and flavoursome. Our overseas guests raved about the lamb.

We stayed in the lodge rooms right next to reception. This made access with bags really easy. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, (the bathrooms were small but fine) and the included breakfast packs delicious! We breakfasted at the tables outside our rooms, and then played cards there late into the night after a great day wine tasting.

Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Tyrell room gets a little vibration or low hum - possibly from the water pump. Not enough to distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnincanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Hermitage Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks John - it was our pleasure - hope the rest of your holiday goes well and your delightful guests their time in Australia..by the way we love reading such nice comments about the food and the accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I selected this hotel on location as I had a wedding to attend at nearby Vinden Estate.
Although not walking distance it was only a couple of minutes’ drive away.
The rooms were quite spacious and had a nice veranda setting. Bathroom quite small but adequate. They did include a "continental breakfast" which consisted of nice yogurt, muesli, juice and an English muffin, left in your fridge. (Toaster also provided!). Our actual stay was fine.
The biggest issue I had with my stay was the poor customer service I had in the lead up to my stay. I don’t think it takes a lot of time to answer emails in a professional and friendly manner. This was not the case with this hotel. Customer service starts from the first point of contact. I was not the only wedding guest who had a disappointing experience and in fact the other guest cancelled her booking as the person was so rude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Hermitage Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hermitage Lodge as your accommodation for your stay in the Hunter. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our centrally located accommodation and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
I must respond to the comment regarding ‘rudeness’ though. You made this very clear in the 11th email – when you asked what method of payment we would prefer, my response was ‘your choice’ – meaning it didn’t matter to us, the choice was yours. Remember this was one of 18 emails that went back and forth to book a standard room for 2 nights.
When we receive so many emails a day we generally respond in the same manner in which the email was written – short and sweet generally indicates that the sender doesn’t want all the facts; the longer emails with all the questions generally receive a longer more descriptive response. You are in the industry so I would have thought being such a busy person, you just would want to know which method we preferred… all the emails could have been answered in 1 or 2 short phone calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a lovely spot and very convenient location as we were seeing Neil Young at the winery up the road. We stayed in the Villa which had the spa on the balcony...the room was private, clean and spacious. There were a couple of things that didn't make this stay perfect, I would recommend the staff opening up the Villa before guests arrive...that way you are treated to a nice aired out room. On both of our nights stay there was a red blinking light that flashed the whole night down in the vineyards (presumably on the septic system)...and this made sleeping with the curtains open not as nice as it should be...we thought oh well on the first night but when it happened again the next night we found it quite annoying. Also the doona on the bed did not have a cover over it...just a sheet and a cotton blanket which I also thought was strange...also for health reasons I am pretty sure they would not wash the doona after every stay......the only other issue was a biscuit (part of the provided breakfast) in the the fridge had an opened wrapper. These are all very small issues but in my mind little details like above that would have made the stay amazing and also that we paid $500.00 for each night...other then that it was a pretty nice relaxing place...and oh the restaurant was amazing!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaD261638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Property: Hermitage Lodge
Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing