We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room - very average customer service”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I selected this hotel on location as I had a wedding to attend at nearby Vinden Estate.
Although not walking distance it was only a couple of minutes’ drive away.
The rooms were quite spacious and had a nice veranda setting. Bathroom quite small but adequate. They did include a "continental breakfast" which consisted of nice yogurt, muesli, juice and an English muffin, left in your fridge. (Toaster also provided!). Our actual stay was fine.
The biggest issue I had with my stay was the poor customer service I had in the lead up to my stay. I don’t think it takes a lot of time to answer emails in a professional and friendly manner. This was not the case with this hotel. Customer service starts from the first point of contact. I was not the only wedding guest who had a disappointing experience and in fact the other guest cancelled her booking as the person was so rude.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelwithlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Hermitage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hermitage Lodge as your accommodation for your stay in the Hunter. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our centrally located accommodation and that you enjoyed the breakfast.
I must respond to the comment regarding ‘rudeness’ though. You made this very clear in the 11th email – when you asked what method of payment we would prefer, my response was ‘your choice’ – meaning it didn’t matter to us, the choice was yours. Remember this was one of 18 emails that went back and forth to book a standard room for 2 nights.
When we receive so many emails a day we generally respond in the same manner in which the email was written – short and sweet generally indicates that the sender doesn’t want all the facts; the longer emails with all the questions generally receive a longer more descriptive response. You are in the industry so I would have thought being such a busy person, you just would want to know which method we preferred… all the emails could have been answered in 1 or 2 short phone calls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a lovely spot and very convenient location as we were seeing Neil Young at the winery up the road. We stayed in the Villa which had the spa on the balcony...the room was private, clean and spacious. There were a couple of things that didn't make this stay perfect, I would recommend the staff opening up the Villa before guests arrive...that way you are treated to a nice aired out room. On both of our nights stay there was a red blinking light that flashed the whole night down in the vineyards (presumably on the septic system)...and this made sleeping with the curtains open not as nice as it should be...we thought oh well on the first night but when it happened again the next night we found it quite annoying. Also the doona on the bed did not have a cover over it...just a sheet and a cotton blanket which I also thought was strange...also for health reasons I am pretty sure they would not wash the doona after every stay......the only other issue was a biscuit (part of the provided breakfast) in the the fridge had an opened wrapper. These are all very small issues but in my mind little details like above that would have made the stay amazing and also that we paid $500.00 for each night...other then that it was a pretty nice relaxing place...and oh the restaurant was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaD261638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a studio room. It was spacious, light, private and the view of the vines from the balcony just perfect. We quickly ordered a cheese board from the restaurant and relaxed out on the balcony with a bottle of Verdelho from their cellar door.
Perfect location for Hope Estate if you are going to any of the concerts as it is straight across the road.
Dinner at the Il Cacciatore on-site was delightful. We sat on the verandah by the bull-rushes, watching the sun go down. Food was amazing and the staff friendly and attentive without hovering. Wish I could eat there every weekend.
This was our first stay at the Hermitage Lodge and the 3rd time my husband and I have been to the Hunter in 13months and it never fails to deliver with hospitality, food and wine.
Hermitage Lodge is definitely one to stay at when visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to look over the vineyard, so it comes down to the facilities and rooms you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Hermitage Lodge for 2 days in February 2013. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were thrilled that we chose to stay here. The staff were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were perfectly comfortable with everything you could need, including your continental breakfast for the morning. It was so nice to sit out on the deck overlooking the vineyard while having our morning coffee. One night we ordered pizza from the restaurant and ate it on the deck with a bottle of wine! I would highly recommend the Hermitage Lodge to anyone travelling to the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: The "Vineyard suite" was lovely for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice place to stay, room was spacious and clean, towels were beautiful. Lovely sitting out on the verandah sharing a glass of wine. Lovely cushions for the chairs. I could not fault this place bed and pillows were so comfortable. Bed in room was very nice. Easy walk way to restarurant.
Check in was very pleasant, helpful young lady on desk . All in all great unexpected night away... Yea I can't wait to go back and will be staying at hermitage lodge...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamaree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A lovely accessible suite (Peppertree) where we have stayed before, it is like coming home each time we have stopped here. The location and facilities are wonderful and al the staff and the food are great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_A_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Best night sleep i had in a long time. The rooms are very spacious, nice and very clean. We had dinner at the italian restaurant next door which is part of the Lodge. Ordered food at 8pm and the main course arrived at 9:30 pm, unbelievable. It was busy but the restaurant struggled big time when the place was packed. Food is good though but not wow.
The location of the lodge is right in the middle of the hunter valley region and just opposite the "first creek" vineyard.

Room Tip: check price on wotif.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
308 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $118 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing