We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a studio room. It was spacious, light, private and the view of the vines from the balcony just perfect. We quickly ordered a cheese board from the restaurant and relaxed out on the balcony with a bottle of Verdelho from their cellar door.
Perfect location for Hope Estate if you are going to any of the concerts as it is straight across the road.
Dinner at the Il Cacciatore on-site was delightful. We sat on the verandah by the bull-rushes, watching the sun go down. Food was amazing and the staff friendly and attentive without hovering. Wish I could eat there every weekend.
This was our first stay at the Hermitage Lodge and the 3rd time my husband and I have been to the Hunter in 13months and it never fails to deliver with hospitality, food and wine.
Hermitage Lodge is definitely one to stay at when visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to look over the vineyard, so it comes down to the facilities and rooms you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    102
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
249
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Hermitage Lodge for 2 days in February 2013. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were thrilled that we chose to stay here. The staff were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were perfectly comfortable with everything you could need, including your continental breakfast for the morning. It was so nice to sit out on the deck overlooking the vineyard while having our morning coffee. One night we ordered pizza from the restaurant and ate it on the deck with a bottle of wine! I would highly recommend the Hermitage Lodge to anyone travelling to the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: The "Vineyard suite" was lovely for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice place to stay, room was spacious and clean, towels were beautiful. Lovely sitting out on the verandah sharing a glass of wine. Lovely cushions for the chairs. I could not fault this place bed and pillows were so comfortable. Bed in room was very nice. Easy walk way to restarurant.
Check in was very pleasant, helpful young lady on desk . All in all great unexpected night away... Yea I can't wait to go back and will be staying at hermitage lodge...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandamaree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nundle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A lovely accessible suite (Peppertree) where we have stayed before, it is like coming home each time we have stopped here. The location and facilities are wonderful and al the staff and the food are great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_A_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Best night sleep i had in a long time. The rooms are very spacious, nice and very clean. We had dinner at the italian restaurant next door which is part of the Lodge. Ordered food at 8pm and the main course arrived at 9:30 pm, unbelievable. It was busy but the restaurant struggled big time when the place was packed. Food is good though but not wow.
The location of the lodge is right in the middle of the hunter valley region and just opposite the "first creek" vineyard.

Room Tip: check price on wotif.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Its 2 ks from the Day on the Green venue -Bimbadgen estate so really easy to get to and from the concerts.We had dinner in Il Cacchiatore on the Friday -its pretty good as well .
The estate is beautiful with the back deck overlooking some vineyards .
The continental brekky was OK -nice home made meusli.

The noise between the rooms was easy to hear .

Room Tip: Rooms out the back (not facing the road ) have anicer outlook -although ours was not too bad -no roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaudesert, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a great find on our way home!Our lodge (Settlers Suite) was perfect for 2, well appointed,clean&spacious.Our deck overlooking their own vineyard ,full of grapes ready for harvest was the perfect scene,despite the hot weather.The Italian restaurant was very impressive for dinner the first night as well as for pizza ,back on our deck the next.Our breakfast of locally made produce was a highlight each morning. All the staff,were very friendly,caring& helpful,especially at office&restaurant.Our first trip without our children,what a great location!Would love to return with friends &do another wine tour.Hermitage Lodge was our first stay in the Hunter and we will return.

Room Tip: Quiet,private&views of vines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dags14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Property: Hermitage Lodge
Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing