We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, boutique, quiet & classy”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Definitely a property we will be returning to. This is a pure haven where anyone can relax. A great base from which to explore the Hunter Valley and surrounds without destroying your bank account. We stayed in a studio apartment, which surprised us with it's generous size, large comfotable bed, huge bathroom and a balcony overlooking the vineyards.
Parking was immediately located at the back door and the property boasts a brilliant restaurant on site. For us it is the complete package.

Room Tip: This property has rooms of varying sizes and features, on our next trip we will be looking for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ropesbasstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

An excellent travel experience. Large comfortable suite. Great location. Very friendly helpful staff. Tranquil and beautiful

Room Tip: If you want extra space the suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed in many places & thought at $270 per night we would be getting something a little bit in the upper market for accomodation. We had the deluxe room which was a stock standard room. Both of us found the bed & pillows extremely uncomfortable. The breakfast was just in room continental (small bag of museli, small tub of yogurt & a muffin) and after drinking alot of wine the night before and getting ready for wine tasting all day we would have preferred a big cooked breakfast however this is not available (have to go out to get something).
The restaurant for dinner was outstanding, bit pricey but definitely worth it the food was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank csm941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

An excellent stay here for a couple of nights. This lodge is placed right in the middle of the vineyard and wine making area which is so convenient. The premier suite is well worth the money, plenty of space and very well appointed for a romantic time away. The only two small peeves were:
1. the onsite restaurant which was unreliable and suggest you must book (although the phones were not working whilst we were there)
2. The breakfast supplied could have been better to include local eggs and bacon

Room Tip: Ask for the Bingaren (sorry for the spelling) Suite, is an excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hero360travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We would have to agree that Bimbadgen Suite is a beautiful suite.
With regards to the restaurant being unreliable, Il Cacciatore is one of the few restaurants in the valley open 7 nights a week. We do not advertise a closing time as sometimes mid-week we are all finished and packed up at 8pm, other times we may still be serving meals at 10pm. It is why we always recommend reservations, because then we know who is coming in and at what time. The night you wanted to come in was a very cold and wet Monday night. There were only a few reservations and it seemed unlikely that there would be any late ‘walk-ins’ being in a rural location. In addition, it was a Public Holiday and we cannot afford to have staff just waiting around on ‘ Public Holiday’ rates in case someone wanders in. You came in an hour after the last reservation. The last orders had already gone out, the grill and ovens were off and the chefs had cleaned up, signed off and had gone home. You were offered some meal options by our restaurant staff however you decided that wasn’t what you wanted.
Regarding the phones, you are right they were not working. At 8.30pm on Friday night the whole phone system ‘crashed’; three incoming lines and thirty internal extensions in all. When the problem was reported to the service company that night, we were advised that they did not service this brand of equipment after hours, leaving us with no phones over the entire June long weekend. The phones were diverted to a mobile (single line) and a note was left in every room advising guests of the situation and apologising for any inconvenience. The note advised guests to call the hotel number to get in touch with Reception. Yes, we’re sure it was inconvenient for our guests however it was a total nightmare from an operational point of view.
All our literature indicates that our room rates include an ’in room continental breakfast’. Guests preferring cooked breakfast can find information in the room binder/compendium, along with the breakfast order forms. The cooked breakfast options include Bacon, Eggs, tec., Omelette of Choice, Pan Cakes with Blueberry Syrup and French Toast with Bacon. Our guest feedback indicates that most people are very happy with the continental breakfast. In the 6 years since these rooms were opened (only two rooms have cooking facilities), we have never been asked to supply bacon and eggs for guests to cook their own breakfast. We would be happy to provide them if someone wanted to do so. It seems as though guests prefer to have a delicious cooked breakfast delivered to their door on a tray at the time they request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here on the weekend after trawling through TripAdvisor looking for somewhere to stay for my wifes birthday. We arrived on Friday night and the very friendly receptionist told us that we had been upgraded - perfect! The room was in great condition and had everything you needed to be comfortable - including an amazing spa bath.

After facing the Friday evening traffic leaving Sydney, we didn't feel like leaving the room so decided to order some take out from the restaurant. Normally they call you when its ready and you take a 2 min stroll over to pick it up but the next thing we knew there was a knock at the door. James had bought over the food as he said it was a horrible windy night outside. So nice. The next night we ate at the restaurant on site and it was great. Again the service was so friendly and nothing was a problem.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great location only 5 minutes drive to hubs like Tempus Two, Hunter Valley Gardens and most wineries within Pokolbin. I was in a single room which is very comfortable, clean complete with a small loungeroom, a fridge (which, if you booked a room that includes breakfast, things like yoghurt, museli, milk and juice in the fridge are free as they are part of breakfast), kettle, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, extra blanket.

Bathroom has toiletries including cotton buds/pads. Plenty of choices for hot breakfast if your room includes breakfast. Service is personal by the staff at the reception.

I would totally go back here next time I visit the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Close to the wineries, nice room and view, and good breakfast, but service was disappointing and overall it was not worth the price paid of $270 for a double room with spa. The lodge is nice, and has some nice features like balcony overlooking the vineyard etc, and I can well understand people rating Hermitage highly if they got some form of discounted deal. But for this price I would expect great service, however unfortunately the service was ordinary. The owner is friendly, but when we asked her for a map and some suggestions of things to do she spent ten minutes looking for a map only to come back and say that there were maps at the information centre and that there were lots of wineries nearby. Similarly the cleaning was poor with the spa bath or table not cleaned. When we did go down to the information centre a few kilometres away we saw an advertisement with special weekend rates for Hermitage Lodge at $150 per night. If we had of paid that price I wouldn’t have minded the average service, but for a premium price we expected more.

Room Tip: Check with the Pokolbin Visitor Information Centre to see if there are any special offers on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzietraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimeoutSydney, Owner at Hermitage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It concerns us when a guest is disappointed in their stay, especially from a service point of view, as we pride ourselves on providing a high level of professional and friendly service. I was very surprised by your comments regarding the cleaning. All our spas are cleaned after each stay, as well as an additional cleaning every Thursday, and our records indicate that this was done. The rooms are cleaned by one housekeeper and checked by a second housekeeper, then when we take guests to their room to check-in, we also are checking to see that everything is in order. I would hope that if you felt your room wasn’t cleaned to your satisfaction that you would have brought it to our attention; we did spent quite a bit of time chatting on Saturday morning. We do not clean spas during a stay the same as any other hotel. With regard to the maps, you are correct. The couple of visitor’s guides we had in the office were missing the maps which are normally in the back of the book. I did try to find one with the map but was unsuccessful. All Cellar Doors, etc. have these books so by visiting the first winery which was directly over the road you could have picked one up.

It is common practice for hotels to offer discounted rates last minute to try to fill any vacant rooms. If you want to be guaranteed a room, you book in advance and pay a deposit to secure that room. If it doesn’t really matter whether you want a guaranteed booking you can often pick up a room last minute at a discounted rate. The sign you saw at the Visitor’s Centre had been posted in an effort to try to fill a couple of rooms we still had available, and yes they were discounted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $120 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing