We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and great rooms”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our three night stay was very pleasant. This is a marvellous location right in the centre of wine country, and the rooms themselves are set amongst vines.

The Italian restaurant on site is very good, but very popular. We booked a table for our first night when we booked the room.
Breakfast provisions are not large, but they are of high quality. In a region littered with gourmet restaurants, great cafes, local providores and endless eating options, we were glad of a light breakfast.
Rooms are large, clean and fairly new. The grounds are lovely for a walk around after dinner or in the early morning. Staff are also friendly and helpful.

Overall it was a fantastic find for our recent three night stay in the Hunter.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Sitting around doing nothing, staring out at nature with loads of great wine and cheese is one of my favorite things to do in life. I was very glad I had the chance to do so when I went to the Hunter Valley in Australia (it’s Australia’s version of Napa Valley) and stayed at the Hermitage Lodge.

This quaint establishment is nestled in the midst of a vineyard so the views from your balcony is stunning and spectacular. Think ripe grapes and quiet automated sprinklers and beautiful colors glistening in Summer sun. I am not a big outdoor person but the calmness and the serene quality of the surroundings at Hermitage Lodge is something everyone can appreciate...

Read the full review on StyleFlavors.com (http://www.styleflavors.com/hermitage-lodge-hunter-valley).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blurrit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hermitage Lodge in January, the week after New Year's, and found it to be an idyllic and comfortable spot. It's convenient to several wineries (including a really good one, First Creek, right across the street). There is a saline pool which came in very handy, as it gets really hot in Pokolbin and Cessnock in summer.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main lodge- there are detached cabins as well that may have more/different amenities. Our room had a great porch out back overlooking the gardens and vineyards on the property where we ate breakfast int he morning and sipped local wine in the evening. It is a shared porch so you might have to be chatty with your neighbors.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, and we had a really nice meal one evening at Il Cacciatore, the adjacent Italian restaurant. The service at the restaurant was a little laissez faire, but everyone was nice and the food is good.

Be careful walking around the grounds after dark because there are huge spiders that spin big webs in the bushes and across the lesser trafficked pathways. If you're an early riser, I highly recommend a sunrise walk down one of the country roads near the lodge- I happened across a bunch of kangaroos grazing one morning, which was very cool.

Also, one of the innkeepers mentioned in casual conversation that they don't hike their prices very much during the big outdoor concerts and festivals in the area. After all the New Year's Eve price gouging we experienced in Sydney, this won them automatic bonus points!

Room Tip: The detached cabins may offer more privacy than the rooms in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I stumbled on this place by accident, simply picking accommodation on the Internet on a value for money basis. Instead we find ourself in accommodation to more than match what we pay a lot for in Beverley Hills, where we stay at the Montage on Canon each year for a week on business. Room is in new condition with lots of space despite it's description as a "studio". Wonderful aspect over the grape vines, great air con and quiet fan, lots of fresh air, great balcony, great armchairs. Beat this! The restaurant Il Cacciatore is just magic and far better than the customer basis of the Hunter Valley would seem to justify given the area does attract underdresed day trippers from Sydney . Will try and write up a separate review of the restaurant where my wife described the gnocchi ( spinach and ricotta) as the best she has encountered in her 64 years on this earth. And the location is smack in the middle of where you would want to be. The quality of ingredients in the dishes is a huge compliment to the owner/managers who can maintain these food standards despite inevitable chef changes from time to time. Forget staying or eating elsewhere, this is the best by a runaway margin

Room Tip: If like us you want to keep costs down go for a studio without spa on the south side. The Scarboroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I finished our tour of Australia with two days in Hunter Valley, staying at the Hermitage Lodge. It was very pleasant and the perfect end to a three week stop. The lodge is very centrally located, within 5 minutes of many great wineries. When we arrived, they provided a dozen or so great recommendations on a map. Each that we tried had top-notch service and impressive tastings. We also dined at Il Cacciatore which was good, especially the gnocchi. And we disagree with the negative comments on breakfast. After a day of wine drinking, we woke up early for a bike ride, and the english muffins, homemade muesli, yogurt and OJ really hit the spot. Highly recommended for a couple looking for a nice, quiet stop.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grover B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked this lodge, thru the tourist information.
We where touring w. a minivan.
So now, we wanted something decent.
Take a decent bath, an comfortable bed, and airco and wash our clothes.
So it just was going to be a one night stay, we wanted an restaurant on site as well.
Well we got more than we hoped for. The room was very spacious, the breakfast was in the refrigerator and up to date , and we had an wonderful view !
Since i rated as very good, the only down point to it was.
It only had 1 washing machine & 1 dryer available ! So there was some kind of an waiting line.
Other then that it was thumbs up ! Next day when we left we felt reborn !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL-Wildstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Overall, this is a very pleasant place to stay with good access to all the locations of the Hunter Valley. We booked at late notice on our way from Canberra up to Brisbane, and wanted a break in the Hunter Valley. The room had a separate bedroom and sitting area which was nice to get some additional space. We were pleased with the advice we received on arrival. The continental breakfast was very tasty - this suited our needs very well. We stayed for two nights, and the dinner on the first night (best to make reservations) was very pleasant but possibly a bit rich with the various sauces/additions. The location has been built up over the years, and their is a new and older accommodation block. We were in the older block, and this had some issues. The DVD player in the TV was broken (a separate DVD player was brought in when the office was notified), the air conditioner did not deal well with the moderately hot weather, we sere in the room closest to the office which meant that there was no effective balcony (most in the old block do not have a private balcony) and their was no phone in the room (which created issues on the second night). We stayed there on 2 and 3 January - a very busy time of the tourist season, and this possibly affected the level of service. For example, on the second night, we ordered a pizza from the on-site restaurant, and were told we would be called in 25 minutes when it was ready. We went back to the office after 60 minutes, and were told that they had tried to call us several times. I had assumed that they were trying to use our mobile phone number as we hadn't noticed a phone in the room. A very confident member of staff made it very clear that every room had a phone, and that they had called the room phone several times but we hadn't answered. I mentioned that we hadn't seen a phone but was assured that there was one next to the bed. Anyway, a different approach might have been better, as a further check of the room confirmed that there wasn't a phone there. The pizza, although somewhat cool, was still very tasty. As the advice was to check out the night before if leaving by 8am, we tried to check out the evening before. That took three goes - the demands of the restaurant meant that the accommodation elements of service were left behind. Overall, a pleasant enough stay, but we'd stay somewhere different in the Hunter next time.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new block, and if in the old, as far away from the office as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreammaker007, Owner at Hermitage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to comment on some of the points you have made. Firstly the room you stayed in is in a separate building to reception and the restaurant. It is an end room with a verandah on 3 sides. The verandah overlooking the vineyard has a partition between you and the next room however we would not suggest that the balconies are private. The moderately hot day was in the mid to high 30’s so maybe the air conditioner did struggle. All rooms have phones however the previous guest commented that the phone was crackly and after checking it, it was decided it should be replaced with a new one which had to be purchased. – You are correct in that your room did not have a phone and are also correct in that the server didn’t handle the situation well. We have since spoken to the staff member to explain that in fact the phone in the room was being replaced and had not been done. Confidence can be a positive thing however there is a fine line between confidence and arrogance, from your comments she obviously crossed this line. If it had not been so busy in the restaurant we would have delivered the pizza to you. If you were informed that the pizza would be ready in 25minutes, it may have been wiser to check on it before 60 minutes had passed. We were pleased to read that in the end you enjoyed your pizza.

By the time you wanted to check out Reception had in fact closed however there are restaurant staff who have been trained to check guests out. The time you wanted to check out was in the middle of service, and we had all hands on deck, including the on-site managers who would normally be called in to check someone out if the restaurant staff were unable to do so. Its not that Reception is neglected at this time, it is that Reception is closed at this time, however every effort is made to accommodate all guests at all times. When you came to check out the second time someone was actually checking in which was why you had to wait – as you know we take all guests to their room for a brief orientation which was why you couldn’t be attended to immediately.

The new rooms have a higher star rating than the one you booked, they are very nice with private deck and the tariffs reflect this higher standard of accommodation. The style of room you chose continues to be the most popular.
We were pleased to read your overall stay was pleasant however disappointed that you would stay somewhere different next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $122 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing