We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and delightful haven!”
Review of Hermitage Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermitage Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed there with my partner for his 30th birthday. It was absolutely charming! We stayed in a superior spa room... my favourite part of the place was the bathtub and the high ceiling. We had a spa bath tub and it was quite relaxing. The only complaint was the shower head, it was the poorest water pressure I've ever experienced! It took me about 30 minutes to have a decent shower since water was slowly dripping out of the tap. There wasn't any problems with the sink though. The place was spotless, very clean. The bed was quite comfy and it was incredibly quiet. I really enjoyed the view on our balcony as well, me and my partner spent our evenings enjoying a glass of wine on the patio. The breakfast was good, my partner claimed that it was the best muesli he's ever had! As for the restaurant Il Cacciatore, I wasn't the biggest fan as I felt it was a complete rip off. We wanted to take advantage of the pizza special but the deal was cancelled that night due to the busyness of the kitchen.
I'd definitely stay there again, just maybe check the showers before settling into the room!

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the pizza deal from Il Cacciatore, make sure you phone in advance t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

We very much enjoyed our 3 day stay at Hermitage Lodge. As had been suggested in other reviews, we requested the 'Honeytree' room, & like others, also found it to be delightful.
Whilst the accommodation was not on the road, I did find it a little closer than I had imagined. However, it was by no means a busy road, so it was not a problem.
We ate at the Italian restaurant on the premises on the first night & enjoyed our meal very much. The following night we ate at Shakey Tables, which was absolutely fantastic! The restaurant is quirky in its decoration, but the meals are just delicious, & very well presented. This restaurant came recommended to us, & we can highly recommend it ourselves now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just stayed there for two nights. Not a great deal to do at the lodge in general other than have a dip in the pool. Having said that our suite was better than expected with a fully functional kitchen, air-con,king bed, two huge bathrooms, walk-in-robe and a spa on the upstarirs balcony. Very very nice. King bed was quite hard though. Self service breakfast was a tad simple. Would have liked some bacon and eggs to soak up some of the alcohol from the night before. The whole reason we went to the hunter was to visit wineries, so having a slightly boring (in the nicest possible way) accomodation in terms of things to do at the hotel was actually a god thing, because it actually forces you to relax, really relax. Holiday mission accomplished. Overall beautiful suite and very friendly staff. Restaurant at the lodge was overrated in my opinion and pricey for what was served. Very very central to a lot of the big cellar doors. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book the free deluxe suite upgrade for sun-thurs nights. You will see the offer on their website. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJH4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The rooms are spacious, clean and adequately appointed. The staff are gracious and helpful. Their restaurant, Il Cacciatore, serves excellent dinners, with an attractively priced wine list. The only weak point is the 'continental breakfast' which one serves oneself in the room. The views and grounds are attractive and pleasant. The location is central to many Hunter Valley wineries and attractions.

Room Tip: Newer and recently refurbished rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GentleKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here in late August. Was lovely and quiet. Breakfast wasn't all that exciting but who cares when there are so many other great places to eat.

We stayed in a studio apartment. It had all the facilities we needed. The included wifi, hair dryer, tea and coffee, toaster, mini bar, great view and comfy bed :).

We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooogong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

There are so many hotels, resort, B&Bs etc in Hunter Valley, and we selected this place as we'd heard the restaurant was excellent. The restaurant (Ill Caccitorie) was amazing, as was the accommodation. We stayed in one of the Spa Cottages, which had a corner spa, King bed and a balcony overlooking the ponds and vineyards. The staff were very professional and accommodating. The contiental breakfas provided was very scrumptous. We would highly recommend a stay at Hermitage Lodge, and we are looking at staying there again in the larger family suites.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in August, and had such a fabulous time! We were lucky, as we had booked a Deluxe spa suite, and were in the Honeytree suite, which had a balcony around three sides of the suite (request this room if you can!). It was a fabulous space, with a small siting room/lounge separate to the bedroom. People have commented on the smallness of the breakfast, but you really don't need a large breakfast if you're going to indulge in the fantastic food in the Hunter throughout the day and night.

In terms of location, it was perfect for wine tastings and very close to the Hunter Valley Gardens and Harrigan's Irish pub (fantastic on a Sunday), The bed was very comfy, the spa was a great size for two people, and the sitting room had a small fridge, plates, bowls and cutlery so you could easily buy your own breakfast, and keep the wine & cheese you will inevitably buy cold.

We booked a table at Il Cacciatore, the award-winning Italian restaurant attached to the Lodge, for Sat night and VERY glad we did - it was packed! The food was great, and very large portions - we were glad we didn't order entrees. They also let you take desserts back to your room if you're staying there.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway, but they also cater for families with bigger rooms available. We had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeytree suite if you're booking a deluxe spa suite - it had a balcony around three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_fan_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Lodge

Address: 609 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $120 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hermitage Lodge is nestled on 25 acres in the heart of the vineyards of the Hunter valley, and is within walking distance of many of the areas popular wineries and tourist attractions. Hermitage Lodge is the home to the Italian Restaurant Il Cacciatore open 7 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermitage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Pokolbin
Hermitage Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing