We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Carriages Boutique Hotel for the second time - and we loved every single minute of it. The location, the accommodation, the grounds, the service, the breakfast, the WINE - all perfect. We really couldn't fault a thing (rare) and we'll continue to come back again and again. Definitely one of the prettiest parts of the Hunter Valley too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tuggerah, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Carriages Boutique Hotel and Vineyard with a large group of girlfriends for an early 40th Birthday celebration/weekend away.

From my initial email the service was outstanding and Rebecca responded promptly to any questions I had, nothing was too much trouble.

We were lucky enough to have the entire property to ourselves for the
weekend, but even if you were booking one or two rooms it would be equally as lovely.

The breakfast basket that is delivered to your room each morning is delicious, and so generous - it arrives filled with cereal, yoghurt, bread, croissants, muffins, fruit and juice. The vast verandah of the main house is the perfect location to enjoy your breakfast overlooking the well cared for grounds - or to spend time reading a book and relaxing.

The rooms are generous and clean, the pool refreshing and the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you Rebecca and team for providing the ideal location celebrate all weekend long, we all had a wonderful time and can't wait to return in winter to make use of the log fire's.

Room Tip: Verandah suites are lovely and spacious and the Garden Cottage private and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our two nights at Carriages. Lovely room in an old building, friendly receptionist who also brought our breakfasts in a basket. The swimming pool was excellent too. They organised a good wine tour for us (James White) and advised and booked good restaurants for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EssexFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently brought my extended family up for a very enjoyable three day stay and we were all delighted with our stay. Carriages is everything it promised. Idyllic surrounds, comfortable rooms and fabulous service. The breakfasts on the verandah were delicious. The saltwater pool was wonderful and was pretty much the highlight of our kids' visit. The only downside was the dinner deal we were offered with neighbouring Roberts restaurant. Carriages offered the deal which came with complimentary wine but Roberts managed to stuff up the deal leaving us with much bigger than expected bill for a very average dinner. Carriages - you are a top notch B&B. I'd suggest giving up on recommending such a disappointing restaurant for your guests. The region has so many other great venues and this really was the sour note in what was otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzypops73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and having come across from the central coast (mod cons hotel) it was a slight throw back! Quite "old world" but very big room and certainly a place to relax. Indeed having the breakfast supplied (which was very good) on the veranda was lovely. Surrounded by vineyards and having birds darting around was indeed relaxing and lovely! We stayed here and did a wine tour in our "middle day" which (having drank!) meant we couldn't drive in the evening. The only two restaurants nearby (Roberts and a steak house further down the road) were fully booked so we went hungry that night! It was our fault obviously and only flagging for other guests to consider!

I would say it slightly strange that as there's 6 or 8 rooms that when only a couple of rooms are occupied they have people next door to each other? Perhaps worth spacing people out to keep that "secluded" feel?

Its difficult to judge the cost as there's certainly a premium in the Hunter Valley. I would say that you need to plan (or have a driver!) as Hunter itself is more spaced out than other vineyard regions we've visited.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were worried about leaving Sydney for nye but fancied a change from the mayhem. Best decision ever! Carriages is the most idyllic and tranquil place I've been in Australia, the surroundings were spectacular and the rooms beautifully presented, we were in room 8 with a lovely balcony nestled between the trees and a view of the pool. If nature is your goal then this is definitely the place to be.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here with my family as a treat and journey stop gap while driving from Tiree to Sydney. This small vineyard located in the middle of the Hunters Valley Region has been under new management since 2010. A young English couple from Gloucester are assisted by local staff in bringing luxury to the bush. While the farm house is located at one end of the vineyard, the B&B apartments are located at the opposite ends. Two tin room buildings serve as multi room accommodation. The further of the two down the track is where we stayed. We took the cheapest room next to the pool which was very pleasant. There was a fridge stocked with wine from the vineyard. The gardens around the building were immaculately manicured and peaceful despite having been carved out of the bush and the sound of cicadas. A sand/synthetic tennis court was located across the the law but the pool was the main attraction. The pool seems to be a low priority for the staff so I had to fire up the filtration system, empty the filter and claw out the leaves. The breakfast hamper was good although home made muffins don't come every day.

Room Tip: There is variety of rooms ranging from suits to bed sits. Because of the tin roof, the exposed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard

Property: Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Address: Diamond Estate | 112 Halls Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We think you’re going to love this place. It’s a boutique hotel with 10 rooms, set on an award-winning vineyard. In winter enjoy a roaring log-fire, a squashy sofa, a smooth bottle of wine. On warm days wander through French doors into the garden, dip into the salt-water pool, or play tennis. Sleep in the finest fresh white sheets and wake up to a seasonal breakfast basket at your door. It’s an enchanting retreat at the end of a famous little road. Legendary vineyards, wineries, chef’s hat restaurants, world class golf courses, spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens, chocolate & cheese shops are all close by… plus Carriages Boutique Wines are onsite for your drinking pleasure. COME AND STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing