We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable fun day in the Hunter Valley!”

Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grapemobile is the Hunter Valley's most popular and longest established bicycle hire facility. Situated on our own vineyard, sample our Grapemobile wines whilst we guide you with friendly local knowledge on the most favoured private bicycle trails, wine tour tasting & food options of the Hunter Valley Vineyard Wine Region. Visit our centrally located vineyard & hire shop in Pokolbin, or utilise our unique bus pick-up & return service from your local acommodation or meeting place. Grapemobile bicycle hire includes mountain bikes and tandems, helmets, sunscreen, bottled water, Grapemobile wine tasting and vineyard visit, maps and guided tour options.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable fun day in the Hunter Valley!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If your looking for something different to the regular wine tasting tours the Grapemobile Bike Hire is a great option. We had a fantastic day cycling around the vineyards & stopping off at various cellar doors. Glen from Grapemobile was extremely helpful with maps, directions etc. There is no cycling on busy roads as manouvering to & from cellar doors is all done cycling on country lane ways. The bikes are all in good condition & tandem bikes are available for hire too. Backpacks, picnic rugs, baskets for the bikes, water & sunscreen are all included with the bike hire price of only $25 a day! Thoroughly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first time on a bike over a decade”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I were a little hesitant about going on a bike tour because we had not cycled in over a decade and were extremely worried after reading about cyclists being involved in accidents.

After deliberating over a lovely cup of coffee (made by Ron), we decided to stick to the 2 km route that he recommended which covered about 5 different vineyards. This route is relatively safe as there's an off road dirt track half the way and for the other half, we're actually cycling on a low volume side road. We were too frightened to go on the main road with cars speeding at 80 km/h.

Wearing the Grapemobile pass allowed us some privileges at these 5 neighbouring vineyards (free tasting, free delivery back to grapemobile). We stopped by the Verandah for a wonderful lunch and had enjoyed the wines at these partnering vineyards. We had a really fun time and that was probably the highlight of our trip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Proudnewparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly staff provide excellent bikes and advice”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The guys at Grapemobile Bicycle are lovely and offered us an excellent way to explore the Hunter Valley. They provide you with a map and suggestions on which vineyards to stop at. Very affordable at only $25 for the whole day. The bikes are excellent quality and they even have tandem bikes! They also provide you with FREE baskets, backpacks, and blankets if you need them. You also get a 10% discount at most of the vineyards if you buy something just for renting with Grapemobile. The staff were very friendly and funny and made the experience very enjoyable. Ron makes an excellent flat white as well and he also suggested a delicious restaurant for us to eat at!

Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Grapemobile Bicycle Hire! The wine at Polkobin Brothers winery was delicious too! Definitely worth a stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've been to the Hunter many many times but this is by far the most fun I've had visiting the wineries. The staff and owners of Grapemobile are probably the nicest people we've ever met and they went well above and beyond. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Hunter.

Fantastic!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jess_linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best way to see the Hunter”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Although I'm sure there is some law saying you shouldn't drive and ride, this is still the best way to see the wineries in the Hunter. First off, the owner and staff of the cycle shop couldn't be more accommodating, you have the option to be picked up from your place of stay, and dropped back after, or simply park at the cycle hire shop and ride from there. You are free to take any route you want, but are a couple of recommendations, depending on what you want out of the day. We took the shortest of the routes, but still packed in at least 5 wineries. The route was mainly off road as well, so if you do start to cycle in more of a zigzag than a straight-line, you are well away from traffic. You also get given a VIP pass for certain wineries which either gives you a discount on the tasting charge if the winery has one, or free delivery of all your wine back to the cycle shop so you don't have to carry it around all day. The days is priced pretty reasonably, with the pick up and drop off costing a bit more, but still cheaper than a taxi. When we went it was just me and my parent, but this would also be suitable for larger groups

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing