We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new way of doing the Hunter Valley”

Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grapemobile is the Hunter Valley's most popular and longest established bicycle hire facility. Situated on our own vineyard, sample our Grapemobile wines whilst we guide you with friendly local knowledge on the most favoured private bicycle trails, wine tour tasting & food options of the Hunter Valley Vineyard Wine Region. Visit our centrally located vineyard & hire shop in Pokolbin, or utilise our unique bus pick-up & return service from your local acommodation or meeting place. Grapemobile bicycle hire includes mountain bikes and tandems, helmets, sunscreen, bottled water, Grapemobile wine tasting and vineyard visit, maps and guided tour options.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family of four (2 teenaged boys) have been to the Hunter Valley countless of times, as does most Aussie families. So I had a hankering to do things differently.
Why not ride a bike and pedal from vineyard to vineyard.
Grapemobile was the answer. They are the friendliest two blokes around, great bikes, a tandem, baskets for the ladies, free use of backpack, etc etc.

Cheap too. A mere $25 for 8 hours, or $20 for two hours. We booked for 8 hours, but returned the bikes within 2 hours because we were already exhausted-happy, they returned our $5 back!

I highly recommend a Grapemobile bike tour if you are holidaying at the Hunter! Read up on our adventure here ---- http://www.myglorybox.com/?p=2362

Thank stingfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokBros, Owner at Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Ron says G'day! We are glad to offer an affordable & friendly service for families, and with 5 kids of my own, I am well aware of the importance of finding value for money. We are also especially very happy to know that we have been such a memorable part of your Hunter Valley visit, and hope you will all call in to see us again in the future!
Cheers, Glen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've done booked Grapemobile twice and have just returned from our second trip. I can't fault the experience, it honestly a must when your up there. The whole day was made by the hospitality and friendliness of Glen and Ron who rally make you fell welcome and go out of their way to offer help and advice while your there. Their wine is also of the highest standard just a shame they've sold out of reds!! If your stuck for a different way to tour the vineyards then go and visit Glen and Ron...Thanks for taking the time to ferry us around in the van Glen you're a true legend - see you next time!

Thank Hillsy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokBros, Owner at Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Hi Hillsy,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is the best help for other travellers! Ron & I are happy to know you are a repeat customer. Also, thanks for your comments about our Pokolbin Brothers Wines. We think its neat when customers get a big surprise that a bike hire shop has such high quality wines as well! Good news is that we expect to have our 2013 Shiraz Merlot bottled & available again very soon. Also, Our popular Sparkling Moscato has been selected & is now exported to Tokyo as well. Hope to see you again soon, for visit #3.
Cheers
Glen & Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were recommended Grapemobile by friends of ours and we were so happy to take them up on their recommendation.
Right from the get go we were looked after by Glen, who picked us up from our accommodation right on time.
Glen and Ron wasted no time in sharing their knowledge about the area and making sure we felt comfortable and ready to get on the road...
We had such a fantastic day visiting the wineries on our bikes a great way to celebrate my birthday. ..
I think it has to be the best way to see the vineyards and means you can have lots of tastings and not feel guilty about enjoying a delicious lunch as you pedal the calories off and don't have to worry about driving.

Thank Juanita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokBros, Owner at Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi Juanita,
Thank you for your lovely comments! Both Ron & I are very glad to have been a part of your memorable Happy Birthday! experience. We hope you are able to visit us again soon! Cheers, Glen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a fabulous day! After Glen picked us up from our accommodation we set out with our map to follow our trail through the beautiful Hunter Valley. We had a jammed-packed day of sight seeing, wine tasking, eating, laughing and making some friends along the way. Both Glen & Ron couldn't do enough for us and just went "the extra mile" to ensure our day was as special as it was. We highly recommend this amazing way to travel through the Hunter and will be coming back. Thanks guys for a great day!!!

Thank CheryleJjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokBros, Owner at Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hi Cheryle,
Thank you for your kind comments! I especially remember our happy bus ride as well! Both Ron & I enjoyed meeting you & your pals, and we hope you are able to visit us again soon. Cheers, Glen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

glen runs a great day out in a friendly and fun atmosphere. we saw 5 wineries in half a a day and Glen the owner was so extremely helpful. this is by far and away the most enjoyable way to see the Hunter and Glen makes it all the more enjoyable thanks to his attitude and helpfulness. at one stage he even drove us out of his way to our dinner reservation, after we finished the bike tour. Now that's service!

Thank brassones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokBros, Owner at Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback! Very glad to have helped you enjoy your visit to the Hunter Valley. Really looking forward to your next visit!
Cheers
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Grapemobile Bicycle Hire & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing