We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa La Vina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa La Vina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolute Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked Casa La Vina to propose to my girlfriend and it was Amazing!
Casa La Vina is in a great position close to all the wineries and Cafe's but still hidden away and peaceful.
The rooms are so nice, cozy, clean and have great amenities.
The photos on the website truly dont give Casa La Vina enough justice, you have to see it to believe it!
The Villas are perfect for a romantic escape in the Hunter Valley and I strongly reccomend it.
Frank and Tracey who run Casa La Vina helped me out so much to make our engagment a truly special night we will never ever forget.
Ten out of Ten, Absolute Bliss!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Congratulations Franco and Nicole. We were more than happy in setting up the romantic scene
to help celebrate the Proposal.. We wish you both all the best for the future years ahead and we look forward to July 2015 for your 1 year anniversary. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey
Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
180
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I took the mrs here for her birthday. Entering the estate and actually seeing this in person was simply breathe taking! The Lovely pictures on there website are enough to capture any imagination yet they don't do justice on how serene the place is. I've never been to Mexico, I say its exactly what I would imagine Mexico to feel. They even have Carona Beer not the one's you buy from your local liquor store.

The owners have thought out every aspect of the property and what's included in your stay. Breakfast, wife, and snacks. The outdoor jacuzzi was excellent by the fireplace. They even had candles outdoors.

Very clean both indoors and outdoors with everything you ever need to want to stay at the resort. The owners are lovely people both Tracey and Frank (the red camry).

Loved it, will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our little extras to feel at home and we hope you enjoyed your stay in the Hunter Valley. We look forward to having you return in the red camry for another birthday next year!!
Cheers Frank and Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

A Sante Fe / Mexican themed accomodation. 3 separate villas. No common walls, no visitors, no parties. A perfect retreat for couples.

Getting there is easy, not far past First Creek on McDonalds road. You sweep in on a path between the trees across the open treed area that separates you effectively from the road, and turn into your own wide carport.

The back of the car is very close to the front door and there are no steps. It may seem petty, but after a long drive it is so so nice to just walk the luggage directly in.

The inside is, in keeping with the architectural style, cool and calm. Large windows and curtains mean you can make it as bright or dim as you prefer. No window looks over another villa. All you
see are the trees.

The airconditioning is superb and cools or heats the room very rapidly, but there is also a large gas fire rapidly warms the room, but is also extremely calming to just sit and watch. A small patio area for outdoor dining and a barbecue just the right size for a meal for two are just through the glass door.

The hamper provided upoin arrival allows a fantastic breakfast with very large eggs and a host of bacon and bread and muesli and orgaqne juice and some beers and cokes and OJ and more than I can remember.

For me, a fantastic benefit was the Nespresso machine and cartridges. So much better than the packets of instant at many other places. There is a microwave and a dishwasher and a fridge and all the cooking implement and cutlery and cropkery two people coudl possibly need. They even had specialist barbecue cleaning cloths. And the owners wander over if you phone a question or request.

This is an ideal accommodation for chilling out, and is situated in the middle of a vast array of cellar door, boutique cheese outlets and very close to the spectacular Hunter Valley Gardens.

But it is for chilling out. It is for couples to rest and relax in utter privacy and quiet.

Ten out of ten.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. ONe has a spa and a closed garage but all three are great. Grab whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you Malcom, we enjoy having guests such as yourselves that enjoy the whole serenity of our Mexican adobes and property. We glad you enjoyed everything and we hope to have you return the next visit you have to the Hunter Valley.. Thank you for writing about your experiences here at Casa La Vina. Yours truly, Frank and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to spend our 1st wedding anniversary in the hunter valley. Casa la vina was the perfect place to spend a romantic couples weekend away. It was very close to winaries, restaurants and cafes. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtemisChristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and photo Artemis, We were more than happy to help make your wedding anniversary a special occasion. Glad you had a good time, Frank and Tracey - Casa La VIna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled from Townsville to Hunter Valley for a short weekend getaway. Casa La Vina exceeded all expectations and must be the premier place to stay in the Hunter. The Villa was much bigger than shown in the website photos and all appliances and touches were top of the line, including the hand chipped thick granite benchtops and the Nespresso coffee machine and Miele and Fisher and Paykel appliances. We would thoroughly recommend Casa to any couple thinking of staying in the Hunter . It will exceed your expectations and is a bargain at the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cameron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We want our guest to feel special and at home with the little things we offer in our spacious adobe villas. Thank you for your review and we hope next time you have more time, you can discover more or our wonderful wineries we have close by. Cheers Frank and Tracey Casa La VIna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked a weekend stay here for my husband's birthday and absolutely loved every second of it. I don't even know where to begin... from the amazing bathroom, with double showers and rain shower heads, to most comfortable king size bed and pillows in which you absolutely lose yourself to the warmth of the fireplace and a comfy couch in front of it, this place will take all the worries and aches away. I just wish we could have stayed a lot longer...
It is close to absolutely everything in Hunter Valley, yet you feel miles away, especially at night, sitting next to the open fireplace or in the spa, with a starlit sky above. It is truly a unique and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Villa 3 has an outdoor spa, which is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cLeo140878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a wonderful review, we actually had a gentleman from Santa Fe who now lives at Salamander Bay, call in and had a good look around but felt very home sick after seeing
our villas. We love the adobe architecture and glad you do too. Thank you again and we hope to have you stay again next time in the Hunter Valley. Frank and Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

No words can describe how perfect Casa La Vina was for a getaway!

The service and care from owners Frank and Tracey was outstanding!

They have thought of absolutely everything to make the villas so comfortable that you can move straight in! (Even with a complimentary fully-stocked fridge!) The kind spa villa was amazing!

We can't wait to stay at Casa La Vina again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa_La_Vina, Owner at Casa La Vina, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are proud to provide little extras for our guests stay. Thank you so much for reviewing your
recent stay at Casa La Vina and we look forward to having you stay again.
Cheers Frank and Tracey - Casa La Vina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
#6 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Vina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Vina

Property: Casa La Vina
Address: 657 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa La Vina 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Vina - Opened November 2012 offers three, luxury, unique, spacious adobe villas for that intimate couples escape. Located in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. The Santa Fe inspired adobe villas, with rustic south western decor, create the feel and ambiance of a contemporary New Mexican Adobe. Featuring exposed log timber ceilings, gas log fireplace, reverse cycle air conditioning, plush king beds, private courtyards with Jacuzzi's and outdoor wood fireplace to soak up the rural serenity or the evening stars. Casa La Vina is the perfect romantic couples getaway. Free breakfast hamper, Free wireless WiFi, Foxtel TV and under covered parking AAA Rated 4 1/2 Star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa La Vina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Vina Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing