We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Deja Vu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deja Vu Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After having a fellow colleague rave about this place, I thought I'd book it as a surprise for my husband's birthday and it was definitely a treat!

There are 2 villas on the property with security gates at the entrance. The lovely owner of the estate personally escorts you down to the villa and shows you all around. My husband was blown away (he thought we were staying in a normal hotel). The fit-out of the villa is of high quality and very spacious with all the natural light streaming into the rooms. The 2 villas are quite apart from each other - so privacy is not an issue!

When living a busy life, it is absolute luxury to have some time out in such a place. The fireplace that faces both the living space and the bedroom makes the villa feel so cosy and toasty! For those that do not like the fire, there's still the option of air conditioning.

Having checked-in just before sunset we took advantage of the outdoor hot tub that is surrounded by bushland and watched the sun go down and the stars come out. It was so peaceful it was almost meditative. If it happened to rain, we could have used the nice bathroom spa instead (so you never lose out!). Of course we had our drinks to sip on and then headed back inside for a hot shower and curl up in front of the fire with some nibblies. There was also a good supply of DVDs to use, plus books, magazines and an iPad with wifi. This was handy to have to search for winery/cellar door visit options in the area.

The breakfast that is included is sure to please the majority of guests. They had provided us with fresh tomatoes, sourdough bread, mushrooms, eggs and the best bacon I have ever eaten! There were also huge fresh muffins, cookies, cereal, muesli, hot chocolate, real coffee, tea, choice of 2 juices and 2 milks.

I have to agree with some of the other reviewers, after a day out around the wineries, we looked forward to get back to the villa. I had bought a variety of cheese, crackers and opened a bottle of champagne to enjoy back out in the hot tub! We had also bought some top quality steak and made a wonderful dinner using the villa's BBQ and fully equipped kitchen.

We stayed 2 nights here but we both agreed that next time we'd like to stay 3 to be able to enjoy it more.

I definitely recommend this property for all couples who would like to get away from it all and rejuvenate themselves. I would also recommend it for a single person who needs some peace and quiet :)

Room Tip: This property only has the 2 villas and are both excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Tasia 15
Wow, what a wonderful review.
You have taken so much time to put it together, we really appreciate it.
Your comment about getting back to the villa after a days tasting and just staying in and relaxing is what a lot of people do.
In fact some guests have had dinner bookings and decided to cancel them as they just wanted to stay in and enjoy all the facilities of the villa.
Thank you for your recommendations we certainly hope we get to see you again.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is such a treat place to stay. All the possible comforts you could want from a weekend property have been thought about and more. After a day of wine-tasting, coming back to a log fire and amazing spa bath was incredibly relaxing. Best experience - freezing cold night and outside hot-tub looking up at the stars! Make sure you give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Emily S
Thanks for your review, it seems as though the cold weather is still around.
As I sit here and write this it is a very cold morning with a thick fog everywhere.
It makes for some pretty pictures but boy is it cool.
We are glad you got to enjoy the outdoor spa under the stars, it's worth the dash back inside to the open fire when you get out.
Brrrr!
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

An absolutely amazing property to stay at! We were on our honeymoon and couldn't fault it in any way. Jillian is an amazing host and ensures that you are looked after for your entire stay, the surroundings are beautiful. I would recommend this property to everyone and will definitely be back again! Jillian's homemade muffins are delicious x

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFifita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Mastro01
We're so glad you stayed with us at Deja Vu Estate as part of your honeymoon.
Our best wished for a long and healthy life together.
Thanks for your lovely words we appreciate them.
We hope to see you again, maybe to celebrate an anniversary.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is just a delight. We were lucky enough to have four nights in the Hunter in one of the two superb villas at Deja Vu. Very spacious with quality fittings and a two way open fire which was perfect for crispy June nights. Gillian provided an abundance of supplies for breakfast and has pretty much thought of everything! Do yourself a favour and find some time to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mftlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi mftlat
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Not many people get the chance to have 4 nights in the villa, we are very happy that you did.
When we see you next winter we will have installed the new pizza ovens for you to stay at home and enjoy a pizza with a spa and the open fire.
Thanks again we hope to see you next time you visit Hunter Valley Wine Country.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is free standing luxury accommodation at it’s best!

I couldn’t believe it when we drove up to the property. We couldn’t see any other villa’s and it felt more like a house than a villa. It is so beautiful, surrounded by nature and with all the fine touches of luxury. My friend and i enjoyed the complimentary sparkling in the hot tub, lit the fire, cooked up a gourmet dinner of supplies we had collected in the local area and a nice bottle of red. The gourmet kitchen had everything we needed and supplies for a beautiful cooked breakfast, spices to use for dinner, teas/coffee machine, the lot.
It’s only a few minute drive from many of the favourite vineyards on McDonald’s Road.
We couldn’t have asked for a better escape, only that we didn’t stay long enough!
I will definitely be back! 5 stars!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Katrina C
We wanted to say thank you for your review of Deja Vu.
Guests often comment about the privacy of the property and how it is surrounded by natural bush.
Glad you loved the kitchen so much and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time.
We hope it can be a little longer too so that you get to have a long weekend break.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

what a great place to stay for couples, very private, the owners are so friendly and nothing is to much to ask. the accommodation is immaculate and very private with there own private spa and open fire place , I would recommend Deja Vu to any couple to stay at . .

Room Tip: any room will do but stay for 2 nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMMO940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Simmo940
Thanks for your review and kind words we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendations, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Deja Vu Estate. The property was beautiful and very private with modern and comfortable furnishings and appliances. It was an absolute gem.

I will recommend this place to people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsisfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig V, Owner at Deja Vu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi bsisfos
Many thanks for your review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
We hope to see you again next time you visit Hunter Valley Wine Country.
Stay well.
Regards
Jillian and Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.5 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
304 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deja Vu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deja Vu Estate

Address: 280 Old North Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $282 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Deja Vu Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the luxury villas have been located to offer complete privacy on the 35 acre bushland estate.Guests are offered seclusion and luxury around the clock.The fully self contained Villas offer opened planned living areas oriented to take advantage of the bushland and water views. The dining, lounge, bedroom and bathrooms all open out onto private decks with day beds and heated out door spas. Double sided fireplaces in the bedroom/loungeroom add to the luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Deja Vu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deja Vu Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing