We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Top Wedding Reception”

Lindemans Hunter River Winery
Ranked #65 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Top Wedding Reception”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A Chapel like alfresco area for the wedding service and waiting area while the wedding party were off having a photo session, with a continued flow of great finger food for the guests. Then the reception was very informal but with a high class presentation of the table settings, with tall vases of lillies placed on round mirror tiles in the centre of the tables, with a red and a white wine on each table, and bubbly was presented for the toasting. The bar was well catered and the entree's, and mains were well received as they were well presented and very enjoyable, The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and polite. There was plenty of available parking and the other facilities were clean and well presented.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank bollen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    19
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good service, not many wines though”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Being Lindemans, I probably expected there to be more wines on the list than what there was. There were a number of wines, but very few were actually from the Hunter Valley, instead they supplemented the list by showcasing wines from other regions.

What I did try was OK, but it was the first winery I stopped at where I didn't actually buy a bottle.

The service was very good, and the place is well presented, but overall it wasn't really what I had expected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cafe 1843 - Yum!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We didn't taste the wine - we were hungry and looking for something simple to eat for lunch. We found it here at Cafe 1843 which is within the Lindeman's Wines complex. The staff were friendly and helpful. The soup of the day turned out to be a very rich and delicious Cream of Mushroom. Perfect with crusty bread. It was a quiet mid week lunch with the restaurant only half full. Just the way we like it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Producing great whites”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The whites are great, need cellaring, the reds aren't bad either, some classics amongs them. The museum not as good as in the 80's

Helpful?
Thank Bluegums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ugh- it's kind of like Wal-Mart --- get 'em in and out quickly and sell them a lot.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pretty place, I'll give them that. Scenic and pleasing to the eye. I ended up buying one bottle of wine here, because of the wineries we'd gone to that day, this one was the best (that's not saying much, unfortunately.) It has a corporate feel to it, not the small, knowledgeable experience I was looking for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pursie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindemans Hunter River Winery also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Lindemans Hunter River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing