We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Winery in the Hunter Valley”

Drayton Family Wines
Ranked #54 of 119 things to do in Pokolbin
Attraction details
Reviewed November 11, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful afternoon winetasting at Draytons - one of our most favourite wineries in the Hunter Valley. We were attended to by a lovely gentleman - Daniel who was not only very helpful in explaining the wines but most entertaining (ask him about the origins of the blue wine and you'll see what I mean). We bought some lovely wines - many which you can only buy at the celler door. I recommend that you put this winery on your must visit list when you're in the Hunter Valley. Thank you Draytons and Daniel!

Thank tntpaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draytons F, Manager at Drayton Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful comments, I will pass them on to Daniel, his team & the Drayton family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jungle juice"
in 2 reviews
"lovely port"
in 2 reviews
"bus tour"
in 4 reviews
"hunter valley"
in 16 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 2 reviews
"great winery"
in 2 reviews
"great service"
in 2 reviews
"draytons"
in 20 reviews
"ports"
in 9 reviews
"daniel"
in 10 reviews
"traminer"
in 3 reviews
"fortifieds"
in 3 reviews
"bottle"
in 14 reviews
"grafton"
in 5 reviews
"tipple"
in 2 reviews
"wines"
in 42 reviews
"tasting"
in 18 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2017

It has been over 20 years since I was last here and was keen to return to one of the pioneers of wine making in the Hunter. We had great service and were able to buy a reasonable bottle of shiraz for cellaring for years to come. There is something for every drinker here, we even bought a "Blue Wine" - Hunter Valley - cant wait to drink it

Thank GCPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draytons F, Manager at Drayton Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your comments, very pleased to hear that you have returned.
Staff and the Drayton family have been hard at work trying to re-establish this great name with niche products, (Blue, Pink, Tawny Bubbles, ...) as well as the main stays of the Hunter Valley, Semillon & Shiraz. My personal favourites are Cabernet and the recently introduced Tempranillo, both delicious. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully not 20 years though, enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We have been coming to the Hunter Valley regularly for the past four years. Drayton Family Winery is always on our list to visit and stock up on some tipples. Daniel is always friendly and has a joke to tell which makes the experience all the more memorable.

Thank kochie4421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draytons F, Manager at Drayton Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your comments, I agree, Daniel is a great asset and ambassador for our brand, a wonderful entertainer with great wine knowledge. Most of our visitors go away smiling after a wonderful experience with him. I will pass on your comments to Daniel & also to the Drayton family. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Draytons had been chosen for us for lunch on our Hunter Valley wine tour, and it was an excellent decision. We enjoyed the wine tasting and bought the 'New Generation' Chardonnay, the Verdelho and two bottles of the appealing 'Happy Birthday' sparkly. We had preordered our lunches and by the time we had finished the tasting, it was ready. Very fresh and delicious and my wife couldn't finish her very generous chicken wrap. Thank you to the Draytons family.

1  Thank Survey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draytons F, Manager at Drayton Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments
I will forward to the Drayton family and to all staff concerned
Regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Visiting all the way from Central Queensland and of all the wineries we visited today they where the best!! Daniel we will see you again!!!

Thank Laurika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draytons F, Manager at Drayton Family Wines, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you Laurika
I will pass on your comments to Daniel and the Drayton family
Enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Family Wines also viewed

 

Been to Drayton Family Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing