We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and arrogant!”
Review of Peterson House

Peterson House
Ranked #4 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Rude and arrogant!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I was planning on buying a dozen of the Peterson's Sem. Botrytis for Christmas gifts and was excited to be back in this lovely setting. There were about 10 others at the tasting bar with only one person attending to the guests. We were finally seen to and we asked to taste the Botrytis before buying. The girl ignored this and said that they were only tasting the new sparkling Sem. Botrytis. I asked to taste their normal one and she went on about the sparkling one being 150% better than the other one and again ignored our request. Needless to say we left without purchasing anything and found a number of other wineries where we could taste what we wanted (within reason) and found of lovely versions of Botrytis to buy. ATTITUDE is everything!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    139
    37
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast Stop a Must”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a full restaurant but the staff managed to squeeze us in with a table overlooking the vineyard.. bliss. The breakfast was lovely and the eggs were poached to perfection. A lovely spot for breakfast and the staff were really efficient and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Bubbles”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Return visit to purchase some Bubbles, the staff were very friendly, asked if we wanted to taste, although I knew what I wanted, we decided not to disappoint the Girl, so we had a taste, then ended up purchasing extra because it was so nice, yum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great start to the morning”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Breakfast at Peterson's was the celebration ending to our Balloon Aloft flight. Both were fabulous experiences. Breakfast on the verandah at Peterson's overlooking the tranquil lake whilsst experiencing bubbles is devine. The staff were very helpful, but not intrussive, encouraging browsing and tasting of products. Have now joined the Pink Club. Will be returning to Peterson's again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service and disappointing experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We waited for 35 MINUTES for ONE take away coffee.. after they told us it wouldn't be long.
It wasn't at a peak time and the place wasn't very busy. Several staff members continuously walked past us waiting without offering any help or service.
The staff were impolite and after waiting about 20 minutes, we asked them to check on our order and she eventually came back and said "it will be a few minutes, do you still want it?"
We then waited another 15 minutes to get the coffee & they were rather unapologetic when finally giving it to us.
Bathrooms were average and not what i expected at an upmarket wine estate. General atmosphere was unaccommodating and didn't compete with our experience at other places in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxreview90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peterson House also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Peterson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing