We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Hungerford Hill Wines
Ranked #18 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hungerford Hill is a boutique estate in the heart of the Hunter Valley making distinguished wines that are regional and authentic. Offering a variety of wines made on site to taste and our renowned Epic wine and food tasting. Regular live music and cultural events.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our first winery of the day...and the best experience! Rebecca was welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable, professional and is an asset to the winery. They have some great wines and the whole experience was fantastic. We asked her for lunch suggestions and she offered several options locally - but once we checked out their own lunch menu, we decided to return a few hours later for the Collection Tasting Menu - I highly recommend it.

It consists of 4 premium wines matched to 4 tasting bites and was delicious - next time we will try the Epic experience, which we watched 2 people enjoy at the table next to us - after they arrived by helicopter to the winery's own helipad! So this is also a place to celebrate something special perhaps...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    9
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best wine tasting experience ever!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Rebecca was absolutely amazing! If you are travelling to the Hunter Valley region enrich your experience by stopping at Hungerford Hill Wines. Not only are the wines amazing, I learnt more about wine not only in the Hunter region but over Australia in the hour we spent with Rebecca - she really knows her stuff and had us laughing the whole time. I stopped in with some friends before the the Bruce Springsteen concert in Feb 14 and it was hands down the best fun I have had wine tasting, ever! Thank you for an awesome day Rebecca. I hope the guys were not too much trouble when they returned to see you at the degustation luncheon last Sunday. They raved about it also!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1978NikkiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant wines”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Absolutely loved this winery. All the wines were so tasty I couldn't decide which was best to buy! The staff were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable with both the wine varieties and the local area. Highly suggest a visit here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Once again Rebecca showed us what it was all about. Their new range Vinefire Shiraz is to die for. Also the Rose and Sparkling Shiraz are delicious. Try the 1/2 bottles of Vinefire Shiraz, they are a bargain at $5 each.
Next time we will do the Epic degustation luncheon.
Thanks HH, so glad we dropped in.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Polley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational!!!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were at the Vineyards last weekend enjoying some wonderful winetasting experiences, and then we stumbled on Hungerford Hill OMG!!!! what an awesome place as soon as you walk in the front door you are greeted by warm friendly people who know how to have fun, then you walk around the beautiful building which is so unique to the Hunter, not to mention the delicious restaurant you mustn't miss. But the wine tasting blew us away very attentive staff who answered all our questions and didn't worry if the question sounded quite sillynothing was a problem. It is ashame there are not more wineries in the Hunter with staff like Hungerford Hill has!!!!!! Well Done!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungerford Hill Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hungerford Hill Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing