We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to the Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
An Accor traveler
Sydney
1
Reviewed February 7, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 896 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

the room was pretty small for 2 double beds, the bathroom fixings were not 100% working , the sink was not woking properly. when you use the shower, you cannot avoid water splashing on the whole bathroom. there were cockcroaches crawling on our toothbrushes! it was a hot weekend when we stayed so a lot of people were using the swimming pool but on the 3 days we stayed there, i did not see any one time anybody maintained / cleaned the pool. by day 3 it was really dirty. the service was not too bad. but for the weekend rate we paid, i think we deserve more. almost $400/night including bf.i definitely will go for somewhere worth my money. good location though. very central to the wineries and shopping village is adjacent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum_of_two74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelenebrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This hotel has a great Hunter Valley location being in close proximity to the Hunter Valley Gardens and major cellar doors. The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms provide a central base to enjoy the Hunter but the standard of general maintenance around the hotel is average at best.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recently stay with us. We have taken note of your comments about some maintenance aspects of our property, this is not our usual high standard of presentation and we would like to assure you that we have addressed these issues relating to this matter. We are delighted to here that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay including our location and our valued team members. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Sydney
1
Reviewed January 29, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Townsville
1
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located as a centre point to the Hunter Valley wineries. It is unobtrusive and is walking distance to the Hunter Valley Gardens (which we got free entry to as we were staying at the hotel). The steakhouse restaurant was excellent and we dined twice for dinner which we usually do not do.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always delighted to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara1226
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $117 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing