We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly & helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
TAMWORTH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Really friendly & helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Mercure Gardens several times. It is not a five star hotel and there are plenty of areas for improvement, particularly in the restaurant but it is a lovely location and the staff are brilliant. If you are not too concerned about the details and want a place to stay with great facilities in the heart of the wine area that is relaxing then this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    353
    146
    36
    26
See reviews for
182
457
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Beautiful surroundings and location, amazing restaurant, fantastic service and top quality. The best in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceShellharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
It is always wonderful to read such positive reviews on our property, thank you for taking the time to post it and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were immediately impressed by the low rise buildings combined with neatly trimmed hedge gardens. There is a large country style lounge area near bar with a library & open fireplace for winter. the room was adequate though not sizeable. this was partially offset by the private outside balcony with table and chairs. Better sweeping/vacuuming would address our housekeeping concerns. Upon arrival two light globes needed replacement - promptly addressed. Easy walking distance to Hunter Valley Gardens & local vineyards.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your housekeeping notes have already been addressed internally. We are delighted you enjoyed our property's layout, location and decor we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

A great place to stay with a family and to visit the Hunter Valley gardens and Christmas Lights Spectacular. We left the car and walked to the gardens, the lights and the village. Also in walking distance to Tempus Two, McGuigans and Brokenwood wineries. At the end of the day we had a great swim in the pool and relaxed in our courtyard with a few quiet drinks. Everyone, from our 18month old grandson, to my husband and I, ( in our 50's), had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureManagement, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our hotel facilities, close proximity to surrounding cellar doors as well as the Hunter Valley Gardens hosting the Christmas Lights Spectacular. We look forward to welcoming your family back to the Hunter and our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing