We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tower Lodge(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
321
402
171
45
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
402
171
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken bathhunter valley gardenselements restaurantrecord playerglass ceilingwalking distanceaccor memberprivate courtyardreception staffchristmas lightssuperior roomfilet mignonshopping villagesliding dooran overnight staybuffet breakfastseveral wineries
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from another visit to this great resort. Love the quiet layback feeling to this place. Staff are fabulous and go out of their way to welcome you and make your stay a wonderful experience. Views from the rooms balconies are lovely and private. Elements, their in house restaurant is, in my opinion, the best in The Hunter, and the only place we dine when visiting. A lovely touch was the complimentary bottle of wine, in our room as a welcome back gesture, thankyou. The grounds are beautiful and it is a delight to walk around them. If you want a lovely couples stay with great staff attitude, close to all the wineries I highly recommend here. we signed up to their Loyalties programme when we got home, its a great offer

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHVG, Front Office Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Jenny,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We always love seeing you return and are so glad this stay was just as great as your last stays.
We can not wait to have you back again.
Kindest Regards,
Nicole Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well located and nice room layout.
I like how you drive in, check in, drive to the room, park out the front of your ground floor room, easy.
Breakfast was lovely.
We had a drink a sundown by the pool area and had to go back to the room for a towel to wipe the really dirty outside furniture down

Hunter Valley Garden discount 50% when you stay here is a bonus
Yes we would stay again

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank crazymonkey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHVG, Front Office Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always lovely to hear our guests has a nice time at the Mercure.
I have passed your feedback onto our Maintenance team to make sure they are checking the pool furniture daily, It has been really windy up here with the weather so this can cause lots of dust all day even after cleaning.
We hope to see you back at the Mercure again soon.
Kindest Regard's
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

Was a perfect stay. Centrally located in Polkolbin with walking distance to numerous places of interest. Breakfast was superb to fuel the start of the day. Value for money accomodation and staff were ever so helpful. We hired a tandem bike one morning which was a delightful fun activity.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHVG, Front Office Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Tim,
Thank you so much for your great review. It's always a pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay.
We hope to see you return again soon.
Kindest Regard's,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

The Mercure "Resort", set in extensive well-manicured gardens, was no doubt superb in its prime. It has aged graciously and still provides quality and style at a reasonable price. Very pleasant, smiling, helpful reception staff. Our room was impressive with its high raked ceiling and old-style ("period"?) mirror, bedside tables & desk. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Well renovated bathroom with quality walk-in shower and positive external exhaust although very difficult to use basin without spilling water everywhere.. Rather small (flatscreen) TV, complete with (fair quality) Foxtel. Large very comfortable bed. Quiet a/c. Inadequate lighting for reading - a standard lamp would help. Quality breakfast with extensive choice. Restaurant ("Elements") is expensive and food was just above average. But overall, good value for money and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: No comment. All have at-door parking.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KandTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHVG, Front Office Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,
Thank you for your lovely review.
It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay. I will pass your comments onto our team who I am sure will be very happy to hear such lovely comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you back again at the Mercure.
Kindest Regard's
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

This is an impressive establishment. Set amongst beautifully manicured gardens the room was large, comfortable, clean and well appointed, although it could do with a bit of a freshen up. The bathroom was clean, a good size and well stocked. The mini bar was welcome and came in very handy for storing the cheese we had purchased from the cheese factory next door. The free Wi-Fi was great, with good strength and sufficient speed for web browsing and emailing (We did not try streaming video). The ground floor unit we were in had its own little patio that opened out into the gardens and there was a lovely swimming pool that would have been very pleasant in summer. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient.

Unfortunately, what could have been a great stay was marred by our experience in the dining room. And it is for this reason we could not recommend this establishment. Arriving before 7:30 we had to wait an hour for entrees, then another hour for mains. Thus, those of us who did not order entrees were waiting two long hours before receiving any food. At this stage we were the last in the restaurant, and yet it was still a further 30mins before desert was served. Not acceptable. Also, the waitress was appalling. Apart from initially seating us, at no stage did she come and ask if we wanted more drinks, explain or apologise about the delay, or generally communicate with us. When we wanted service one of us had to go and ask her to come to the table. We did eventually get to see the chef (after complaining about the inordinate delay) who told us that she was the only one working in the kitchen and had to prepare meals for the whole dining room. To give her her due, the food when it finally arrived was tasty and well prepared, but this really didn’t compensate for the terrible service. What sort of management would have just one chef to cater for a dining room that would have had 30 or more diners present. We certainly won’t be coming back even though the establishment itself is quite nice.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews