We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for a couple of nights for the day on the green concert. Room was very big but didn't really need all the space. Very 1990's decor but ok none the less.
I would stay in a standard room next time. Good location as you can walk to a few of the wineries and the gardens from here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wrenblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 919 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

I would just like to say a big thank you to the staff and especially the GM Paul O'Rourke, for a nothings to hard to do for you experience in the Hunter Valley a few weeks ago.
My wife and I were going to see Bruce Springsteen at Hope Estate , which was the first time we had been able to go to one of these concerts in the Hunter.
Having travelled up there by ourselves , Paul introduced us to other people that were going to the concert and I must say a good time was had by all.
On return fro said concert there was an outside fire to sit around and regale stories.
Once again a large thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Three of us for dinner Wednesday last. The Pumpkin Soup delicious. The steaks were not what was anticipated. The T-Bone was quite thin, fatty and VERY chewy. The 2 Tournedos - Eye Fillets were possibly the worst presentations of medium-rare beef we have EVER experienced. After the Chef sent the waiter out to our table to ask us "would we mind if he butterflied them to hasten the cooking process", I knew immediately we were in for trouble. We waited for 1.5 hours to get them (so much for the butterflying). One was past well done and like shoe leather, the other was medium on one end and bordering on well the other. The shoe leather steak was taken back to the kitchen, and when it re-appeared (finally) it was un-butterflied and how they both should have been presented originally. Who the hell was in charge in the kitchen? Having an International Chef in our family, we have some idea of how Fillet Steaks and T-bones should be selected and cooked, and it definitely was NOT done at the HV Steakhouse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Have stayed at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens a number of times and it never disappoints! The restaurant is fantastic - great breakfasts too! Rooms are modern, well appointed and spacious. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and happy to help. Such a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

After several visits over the years, we are still finding fantastic things to do by being based here. Before it was when seeing world renowned artists like Blondie and The Pretenders. Last couple have been just to visit vineyards and The nearby HV Gardens. Still discovery little treasures, and there seems plenty more.
Staff are so friendly and nothing is a problem. Get there.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SBILLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A great location to stay in Hunter Valley. It is a short walk to Hunter Valley Gardens and you will also receive a discounted ticket which is a bonus! Good and quiet place to stay with family or as a couple

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank businesstraveller004
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $124 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing