We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible for disabled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The staff were fantastic! As soon as the remote was reported to be the wrong one for Foxtel it was changed. As soon as we asked for a second cup so we could have coffee without sharing the one cup, out was brought to us within a minute!
The broken and missing bit of tile in the bathroom is a trip hazard and the taps in sink and shower need a sticker, in the least, to show which way is hot and cold. It would be nice to have a couple of glasses in the bathroom to rinse after brushing.
Cobwebs and the broken lampshade need fixing/removing.
This was the BEST disabled room we have stayed in. Our own courtyard, huge shower with large seat and it was great to have a shelf for toiletries.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuuBlundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureMMT, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear SuuBlundell,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear we have rectified any potential issues as quickly as possible during your stay and it is really lovely to hear some feedback on our disabled rooms!

We will definitely look at the glassware in the bathroom, not something that is often bought up but a great point and i will also see what our maintenance team can do with the taps.

Lauren Johns
Operations Manager
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 915 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked this place on the centre of hunters valley and were not disappointed. The resort is large and set in lush mature gardens with a good size pool etc. the rooms are very large and well presented. It's not new but very presentable. The whole place is set up in a ranch style and the entrance and lounge room is spacious and welcoming. We had a very comfortable night after a day wine tasting which is not hard to do and woke up refreshed and ready for the hardly breakfast ( which was extra but with the right card you get a 50% discount). The gardens are nice to walk around and the place is very peaceful. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank CRS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. Our experience began with being checked into the wrong room because our room was occupied by people with the same surname - you get that at weddings. Instead of swapping the names on the room we were left to have to explain at each staff interactiobn what had happened. Next morning we were required to vacate the room we were in and were assued our bags would be moved to our original room as a "priority". At 12.30pm we returned and the new room was not ready for us. The room was cleaned only after I kicked up a fuss at the front desk. The receptionist also wanted to put the breakfasts not paid for by the original couple in the room on our bill untill I objected. The pool area was filthy and bins and bottles not removed all w/e. The setting and gardens, though, are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the pool area have high ceilings and get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we loved this hotel is so charming, there is the main lobby with restaurant bar and pool, then the rooms are separate and you park your car just out the front of your room which is very convenient. there is a winery on the property just over the wall, and the hunter valley gardens and polkobin village is only a fifteen minute walk away! so lovely this hotel very relaxed we stayed as a couple it was very romantic and quite..

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor and you get a little open patio with seating for 2. very nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han19894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently visited the hunter gardens for the Christmas Display and stayed at the Mercure which is attached to the gardens... WOW... the resort is so lovely.. the staff are helpful and friendly and the services are to the usual standard of a Mercure Hotel. There are 3 great pools, including one hot spa pool, set in a beautiful garden retreat. Rooms are huge and clean and elegantly decorated. The restaurant has a good range and the food was wonderful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a lovely one night stay in a Superior room which I booked for the courtyard and the glass-roofed bath. I booked via an Accor sale and the rate was very good value. Checkin/checkout was a breeze…staff friendly and efficient. Our room was on the ground floor, near the pool and we had no problem with road noise at all.

Some of the furniture and decor is a bit dated but its still in keeping with the location.

Across the road from the Tempus Two complex, in front of McGuigans and next to Hunter Valley Gardens Village, it's a short walk to a number of places for dinner or to buy deli provisions (which is what we did) to eat in your courtyard with a glass of wine. The pool looked inviting but the temperature dropped quickly so we didn't use it. The only thing we felt was missing was bathrobes.

We skipped the breakfast to have brunch elsewhere, but would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with your own courtyard and access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $126 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing