We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a studio king room for 2 nights while in the Hunter for a wedding.

The hotel is in a convenient location within walking distance from Tempus Two, McGuigans & the Smelly Cheese Co.

Our room was disappointing, dated furnishings and continuous problems such as air conditioning not working (knob had been broken off), a noisy toilet that never stopped running, a bathroom door that didn't latch properly, and a light that didn't work in the bathroom. We had friends who checked in to find dirty towels still in the bathroom!

For the price paid we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel in the same area - and paid less.

Definitely won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    356
    148
    37
    26
See reviews for
184
462
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

On a rainy weekend in the Hunter Valley it was lovely to get back into a cosy room for a nice soak in the large bath. The breakfast was great with so much to choose from. Staff very welcoming and great service all round.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeedNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went to a Concert at the Hope Estate across the road from the mercury - very close. Mecure has beautiful rooms, lovely pool area, shops, restaurants, cafes, a pub all within the complex. Mcguigans Winery right at the back of the Mecure and Tempest 2 Winery across the road.
If you are booking I would suggest a ground floor room as you get a little courtyard with table & chairs. Rang reception to see if we could have WiFi in our room - next morning got a bill for $24 for one night and were never advised we would have to pay. I think all Internet should be free.
All in all a great location to stay.

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Set in beautiful surrounds, the hotel provided a relaxing weekend away. Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean, the sunken bath and glass ceiling giving an added sense of luxury - so too the private courtyard leading out to the pool area. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwaySydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Staying at the Mercure is perfect when seeing a concert at Hope Estate - just a short walk down the street. We stayed 2 nights - the Mercure room was great and the staff and service could not be faulted. The location is ideal for walking, dining and having a few drinks with Harrigans and Tempus Two within walking distance. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had long wait for Dinner in Steakhouse because the bartender couldn't find an ingredient for a Martini !!!!. TV in room should be able to rotate instead of being fixed to wall. Would allow sitting in lounge/seat to watch, not in bed. Room is for two (2) people, only one (1) chair. What happens if meal is had in room where does the other person sit.
Otherwise liked the Hotel very much, location great, meal (after we got it) was lovely,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenmac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing