We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and ultra convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and ultra convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I surprised my husband for his birthday with a trip to the hunter valley. I booked the Mercure Hunter Valley at literally last minute notice eg the day before and was very happy with the decision! I opted for the Deluxe room and never thought i could fall in love with a bathroom but it had wow factor. The room its self was clean and quiet. The bed was very comfy and i was pleased to find that each pillow on the bed was a different firmess and material and i really appreciated this as i much prefer soft low pillows where as my husband prefers fluffed up larger pillows so having a selection was perfect for us and we both slept really well. The stay was comfortable and the location was extremely convenient- This hotel is almost exactly in the middle of everything you could possible want to do. Hunter Valley Gardens and the small shopping village are less the 500m away and the only other set of shops where there is a lovely cheese and gelato shop is only about 900m away. I also appreciated the designated parking space being located directly in front of the door to our room- there are alot of other hotels and resorts in the area where parking is no where near the actual accomodation and i loathe trundling heavy bags! This place isnt cheap but your paying for the convenience in this case

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gk_2v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    356
    148
    37
    26
See reviews for
184
462
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent New Year here and had a wonderful time. Breakfasts were delicious & food excellent. Close to many wineries. The only disappointment was the New Years Eve Buffet was booked out. When we booked from the UK in September we had to pay in full - BUT weren't asked if we wanted to go to the Buffet. When we checked in on Boxing Day I tried to reserve the New Years Eve Buffet but was told it was fully booked. Surely guests staying for New Years Eve should have first preference? Apart from that, the stay was great & we would visit again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryguLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wood fires in each area add great ambience and keep you toasty warm. Beatiful manicured grounds are sensational. Loved the use of stone and wood in the buildings. Very friendly, efficient and courteous staff.
Will definately return with kids and wife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Whilst being a little dated, our Deluxe King room was clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order and the spa bath got a good work out during our stay. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dnvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahmoor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We only stayed one night and we had four rooms booked. On check in one room had a bad odor, smelled like a sewage issue, however upon reporting the issue to the front desk they immediately moved my sister to a new room. We had dinner at Robert's restaurant just down the road but had the buffet breakfast and it was really good. I have stayed at this motel a few times now and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend the Snow Time event in the Hunter Valley Gardens with 2 adults and 2 young children. We noticed on checking into our room a distinct odour however thought it was just the cleaning products. After returning a hour or so later the odour was still there so we contacted reception only to be told that the previous guests has left prawn shells in the bin overnight with the heating up! They had tried to mask the odour obviously not very well.

To their credit they did move us immediately to another room however it does beg the question of why to actually book guests into a room you know is not 100%. We did notice a couple of housekeeping issues in the next room nothing major though eg a child's dummy and what looked like some chocolate cereal on the floor (well I hope it was that!). Even after the room was cleaned the next day (standard housekeeping) the cereal was there so I'm not sure housekeeping is the best.

Breakfast was fine, nothing to rave about however quite acceptable for what you are paying which basically sums up the whole resort. It was absolutely fine however don't expect 5 stars because it's not. The bonus of half price tickets to the gardens is great, parking outside your room is handy with little ones and the location is ideal. We would definitely consider staying again for our next trip given the cost and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Terrible fold-out bed, lumpy and hard.
Room was pretty dusty, even had mould growing on the bedside lamp.
Very strange bedding, a doona without a cover placed between two sheets, never seen that before...
Smoke alarm went off at midnight!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgo287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Please feel free to contact the hotel so we can discuss this further either via email or phone (02 4998 2000 or reservations@mercurehuntervalley.com.au).

Kind regards,

Lauren Johns
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing