We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just spend two nights at the Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, and found it very enjoyable. Room was comfortable and well appointed, breakfast in the restaurant was nice and even included "self serve" champagne on Sunday. Had dinner in the "steakhouse" and it was the best steak I have had in a long time. Staff were friendly and well informed and all facilities were clean and in good order ..

This is a good hotel in a great location (walking distance to several wineries) and well worth the stay .. I am sure I will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    361
    151
    37
    27
See reviews for
186
471
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, the food at the Steak House was good and our room very comfortable. It is in a very convenient location within walking distance to several wineries.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

i have never been to the Hunter before, so driving in i felt like i was in the most beautiful part of the country. the Mecure resort was excellent, i have never seen a better maintained, neat and tidy resort before, they take alot of pride in the resort and it shows. the rooms were so quiet which was great we had been to a wedding and needed the sleep in the next morning. strongly reccomend this one for sure, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Rooms are very good and clean, though there was only one bedside table in our room which was standard for the type of room we were in.

What I liked best was that the hotel/resort is located in easy reach of most wineries and other attractions. You can walk to a number of them, including the Hunter Valley Gardens, next door. The hotel restraunt is very good, however there are a number of very good restraunts in the area.

What I liked least was that there was a problem with the lock on the balcony door to our room, it didn't effect the security of the room much as the screen door was secure. We were offered another room and the staff were considerate in the way our slight difficulty was handled.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

booked two rooms ,stayed 3 nights for a wedding. First inconvenience on arrival was to find someone elses belongings in one room ! The inexperienced staff had responded to a guest who had complained that his keycard would not work ( he had been trying to enter the wrong room ! ) by cutting him a new key for our room. They were eventually relocated.

Next room service was a debacle, i ordered room service breakfast by phone while out dining as i had forgotten to fill out the card by 8 pm. I was asked for a delivery time and asked for 8 am.
By 8.15 ,no sign of breakfast ,i rang reception for 3 minutes without pickup,so i walked to reception to be told delivery is between 8 and 8.30, i was then advised i could go to the kitchen to see if its ready !!! I was stunned and said please ring and find out . She replied it will be ready shortly if you wait you can carry it back with you !!! Now i am speechless !
i returned to the room ( which was a fair distance when carrying a tray of food !) and waited, the tray arrived with a bill for $ 48 for 2 cereals and 2 servings of toast. I refused to sign and sent the waiter away. I then discovered the cutlery supplied was a knife and fork. I rang reception and advised that it would be difficult to eat cereal with a fork ! A while later our 2 spoons arrived with a new bill for $24 which i signed
To their credit reception rang and apologised and waived the breakfast bill
The next day after returning to the cleaned room , i discovered there was no room service order form , when i picked up one at reception they asked me to take two , i said i don't need two because we are leaving the next day , they replied leave it in the room for the next visitor ! Speechless once again !

The Staff need training or the manager needs sacking

The room and resort is quite good although we did not eat there

One criticism of the room , if management read this, is the entry door bottom gap is too large and as it does not have a weather strip we had to use the insect spray provided every night to stop the spiders and place a rolled towel to seal the gap, this was the same for both rooms

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The amenties and service at Pokolbin were excellent. The surroundings were serene and the staff friendly. There was however limited access to certain areas for disable people ie. the only way to get into the garden was via a small flight of stairs. Unfortunately our stay was only one day, not long enough to enjoy the excellent surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

stayed here for my bday and I wish I didnt. girl at reception was rude, one word answers, and was not very welcoming at all. The room was standard even though its meant to be deluxe. there is no view besides the hotel carpark. Too expensive and definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing