We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most unprofessional bar manager ever meet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most unprofessional bar manager ever meet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

This place is nothing like the pictures on their site its very plain and dated not to normally complain as work was paying it. But because of accommodation mix up by my employer the bar manager stormed into the function room in the middle of the course and yelled at me to vacate the room immediately. This certainly put a damper on my stay and I would recommend any one looking at staying here to go else where as there is a lot nicer places to stay in the hunter valley

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_0051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Thanks for the feedback. I spoke with Christine, and she had already asked the conference organiser earlier if you could please vacate your room, as we had other guests checking in and the room needed to be serviced. You were the only one of your group who had not checked out. At 12.30pm she entered the conference room and asked again. Christine does sincerely apologise for any embarrassment caused by her request. It was not her intention and she is truly devastated...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    215
    115
    62
    47
See reviews for
113
382
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Just what we were looking for on our whistlestop tour of Australia. Very friendly and helpful staff, really good food and excellent wine. All at an affordable price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guardboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

great location. Wonderful, welcoming personnel. enjoyable walks. awesome food and wines. Room was spacious, clean, fresh yet classic lodge style, comfy bed and couch. Relaxing patio for morning tea. Excellent wine tour. Definitely a must : buy the local shiraz wine called " the family ".

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudolfJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

We were looking to stay in Hunters Valley and came accross this place, at $180 a night for 2 nights over the weekend we thought it was reasonably priced.... the "resort" is a loose term though.

The accomodation is spacious, nicely finished with nice sheets. A large fridge is handy for all that wine and the bbq area near the pool was useful for our steak! The staff even gave us plates utensils for our bbq...

....views of vineyards would have been nice, alas where vines could grow we just had sticks and irrigation... perhaps they will grow soon....

The pool is a good size too and useful.

The attaching wine tasting place has a lot to offer and the free educational tour and tasting was a nice touch but he wine was horrific. The attached beer tasting was nice for me, especially as i had been drinking the beer in Forster a few days before (Blue Tounge beer)

The walks around the farms / vineyards were a nice way to get some exercise

We traveeled to a number of wineries close by but without doubt - the best restaurant we found was Enzo....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_travelling_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed four nights here after travelling from Perth and really enjoyed the resort. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff very helpful. It was great to get all my washing done in their big washing machine and tumble drier!! A wine tour is a must!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0t11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I went there for a wine trip in the Hunter Valley. The resort is well located. The vineyards surround the resort. The rooms are clean and nice. The outdoor pool has a small jacuzzi also.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Maybe we had our hopes up too high when we found out that we could get a room at the "Hunter Resort" in the Hunter Valley. My fiance and I were both hoping for a modern resort when we booked our trip to the Hunter Valley. Unfortunately, the Hunter Resort seems to be a throwback to another time. The resort is laid out in connected cabins, motel-style. The exterior isn't very inviting for a "resort". If it had been called, "Hunter Motel" then it would have lived up to our expectations.

The rooms themselves are old-fashioned, which is fine. There's a lot of exposed wood, with wood rafters and a large wooden wardrobe when you walk in. However, our room had large cobwebs in the corners by the AC unit and the bathroom constantly smelled like a gym locker room.

Aside from the room, we did the wine theater, which came with the price of the room. That was very good, and the tasting/wine lesson afterward was fantastic. My recommendation would be to stay somewhere else, but to go to the Hunter Winery for a tasting.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing