We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center for the Hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Center for the Hunter”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The three night package was excellent.
Menu although limited, was of very good quality and well presented, we ate twice in the Restaurant and once in the Bistro.
Rooms were spacious and well presented, enjoyed the rural view.
Library was quaint, some great books.
Management must look after the staff well, as all were very happy, and enjoyed their work thus reflecting on the guests.
Nathans knowledge of wines and enthusiasm was infectious.
Not five star but thoroughly enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2potties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the nice words. Much appreciated! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    219
    117
    62
    49
See reviews for
116
389
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I took a three night special package which was pretty good value.
Our room, although large, was dated but the bed was comfortable and the linen and covers were clean and warm.
Breakfasts were supplied and were quite satisfactory although the daily offerings did not change.
A lunch was provided as part of our package with a glass of wine. The food was very good and they allowed me to exchange my wine for a paddle of six different beers to taste and that made the lunch a lot of fun.
A vineyard tour and wine appreciation event were also included and were very good value due to the excellent commentary by Terry.
There is a good library on site, a tennis court and pool and we enjoyed two long walks around the estate with good views over the surrounding country.
Staff in all departments were helpful and professional.
This is not a luxury resort but it is well located to provide an enjoyable visit to the Hunter wine country.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
An honest and thoughtful review. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We found the staff very friendly, professional and their knowledge of the wine and region outstanding.
The room was clean and comfortable with wonderful views over the vineyards. Our deal included a delicious buffet style breakfast each morning. We dined at the restaurant a couple of times - the food and service first class, as was the brewery bar food and service.
The highlight of our stay(also included) was the wine school tour and tasting, conducted by friendly knowledgeable staff. Which gave us the opportunity to try some quality local boutique wines and BYO at the restaurant.
Overall we had a very relaxing and wonderful few days at the Hunter Valley Resort and would recommend to anyone visiting the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Very happy to see we met expectations. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a quick trip to Hunter Valley where we stayed at the resort and we are glad the place was pretty enough to offset the disappointment with our hosting. We are supposed to stay in a 4 star resort, but our room was far from this.
We paid extra to stay in a charming Vineyard room described by their website as having a private balcony, I only found a little bench outside.
The room was spacious but really needs renovation, the remote control didn't work, the shower was deregulated and spread water across the bathroom, it was necessary dry the floor after to be able to use the toilet.
By morning time i was surprised by the housekepper opening the door without knocking and getting me changing clothes.
It may not seem a big problem and in fact is not. However, for those organizations to take a little vacation and enjoy as a couple, what we found was very disappointing (especially after reading their website) and below the amount paid.

Room Tip: If you are only looking for a place to stay the night, get the cheapest room, the vineyard room not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GabriellaBorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the constructive feedback. I have spoken to Housekeeping to ensure they knock harder and wait.... So sorry for the intrusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Came here with a big group and had the bezt time. Staff were so friendly and treated us like individuals not just a big group. The rooms were lovely and had all the basic amenities with a beautiful view of the fields. Loved the rusty tractor. The buffet breakfast was fresh and a good selection. Total recommend this for a place to sray with friends and have a drink and relax in the hunter valley!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with others. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Large theme rooms which are a little dated but so lovely and quaint. Beautifully clean with crisp sheets and comfy beds. Each room has a sitting room, bedroom, ensuite and front deck overlooking the vineyards. Microwave, fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Rob the owner manager is wonderful and drove us to our venue and even picked us up! Excellent customer service. New management has only been in place for 3 months but they are really making headway. We'll definitely be back and great to see that they will take 1 night bookings. Lovely to stay somewhere with real character!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and overlook the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

If you get a package deal it is worth the value. The resort is just pushing 4 stars if that. Staff are friendly and helpful although the reception staff we met were all new. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable variety. We did both the winery tour and wine video with tasting. The person running both of these was really knowledgeable and took time to explain things. Learnt a lot with the tasting also. With the brewery cafe and restaurant on site also you don't have to leave the resort. There are also two or three wineries nearby you could walk to. Would come back again expecting relaxation but not luxury.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing