We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick Back and Enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Kick Back and Enjoy”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just spent 3 days at this resort.Set in a peaceful and lovely setting. Chris made our day each morning at breakfast with her welcome and hints on places of interest. Linen was of a good quality. Laura from the Blue tongue Cafe was just lovely. Only disappointment was that no one seemed to know much about the Cudo vouchers,so consequently, we didn't get to experience all that was promised on the voucher. Not sure where the fault lays for this,perhaps administration maybe....Breakfast was very nice as was lunch,we appreciated the complimentary water bottles each day as the water is not the best in the rooms. Once again many thanks to Chris for helping to make our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms are at ground level and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback. Yes indeed, Chris is a real gem... I'll pass your comments on to her. She will be really chuffed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    219
    117
    62
    49
See reviews for
116
389
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed for one night as another night wasn't available. Stayed in 2 bed bungalow. Lovely views and peaceful location. Enjoyed the two free talks on winemaking that came with the room.
Found the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelplannerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hunter Valley resort just before Australia Day 2014 to celebrate my sons 5th birthday. We had the best time, the staff were all lovely and even did up a special tasting paddle of soft drink on my little mans birthday - we are so very grateful you did this for us. The kids and hubby did the winery tour and loved it, the man conducting it was lovely with our kids and gave them grapes to nibble on and sparkling water (thank you for your kindness). There is plenty of space for kids to run around and we loved going for a walk to see the horses, cows and rusty tractor. Kids also loved looking for kangaroos while we had our breakfast. The resort was perfect location for everything we wanted to do. Being from the country ourselves we always have seaside holidays but I'm so glad we had a change and tried somewhere new - we'll definitely be back!! The only thing we had a problem with was the strong smelling/tasting bore water used at the resort, they do provide 4 little bottles of water but I would recommend taking your own and possibly not washing your hair there unless you have to - it took 4 washes/blowdries after we left to get rid of the smell of bore water from my hair. Even still it is a fab place that I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All room would be equally quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing your great feedback....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice short break from Sydney to enjoy the wine country. The trip was booked via Cudo and it was value for money. We would recommend this place to stay and the food was amazing. Though we expected more grapes growing around the property from the images, it was not the case.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a short 2 day break away. The location of this property was perfect, not far from anything. The brewery and restaurant were just great, the beers cold and the food hot. The staff were friendly and attentive , answering any queries we had. Unfortunately due to rain (record levels) we were limited with outdoor activities but still managed a wine class.
Very pretty property with everything you could ask for in a short break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed the stay at the resort , the day when we arrived was in heat wave conditions however we felt cool at the resort.

Wine was excellent. going back for more.

Wine tasting and wine tour was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the place to stay, great service, friendship that was shown, treated l one of the family
nothing was a bother, staff were just great, wine as good too, horse riding was wonderful. will be back to celebrate our youngest daughter 18th Birthday next year, she as already stated that were she would like to have it , great place

Room Tip: if you have a family the cabins are great , they are quite and so peaceful and it's just like y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Good to see all went to plan. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing