We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our Wedding, 23rd March 2013, Hunter Valley Resort.
We would like to express our sincere thanks to everyone at Hunter Valley Resort for making it a memorable time.
I apologise if I cannot remember everyone but a special thanks to all including Jan our co-ordinator and your colleague Kylie, Fiona on the reception ( don’t worry Fiona I don’t want your job I’ll be happy with the Concierge position), I think it was Josh and Shannon in the Cafe/Restaurant, Charmaine and her wonderful team who made sure the Reception etc went smoothly, Glen and Nathan our Wine tour guides ( I still need to know how many grapes to a bottle), the housekeeping staff who kept the rooms stocked and clean, the chefs for wonderful pizzas in the cafe and the beautiful breakfast each morning.
The menu provided for the reception was wonderful, I know I didn’t leave anything on the plate and those Rice wrap prawns for entree were delicious.
The room we used was ideal size for our party even providing room for a dance.
All our guests that were there just for the wedding or stayed for the weekend all made positive compliments about the resort except maybe that some of the rooms may need updating but overall positive feedback.
A gentleman who was staying there was unable to use a horse ride he had booked for he and his wife and gave it to the young girls who were in our party and the only let down was that no one could get in contact with the contractors who supply the horse rides to confirm times etc until they arrived on site at 10:00hrs on the Sunday morning. Lack of communication that could be improved.
My only other criticism would be the entry sign on Hermitage Road that it wasn’t lit up and due to freeway hold ups in Sydney a few of our guests that arrived after dark on the Friday night commented that they saw the windmill lit up for the Tuscany Estate across the road but found it hard to see the Hunter Resort Entrance.
Again we would like to thank one and all for a memorable wedding and stay at the resort; we look forward to returning for another stay later in the year.
As a complete package for wedding, reception and accommodation it was very good.
Lyle and Coralie

Room Tip: The Cottages for seclusion and privacy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hearty congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in April.
Our room was clean and tidy, it had a beautiful view across the vines and sunrise at 6am was stunning.
The staff we saw were very helpful and efficient throughout.
Whilst it didn't bother us I can see that the pool being closed constantly for 'maintenance' might have bothered families with children who were expecting to swim.
The breakfast was excellent, the only niggle being the absence of decent coffee, the machine was not working and the substituted sachets of instant were awful, strange that there were adjacent espresso machines in the restaurant and adjoining cafe which must have been off limits to the breakfast staff, or were they taking the easy option ??

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank thejaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. We do have a great team. Apologies for the coffee machine - and you are right, we should have been offering espresso coffee in place. Great suggestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this large working winery. The big plus was the bluetongue beer, although now no longer brewed here, its origins were once from this property. The grounds are quire rustic with a collection of cabins located around reception and larger cabins (spa cabins) located further passed the tennis courts.

There are different options available such as wine school and a vineyard tour. Really enjoyed the vineyard tour with Nathan who explains the winemaking process and there are also tasting classes later in the day.

The rooms are in need of a refurbishment, but they are clean, and you can't really complain when you wake up to the fantastic view outside your cabin.

The room to our cabin also had a screen door; this was the only door you could lock when inside your room. Didn't think this is very secure as there is no safe in your room.

Breakfast was poor, few options available, but friendly staff to help out. The place is pretty much self-service. The food in the bar was delicious, would recommend the pizzas. You can also wash this down with the delicious blue tongue beer or a tasting paddle of seven flavours.


The rooms are in need of a refurishment, but they are clean, and you can't really complain when you take up to the fantastic view outside your cabin.

The room to our cabin also had a screen door, this was the only door you could lock when inside your room. Didn't think this is very secure as there is no safe in your room.

Breakfast was poor, few options available, but friendly staff to help out. The place is pretty much self service. The food in the bar was delicious, would recommend the pizzas. You can also was this down with the delicious blue tongue beer or a tasting paddle of seven flavours.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaschG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. Especially the great service from our team. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pretty decent little place, but definately not a resort in the whole scheme of things.
It is being run fairly well. The rooms are very out dated. The food is overpriced and the pasta appeared to be reheated from the day before. For the price I expected the food to be fresh. Very dissappointing. The spa service was really good. I enjoyed the massage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77_Amy_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others. Rest assured, nothing is reheated from the day before. All our pastas, pizza and bites are made fresh daily.

Regarding our name - we have had the Hunter Resort name for many years and we are conscious of not over selling it - the first words of our website say:

"Hunter Valley Resort is not one of those 'big' resorts, it is a country inn or lodge with 35 rooms and cottages, nestled within its own 40 year old shiraz vineyards on 70 secluded acres in the very heart of the famous Hunter Valley Wine Country".

What makes us more of a 'resort' when you compare us to others is all our onsite activities like horseriding, massage centre, vineyard tour/winetasting, Bluetongue Brewery, Wine Theatre, Cooking Schools, Binnorie Cheese tasting, Candymaking Class, Pool, Tennis, Mountain bikes etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April for a wine tour and horseback riding adventure. The staff was very helpful at the front desk and answered all of our questions. My oldest daughter was sick so they arranged to have the room cleaned right away so we could have an earlier check in time which we really appreciated. My 14 year old daughter went horseback riding which is offered at the resort and was swarmed by black flies. Her guide was nice and helpful but it was too overwhelming with flies for her to enjoy the ride. The food at the restaurant was nothing special and the service for dinner was very disappointing. The accommodations were average and nothing special. But be aware that there are cows right next to the accommodations and very early in the morning those cows would let there presence be known!!!! Over and over again for a long time..... The pool was deserted too and not really appealing or maintained. The Resort looks better in the pictures than in real life. It served it's purpose for the one night but I wouldn't stay there any longer.

Room Tip: Away from the cows if you can!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback - yes we are very much in the country. There are cows and flies - but also kangaroos, bird life, fresh air, horses and much more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Over priced, below standard hotel. There is a plethora of other places you can book in the area if you do your research. We had 'upgraded' to a Vineyard Room.

Negatives: It was shabby, full of pine (furniture, ceiling..yuck yuck yuck) had something annoying living in the roof space, grubby and an odd smell. We would have gone elsewhere if we hadn't arrived at 1am after a 16 hour drive!!
Positives: outstanding views, close to nature, big comfy bed.

Wouldn't recommend this place unless you literally need a budget bed and will be escaping for the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Would not recommend staying here
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are sorry you did not like the country feel of our rooms. Yes, there are timber cathedral ceilings, and all the furniture is solid pine. As one would find in a country cottage. We have deliberately steered away from big city fitouts as most of our customers love the relaxed feel.

Glad you loved the bed - this is a big plus and thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked on line for this stay in the Hunter and were dissappointed with the accommodation.What is touted as a resort is more like a slightly upmarket motel room made to look like a log cabin. Our bank of rooms were in a long line and although our car park spot was in front of our door it was'nt easy to get to as there was a steep slope and a garden bed to climb over so you had to walk about 30 metres to the stairs and then return via the verandah lugging your baggage. The walls were paper thin and we could hear the people in the next room clearly. We turned up the tv to cover the voices next door but were then woken early the next day by our neighbors again.
There are a lot nicer places to stay for only a few more dollars. Our room was on a special deal for $164 for the night but there was nothing special about it. I wouldnt recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback - We think we offer value especially when one compares us to others with all our onsite activities like horseriding, massage centre, vineyard tour/winetasting, Bluetongue Brewery, Wine Theatre, Cooking Schools, Binnorie Cheese tasting, Candymaking Class, Pool, Tennis, Mountain bikes etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $98 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing