We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great Hunter Valley Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Mudgeeraba, Australia
1 review
“The great Hunter Valley Resort”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

WOW what a great find!

Well located in the Hunter Valley . We stayed two nights and really should have stayed a couple more to further explore area.
Right from reception the staff were helpful; Our rooms were very nicely serviced each day , the bed was firm and comfortable - This is my main concern when travelling so was not disappointed.

It was very convenient to go to the Bluetongue Cafe Bar for relaxing both in the morning with a proper coffee a read of the free papers or at the end of the day.

I also enjoyed the rolling uninterrupted views of vines from outside our room as happy to sit down after a busy day of wine tasting .We took the full day bus tour and learnt that the more expensive wined did not leave that hang over feeling.

Just have to go back and stay again at the Hunter Valley Resort so we can really get into the Hunter Valley region.

Room Tip: no need all look the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    228
    119
    64
    50
See reviews for
125
399
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Everything seemed too good to be true when I booked and paid for my wedding accommodation and reception to be held at casuarina in 2010. I paid for our reception in full, as I did with the accommodation ($1600 for 3 rooms over 2 nights which was worth more than my wedding dress!!) Debbie was the restaurant manager at the time and when I made an impromptu visit to casuarina to go over wedding reception and menu details, I was informed that Debbie resigned from her job as restaurant manager and had taken off with my entire payment for my wedding reception food and drinks. I had no help from the owners of casuarina with trying to locate Debbie. They didn't even want to give me the name of her solicitor. I ended up having to threaten to publish in every hunter valley news paper how she took my money and did a runner. Thankfully Debbie finally contacted me before my final warning was taken to print. The owner of the place was always "too busy" to discuss my wedding plans and I ended up moving our reception to Hunter Resort. (best move we ever made, I can't recommend this place enough!!) we decided to keep our accommodation that we booked (moulin rouge, French bordello and Italian bordello) at casuarina because our wedding was on 10.10.10 and there was nothing else available in the hunter valley for this date. We had 11 weeks to replan our entire wedding reception because of this. I had to resend my invitations and it was humiliating and not to mention an expensive task to have them all remade again with the new reception details. When we arrived the day before the wedding, there was no complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates in the honeymoon suite as promised. There was cruty old sperm on the valance of the bed in the French room. There was a $2 in the sheets in the moulin rouge room, so they clearly had not washed or changed the sheets in a while. We locked ourselves out of one room by accident on our wedding day and the owner would not help us by giving us a master key. She basically told us that she had already gone above and beyond her duty to us because we had asked if 2 of the beds could be remade for us as we were giving the rooms to different family members for different nights of our compulsory 2 night booking. I would never recommend this place to anybody. I will never forget how casuarina came so close to ruining what should have been the happiest time of my life. All I have to look at now is photos of the rooms and the constant reminder of how unwelcome we were made to feel once we swapped our reception to a new venue. Its no surprise the place has so many bad reviews. I wished I read them all before I booked my wedding. So brides and grooms, please be aware. If you want a perfect fairy tale day.... Go to hunter resort instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank TheZedFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed as part of the groupon deal.
The reception staff where efficient, check in took 5 min if that, our room was easy to get to and was clean, bed was comfortable.
We did the vine tour and then went onto the wine tasting.. Was the first time I had done one and I was stoked. The guys that did it knew their s**t, they knew so much about each and every wine it was awesome! Even after the tasting, we went to the cellar door and they where great for the hour we spent trying to make our minds up on what wines to buy (there was no pressure to buy either). They delivered it to our room, we went over the road and brought some yummy cheeses, sat out on our balcony, ate cheese and drank some wine.
We had dinner at the restaurant saint martinos.. Food was delicious, extremely quick to the table, and we where blown away at the price too.. Very good prices, and good service from restaurant staff also.
We had a few drinks in the brewery bar after dinner. Chatted with other guests, played some pool. Bar staff we great!

I don't know what some people have complained about in other reviews, we had a fantastic time, any trip to anywhere is what you make of it, but we have no complaints about any of it.

We are definately going to go back and do it all again (maybe when this hang over subsides)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz83a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a night when we went up there for a concert. The checkin staff were lovely and managed to have our room ready early. We had lunch at the Blue Toungue Brewery Cafe on site which was pleasant but I felt a bit expensive. We then did some wine tasting and took a bottle back to the room to enjoy.
There was a shuttle bus that picked us up directly from the hotel and dropped us back at the end of the concert.
The rooms are a good size. We had four adults in a room with a queen bed and a rollaway bed that added on to the single bed in the room to make a double. The rooms were clean.
There is a pool and BBQ area on site but we did not get a chance to use them on this stay.
The hotel seems to be a bit of a drive into nowhere but it is actually an ideal base for wine tasting or other things to do in the area.
We found it was good value for money. Don't let the poor reviews that others had posted dissuade you from booking this hotel. We would consider staying again next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your honesty. You must come back and try our new menu at Bluetongue. Totally different now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pleasant resort which will be improved when gardens are more mature. Friendly staff. Spacious chalet room let down by initial impression with entrance door and bathroom door sharing small space with fridge, shelf and double wardrobe. If staying long recommend you move the wardrobe further into the room! Good dinner in restaurant - but Botanica just up the road is more refined.
Unable to connect to their (pay) WiFi most of time as relies on mobile signal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We rebooted the Wifi system and all is working. Thanks for the constructive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed two nights. Checkin/Checkout handled efficiently. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean comfy air conditioned room, good amenities - tennis court, swimming pool, bbq area, restaurant, wine cellar/theatre etc though wouldn't call it a "resort". Location was great - close to other restaurants, wineries, Hunter Valley Gardens which currently have a spectacular Christmas light show.

Room Tip: Hunter rooms were attached cabins with both front and back entrance had own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmagne175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed two nights with Groupon voucher. First time in the Hunter Valley. Stayed in spa cottage. Lovely outlook over country pastures. Pleasant little balcony. We actually liked the unpretentious exterior facilities with modern interior appointments - 'a diamond in the rough'. Bed was very comfortable. Furnishings suited the room, spa worked well. Linen all clean & fresh. Didn't get time to use tennis, horses, pool. Cost of accommodation was reasonable compared to the amount of money spent at Hunter Valley restaurants and cellar doors. We'd come back if we found a similar discount again.

Room Tip: Recommend cottages over regular rooms. They overlook country pastures with a little more privacy &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaDThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing