We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Valley Resort
Nearby Hotels
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$248
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$174
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$212
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
295
245
128
66
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
245
128
66
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingwine theatrewine tastingspa cottagesegway tourhunter valleywine makingbrew housecellar doorbay brewerycheese factoryrestaurant stafftennis courtsterrybrewhouseaccommodationmatilda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 786 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My birthday present for my 11 year old... 5 of his mates to the Hunter Valley to do a candy making class...

It went for a couple of hours or so, and they made marshmellow from scratch, toffee (the chef did this one - too hot) and then made the chocolate. Put it all together and the result was Rocky Road...

However the boys creations where very eventful!! With Candy Class certificates in hand, and too much sugar in their bellies, it was off to Hunter Valley Gardens to burn it off...

Love this place - staff always very nice, very comfortable and lots to do. A favourite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandAonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your great review. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Close to wineries and good outlook
Rooms are good and bed was comfortable
Only overnight but would return
Breakfast was a bit cold
Did not have time for much else but friends enjoyed their stay too
Best suited for couple no kids

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppaul4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hunter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Unfortunately we agree with utopiablokeQld review. This was a rundown yet expensive place (wouldnt call it a resort). My husband and i are very easygoing, so we stayed the two nights we had booked in a two bedroom cottage, but prob should have moved on to the crown pl aza which was the same price! Things were very dated. Our cottage had everything we needed, just tired. We were expecting a kitchenette which we thought we could do some cooking in, however there were no cooking facilities other than a microwave. The restaurant was expensive and they overcooked my husbands steak but it was quite good food. Staff generally seemed bored. Wine prices at the cellar door were the most expensive we had seen in hunter valley, and a note on the bottom of their tasting sheet stated that it was expected that if we tasted, we had to purchase something! Havent ever seen that before! Wont ever go back or recommend it.

Room Tip: Dont bother
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights after being given a Groupon voucher as a gift, enjoyed our stay and had no major issues with this resort at all.
As a few reviewers have pointed out the site is a little dated, if you are looking for a modern new facility then this is not the place for you, for us the rooms were big, clean and had everything we needed so had no problems at with the dated décor and older furnishings.
Hunter Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, reverse cycle air con, TV with DVD, mini fridge, hair dryer, one double bed and one single, table with three chairs, pretty much everything you need. Bathroom and room were both clean, and a good size. All staff we met were friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the resort, however did enjoy a drink in the sun at the Bluetongue café, the resort is in a great location to visit wineries, we took our own bikes to cycle around however Hunter resort did have bikes there to hire if needed. Overall while it does not have that wow factor that would make you rave about it and recommend it to everyone it is a good place to stay to explore the region, no major drawbacks and no problems and I certainly wouldn’t have any reservations about staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

First of all check previous reviews, as you will find they are either group bookings who expect scout camp style cabins and pay accordingly, then check that the reviewer actually has the name correct as I found a few were actually referring to the very swish Mercure Resort down the road! So dont be fooled!. We walked out virtually as soon as we arrived (after travelling all day) as the place was a disgusting run down shambles - more like a disused scout camp. They showed us our dank, dark and smelly room (Hunter Room) with sagging bed, old,stained linen and every piece of furniture scratched and paint missing, nothing even remotely resembled the photos on their website. We immediately asked for a better room and they admitted there were plenty of other room options (the place seemed deserted) and "Spa Cabins" , so we saw them too, the standard was the same only bigger. I asked how old this "Resort" was and was astonished to be told they didn't know! What a load of rubbish, I'm guessing at least 10-20 years, they just don't want to admit how rundown it has become. We got an immediate refund (the lady seemed very unconcerned, unappologetic and perhaps even used to doing it. She even suggested we try the place opposite, which we did and were astounded to find a beautiful place (Tuscany Winery Resort) charging exactly the same for a standard so far above what this place was offering. It was like chalk and cheese (see reviews there). Don't be fooled by the scam they are running here and go anywhere else. I even believe some of the better reviews may be have been written by this resort themselves (check if they have only ever done one review and then think twice???) as they are so very obviously not true. I wish i had taken photos to post here to verify what we saw. This place is a disgrace. It cannot possibly call itself a resort. The tourism award has nothing to do with the state of the rooms and cabins, only the cafe/brewery which, by the way, is not a free beer-tasting, actually you have to pay $15 for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank utopiablokeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations - however feel your review is a little harsh.
1. We do not post reviews on Tripadvisor - Tripadvisor have very clever metrics in place to ensure all reviews on their site are legitimate. We like constrictive feedback - it is what keeps us improving on how we operate our family business (Now in our 21st year)
2. All our beds were replaced at the begining of the year - so how you can say they were sagging when they are new, and you did not even sleep with us is interesting.
3. Our room furniture is solid rustic timber. It is meant to look like a cottage in the country, not a glitzy modern city apartment.
4. Yes - one does have to pay $15 for the beer tasting paddle of 6 premium Bluetongue beers, including a free middy of your favourite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews