We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hunter Valley Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“O.K. place”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Easy to find with friendly staff. Rooms ok if a little tired; breakfast pretty good. Prior to holiday we read conflicting trip advisor comments on meals at this hotel compared to restaurant across the road so tried out the latter - seems we chose the wrong option - it was one of our worst eating experiences for many a year. If there is a next time we will definitely stay on site!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howiefromsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    222
    119
    63
    49
See reviews for
120
393
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Rooms tired looking. More like a motel from 30 years ago. Very overpriced for the standard.
Restaurant expnsie and very average meal. Cafe poor. Had a wedding reception which, suprisiingly, was quite good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bill2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel was nice, the free vine yard tour and wine tasting was excellent. The location was perfect. The rooms were nice and spacious. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBarbary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Beautiful setting, staff bent over backwards to help in any way, nothing too much trouble. Lovely large room with open outlook to rear with plenty space to sit out. Good wine tasting experience with knowledgeable staff.Cenrally located with plenty to see and do close by. Friendly and relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Lovely setting and a very comfortable room. Nice to be able to wander among the vines and see something of the property. Lots of interesting activities available which we didn't have the time to participate.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We booked a spa cottage through Quickbeds. The staff on arrival were quite pleasant but the cottage was completely funky. A tiny little room with cheap, scratched up furniture and two tiny little club chairs jammed into the corner. The cabin must have been knocked up in the '70's out of plywood for a few thousand dollars. There were cigarette burns on veranda floor.

But the real kicker was the smell. Despite the very heavy odor of dettol, the musty smell of mildew was quite obvious. We went back to the desk and asked for another room and took a look into another similar cabin. Same thing. My fiancee started to have an immediate asthma attack from the room. Something she very rarely does. We told reception that we couldn't take the room and they said they wouldn't (or wouldn't) refund our payment. We're currently in discussions with Quickbeds to resolve it.
Result? We went to the Mercure and for $199 (vs $190), got a sparkling spa room, everything nice and new.
Conclusion: If you like sitting on a veranda sipping beer and having a smoke, go to the Hunter Resort. otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: A different accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AusYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Your girlfriend wanted a 5 star romantic getaway. You booked 4 star using a last minute internet site that allowed no changes or refunds. Big dilemma…

Our Spa Cottages are made of Western Red Cedar and were built 10 years ago, not 40 years ago as you suggest. They were also refurbished completely last year with new bathrooms, carpets, king beds and furniture. And they are all non smoking.

Just because we would not refund your money for your own error in booking the wrong style of property, you then go onto Tripadvisor and write these comments. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I planned a fund raising trip to the Hunter Valley for the Joanne MacKay Breast Cancer Foundation and the Master Class at the Hunter Valley Resort was my first choice of an experience I would like to show people. This was a great choice as the day lived up to all expectations, right from arranging the booking with the very helpful staff to the experience itself with the marrige of food and wine being shown to us in a pasionate and professional way. I would recommend the Hunter Valley Resort to anyone planning a trip to the wine region, the staff are great. They set the scene for a very memorable day and that was the same with all the other places we went to. Thanks guys, see you next year. Steve.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Property: Hunter Valley Resort
Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Adventure Centre has horse & carriage tour, Horse riding, Segway tours and Electric bike hire * Matilda Bay Brewhouse (12 craft beers) * Winetasting Cellars with 34 wines * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing