We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service in a tranquil setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great personal service in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for 2 nights, mid-week. Leading up to our stay the customer service was great and upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted. We appreciated the well-stocked complimentary mini-bar, abundant selection of DVDs and helpful recommendations for dinner/wine tours. Breakfast between 8.30-9am each morning was served at the restaurant - a delicious selection of fresh fruit, warm tarts, pastries and great smoothies. We liked the way the room had a seperate sitting area next to the door/windows. If we'd been planning on spending more time in the room it would have bothered me that the only windows were at the front of the room, away from the sleeping area. We probably could have done with an extra towel in the bathroom but other than that everything about the stay was fantastic. The pool is small (5 good strokes, end to end) but a welcome retreat on a hot day. I'd have no hesitation about staying again. We didn't try Botanica, the restaurant as we weren't there on an evening it was open. Many restaurants in this area only open for part of the week, including the weekend.

I'd recommend the Wine School further down Hermitage Rd as a good introduction to visting the vineyards and a trip to Mistletoe wines for the wine and the art. We also thought the wine at McLeish's estate was good and the trip to Tyrell's is a must. Hungerford Hills have just released a nice sparkling wine, which is worth a taste if you are looking for bubbles and going to Peterson's across the road anyway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comefrywithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    74
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
695
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Our children bought us a 2 day surprise 'mini honeymoon' to stay at the Vineyards estate and it was wonderful. We enjoyed a very relaxing stay, incredible breakfast brought to our room each day, great dinner in the Botanica restaurant and particularly loved the peaceful and tranquil setting after a lovely wedding day. Close proximity to the vineyards meant no long trips out. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbirtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We arrived for a 3 day midweek package - our first visit to the Hunter Valley. We arrived around 3pm and having had lunch on the way in ducked out to get a few nibbles for later.
We sat down around 4pm and were comfortably snoozing by 4.30 - was it the relaxing music playing on the cd when we arrived, the quiet ambience or the French bubbles that were waiting for us on arrival but we stopped and relaxed. I've not slept that well for so long I can't remember. This was the tone for the whole stay. The service was great and given by real people.The weather wasn't great during our stay so we had to borrow lots of DVD's from the extensive library. The restuarant was only open one evening of our visit which was Ok as there are plenty of others locally and it actually made us leave the sanctuary of our room.
We would highly recommend this retreat to anyone looking for a classy and quiet few days. We hope to try some of the groups other establishments in the near future and I am sure they will live up to our expectations.
Rod & Barb - Brisbane

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The deal with the spouse was that if I gave camping a go for a couple of days, we'd then stay somewhere gorgeous. Well, I reckon I got the better half of the deal. The place was fabulous, pretty good value, rooms beautiful, and as other reviews have pointed out, it's the small attention to detail that makes this place really stand out. The complimentary mini bar is so smart, the toiletries, the quality bed / linen, the grounds, the free wireless internet. Nothing was too much trouble, really friendly but unobtrusive service - exactly what you want. And to top it all off, dinner in the restaurant was easily the best meal we had in the Hunter Valley - by a long shot. (See review Rocks if interested). Not the best meal we've had (but we're very fussy) but easily the best on this trip. Good house made pasta, simple flavours, done well. And the breakfasts are delightful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_and_M80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and this was so perfect.
Our room was gorgeous with a fireplace (also aircon), lounge area, king size bed, a double spa with "L'occitane" bathroom package and robes, we also had a front and back door with table and chairs to sit at an enjoy the view with a glass or two.
We booked a gourmet package weekend and this included a 3 course dinner at the Botanica,so delicious and two breakfasts (we had the second mornings breakfast delivered to our room, no extra charge) it was delicious too. We were also very impressed by the complimentary mini bar which included Sparkling wine, beers, spirits and mixers, soft drinks, water, chips and chockies.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who wanted a very special peaceful romantic weekend. The room was so lovely with everything you could want for a perfect special weekend away. You can have room service for dinner, wine, breakfast and they have a dvd library with a really great selection at no cost. This resort is set high on a hillside, overlooking their vineyard. It has a lovely outdoor spa/pool, tennis court and a putting golf course. You can book a bus wine tours etc and be picked up at your door.
We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This place is out of this world. Complimentary minibar & snacks (yep, free and overflowing with goodies), open fire place, mood music already on the CD player when you enter your super luxurious room. Even the room's tea & coffee is top quality. The bed was so beautifully dressed I almost didn't want to muck it up. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant which was very reasonably priced & the service throughout was excellent yet relaxed. My only fear is that it is all so good that everyone in the world will hear about it & I'll never be able to get a reservation again ;0)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Had a wonderful night, beautifully furnished, spotless room, lovely open fireplace, spectacular spa bath with gorgeous L'occitane products and a restaurant with the most delicious food I've had in a long time. Everything was perfect there was even some spay handy to get rid of a couple of mosquitoes and best of all everything in the mini bar was included in our tariff. Had a wonderful relaxing night and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
293 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing