We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Awesome place! Great food and service with beautiful rooms and amenities.
Would recommend for a weekend away with heaps to do and see in the Hunter!
Location on a vineyard make for an authentic experience.



  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catriona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Hi Catriona,

Thank you for sharing your review with us, we are very proud of our beautiful property and it is a pleasure to hear that our guests love it too. We would love to welcome you back for another special weekend away in the gorgeous Hunter Valley.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 880 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visit Spicers a couple of weeks ago for a significant wedding anniversary. So glad we chose this property over other accomodation as the total package that Spicers offered was outstanding.

We wanted a cosy, modernish room with a fire place. We got that and much more. Booked in for a couples massage in the spa treatment rooms and this was a great start to our three night stay. Botanica is a beautiful restaurant with fantastic fresh local product, and included breakfasts at this restaurant are really special. We loved our cosy room (Spicers Bathrobes and slippers helped), with spa and enjoyed the complimentary minibar and nightly 6pm cocktails delivered to our room.
Close to wineries, loved this location.

We would highly recommend Spicers and the very helpful staff who made out weekend away such a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Hi Kelly,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us at Spicers Vineyards Estate, it was an absolute pleasure to spoil you and your husband on such a special occasion. It is really lovely to receive such wonderful feedback, the entire team are very proud to know that they helped make your stay extra special. Hopefully we will get another chance to welcome you back and spoil you once again.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had a lovely stay in suite 9 for 2 nites to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Very well serviced and appointed, great quality furnishings. Beautiful open fire, great complementary mini bar, heated floor in the bathroom is heaven, spa bath overlooking the trees us gorgeous, comfy big bed .. A great place to spend a few days, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HolidayLover006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Hello,

It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time with us while celebrating your anniversary. It was our pleasure to spoil you both on such a special occasion. Hopefully we can welcome you back for some more relaxation at our beautiful property soon.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I took my wife to Spicers as a "Mystery" Getaway to thank her for being so supportive while I was incapacitated with a broken knee for 10 weeks or so.

I/We stay in hotels and resorts all over the world and Spicers was right up there amongst the best.

The accommodation, the extra touches like included mini-bar, Nespresso, open fire and a myriad of other accessories and inclusions were second to none.

Dining in Botanica was a lovely experience as were the breakfasts each morning again with exceptional food, wine and STAFF!!

All that aside without the right team, all the extras can amount to little, but the staff were among the best I have ever encountered, happy, polite, attentive all with a passion for what they do an where they work - this is no mean feat and needs work to maintain...

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MattBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi Matt,

Sounds like you have a very lucky wife, and it is great to hear that you were able to spoil her during your recent stay with us. All of our staff are extremely passionate and are very proud to receive such wonderful feedback. We are all looking forward to your next visit with us.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

A brilliant visit with no detail missed and the staff were fantastic. Luxury accommodation and facilities to match. Close to all the Hunter wineries. It is worth looking them up if you are after a luxury trip away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi Kylie,

Great to hear you had a wonderful Birthday surprise at our beautiful guest house. We are all pleased to hear that you had a luxurious stay with us, and hope that we may invite you back for another wonderful trip away soon.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I wanted to take the wife away for a dirty weekend but I wanted somewhere classy. The spicer certainly spiced things up. Spa bath, log fire, complimentary minibar. This is the life! Go on treat yourselves

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarkDS549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Hi Mark,

So glad that you were able to whisk your wife away for a special weekend with us, the Hunter Valley is a fabulous choice for a romantic getaway. Hopefully you will get another chance soon to treat yourself and your wife, so that we can spoil you once again.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp,
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just got back home after the most relaxing 2 nights and the ultimate indulgence package @ Spicers Vineyard. Can't wait for our next visit. Spicers has it all, from the personal welcome by the ever smiling Mel, to the romantic ambience walking in to your own haven away from home. Moët in the ice bucket, jazz in the background, soft lighting, candles, full length double spa, not to mention the cocktails delivered each evening ( just because!). There's nothing quite like a roaring fire, rain on the roof & a great Hunter tipple to make you forget the daily rat race and relax. Oh did I mention the food - it's not often I'm blown away at every meal, however, Botanica is the exception. From the amuse bouche @ each meal, to the final hurrah, each meal was just perfect and the service from the cheeky Christy, old sole -Tiara, the gorgeous Darcy & again the ever happy Mel, is something we'll remember fondly. We really had it all & the couples spa with Imogen & Bree was just BLISS! Only thing that would have made this weekend better was if it were a week! Loved it.

Room Tip: Every room perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review! We love to hear feedback, and it is a pleasure to know that we were able to make your weekend away with us "Absolute Bliss". Mel, Christie, Tiara and Darcie are all over the moon to know that they contributed towards making your stay with us a memorable one. It would be fantastic to have you stay with us for a whole week, and we hope that in the future you may be able to. Look forward to spoiling you again soon.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $355 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing