We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best short stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best short stay ever”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Could not fault this Guesthouse. Service was excellent, staff friendly and approachable, restaurant one of the best around and atmosphere relaxing. The Spa staff were excellent. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    77
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
713
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Outstanding small boutique resort offering personal attention, excellent service, fine dining and Day Spa options. Complimentary stocked mini bar on arrival for your enjoyment. Three course dinner was outstanding and the breakfast was most enjoyable. A really lovely place to relax and unwind!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfield South
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very comfortable, secluded stay. The inclusions were much appreciated and with Restaurant Botanica on site, you can't go wrong. Its a great base from which to experience the rest of the Hunter vineyards and other distractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with other travellers and for choosing to stay with us at Spicers! We are so glad that you enjoyed all the 'little touches' included in our packages and property, and you are right - we truly are located in a great spot to base yourself for a Hunter Valley discovery!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little home amongst the vines very soon!

Belinda Stapleton - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I had lots of fun at Spicers: excellent room, food and service. Highly recommended. We also really enjoyed the Hunter Valley. It's been years since we've spent any time in the region and were very impressed by the range of high-quality food and wine options. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Marc,

We are glad you made it back to the beautiful Hunter Valley.
We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife were able to have fun and enjoy your stay with us. I hope you felt part of the family.
You are right, we truly are lucky to have such a large range of restaurants with such high quality food within the region to experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers very soon.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton - Spicers Vineyards Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Spicers and were so happy and impressed with our stay. It truly was our perfect weekend.
The room was lovely and clean and more than enough room for the two of us. The heated bathroom floor was very helpful for the middle of winter. Free wifi was also welcomed by us.
The welcome mini-bar and champagne was a nice touch. The nightly turndown cocktails were great - something different after trying many wines over the weekend.
Breakfast at Botanica was great! Fresh fruit, fruit cocktails, coffee, tea, pastries as well as poached eggs with sides - every morning was a little different but all were very yummy! We had breakfast each morning at Botanica.
The staff are lovely and helpful, nothing is to much trouble and they are all genuinely happy to help.
We had a couples hot stone massage at the day spa; the therapists Tanya and Bree were really nice.
Two small things would make this an 11/10 stay - a throw rug and some extra cushions for the sitting area in the room would be really useful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank melliek98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Melliek98

We are so pleased you were able to experience "The perfect weekend away" with us at Spicers.
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the little extra touches we are able to offer.
Extra cushions and a throw rug are a great idea to snuggle up and enjoy the in-suite fireplace in the sitting area. Thank you for this suggestion.

Don't hesitate to contact our friendly guest services staff when your ready to plan your next trip away with us.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton - Spicers Vineyard Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Customer service was second to none! Rooms were fabulous and food excellent! I will definately be coming back and staying here again and sooner the better. It was the little added extras that were a surprise on the day that made all the difference like heated bathroom floor, afternoon cocktail and breakfast packed up ready to go as I had early checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Kylie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review.
It is a shame that you had to leave us early in the morning but we are pleased we could accommodate with a packed breakfast for your travels.
You are right, the heated bathroom floors are a fantastic way to warm up on a cold winters day.

We look forward to spoiling you upon your return to Spicers Vineyards Estate very soon.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton - Spicers Vineyards Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wow! An incredible stay that has surprised us from booking to checking out.

We were at first hesitant to book Spicers thinking it was more romantically focused. However, the retreat's perfect facilities, spa and hospitality also lends itself to an ideal mother-daughter escape. We loved being upgraded from the beginning, welcomed with a beautiful handwritten card, evening cocktails and complimentary mini bar! The heated towel racks, spa bath, rain shower and natural amenities also added that hint of luxury Spicers is renowned for. Every morning the room is also spotlessly refreshed, including the fireplace, which was primed with wood and newspapers for easy lighting.

Breakfast includes a fresh fruit cocktail, pastries, quiches, fresh fruit, eggs and choice of tea/coffee. Beautifully made and delivered on the dot by room service or in the restaurant. Dinner was also faultless, with exceptional service and often a complimentary glass of champagne! Book in advance as they do fill up quickly on weekends.

Perhaps the biggest stand-out for us was Spa Anise - we have had treatments at properties such as the Banff Springs & Gaia Retreat but this was the best so far. Opting for a facial and body scrub, the service was personalised and worth every cent. Bree was extremely knowledgeable about the spa's Waterlily products and genuinely interested in enhancing our skincare goals. All staff members were also honest and happy to enlighten us with personal stories and the region's best kept winery secrets! An absolute delight.

Overall, the location is central to all wineries, whilst still a comfortable distance from the commercial part of town. Do not be put off by winter in the Hunter, as Spicers' fireplaces, heated towel racks and bathroom floors ensure the experience is warm!

Thank you Spicers for a wonderful escape, we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the ground floor, furtherest to the right as you come up to the retreat. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersHunterValley, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Melissa,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a stunning review on Spicers Vineyards Estate.
We are so pleased you were able to connect and enjoy a perfect mother- daughter spa escape away with us.
Spa Anise is a perfect way to treat yourself by relaxing, unwinding and indulging whilst being in the tranquil surrounds of the beautiful Hunter Valley.
We are very lucky to be located centrally to restaurants and wineries to allow you to experience the delights of what the Hunter Valley has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to Spicers for another pampering session in the very near future.

Warmest Regards

Belinda Stapleton - Spicers Vineyards Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing