We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our second weekend here in less than a year and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It would have to be the most relaxing place I have stayed. The service is faultless and friendly, our room was extremely clean, well furnished and stocked with complimentary mini bar items. The grounds are lovely and thanks to great weather we were able to enjoy the pool area.
The Botanica Restaurant has a fantastic view, great food, wine and service. Each time I dined for breakfast or dinner they knew I was vegetarian and I was well looked after. My husband had left his Asthma puffer at home and Belinda was so kind and gave him one of hers.
Could not recommend this place more and will always stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeisureMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
687
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed one night as that's the only time my husband could spare from work. The service, the accommodation, the food was all amazing. the little complimentary extras were a nice surprise. The grounds were beautiful and so quiet. Botanica's menu was varied and chef is a genius. Every course was superb. Spicers Vineyards Estate is a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our second stay at Spicers & we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The service is faultless, the Restaurant Botanica is amazing with a great choice of wines and knowledgable staff.The food is delicious and all set in the vineyard, a beautiful backdrop to any meal. The relocation of the pool & spa,is great & we were lucky enough to have fantastic weather so we put it to great use. We love to order breakfast to the front verandah and enjoy the peace of this beautiful place.Thankyou again for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vickiillawong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend at Spicers Vineyard while in the Hunter for a concert. Wonderful rooms, facilities, welcoming service and attention to detail. The restaurant was superb as well. Many thanks to Sharon for giving us a lift to the concert when we were running late!
Highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Klarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Premium priced rooms that are extremely well furnished. Niggly problems you don't expect at these prices- notably a bathroom door that wouldn't close. Restaurant is first-class. Staff responded well to all requests. Getting around in the dark was tricky as the external lighting is insufficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Gerard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback both at check out and on tripadvisor - we appreciate every piece of feedback that we receive.

Premium priced rooms that are extremely well furnished. Niggly problems you don't expect at these prices- notably a bathroom door that wouldn't close. Restaurant is first-class. Staff responded well to all requests. Getting around in the dark was tricky as the external lighting is insufficient.

We are delighted to read that you thought our rooms were extremely well furnished and that you loved our restaurant, rating it as first-class!

Here at Spicers we take the upkeep of the property very seriously & ensure all issues are fixed as soon as we are aware of them. We are sorry that the sliding door to your bathroom had come slightly off its rails during your stay and assure you that the issues was fixed as soon as you reported it to us on check out. We are also pleased to say that we are in the process of upgrading all the lighting between the guesthouse and restaurant buildings since a recent power surge knocked out our garden pathway lights.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Belinda Stapleton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Oh my, where to start? The welcome was delightful, we arrived later in the evening than planned & on entering our room immediately felt de-stressed with the low jazz background music & flickering votive. Our room was superb, spacious, with L shaped sofa, cosy blanket, study area, brilliantly equipped mini bar & snacks (complimentary!), really comfy bed, fabulous bathroom with - joy - a huge spa bath, heated towel rail, fluffy robes.....Breakfast was included, served in Botanica, really stylish, tasty & chic. I had a massage & that was also top quality. The pool is really smart with adjacent jacuzzi, the latter being a great place to enjoy the early evening spritzer brought to us, one of many very thoughtful & stylish touches. The attention to detail at Spicers is second to none. It's not cheap but well worth every cent for a special occasion / splurge. All the staff we met were charming, courteous, friendly & willing to assist in anything, they made us feel special

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Sarah,

We just loved reading your beautiful review of Spicers Vineyards Estate and are so pleased you noticed the little things our team take great pride in doing to make your stay even more special.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another special Spicers experience soon!

Kind Regards,

Belinda Stapleton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel, rooms and facitlities are first class but it is the efficient,friendly and knowledgable service set this place apart from all others.Simply the best we have experienced in Australia. From the welcoming email to ask if they could do anything for us to check in and the dinning experience, this is a place we will come back to often.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Stephen, reading your 5 out of 5 review on all aspects just brings a smile to our teams faces! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share with other like minded travelers.

We hope to see you back in the wine country again soon!

Warmest regards,

Belinda Stapleton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing