We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night of Luxury in the Hunter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
East Maitland, Australia
1 review
“A Night of Luxury in the Hunter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this property, my partner and i both felt like we were being welcomed into a little family! We were greeted by Rhianna on the front desk who couldn't have been more friendly and helpful! With several other friendly faces stopping by to say hello as they passed! We were taken straight to our room (Upstairs with a view of the pool and the front of the property - Gorgeous!) and were told to help ourselves to the complimentary mini bar!! Full of sparkling wine, beers & choccies!! What else could you ask for!

Our room was beautiful, with a personalised card welcoming us to the estate and a small love heart of petals on our bed and some small candles lit around the spa bath! Toasty towels on the towel rack, a comfy gown and slippers along with full tea and coffee making facilities (and the full mini bar) meant we were ready for a cosy night in front of the fireplace!! After calling down to reception to see what food would be available (as we did stay on a monday night when the restaurant was closed) we were given many options to dine elsewhere or to have thai food in the room - decision made!!! We were also offered a vast selection of dvd's for our enjoyment!

I have to make a special mention about the bed! It was huge and so comfortable! My partner likes to lie diagonal and takes up most of the space, but even with him doing so in this bed i wasn't interrupted by him once and possibly had one of the best nights sleep i have had in a while.

I honestly felt that one night wasn't enough! We were well and truly spoilt by every member of staff and i definitely will not hesitate to return! Thankyou to all at Spicers Vineyards Estate for such an enjoyable and luxury night away in the hunter!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBlueEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you Sandra for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us at Spicers Vineyards Estate. We look forward to your return so we can spoil you all over again.

Warmest regards,
Rhiannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
687
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to the amazing staff at Spicers estate for a lovely weekend! My partner and I spent the weekend at the property to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were greeted by Sharon who was warm and welcoming, and took us to our room where a chilled bottle of sparkling and a plate of fruit awaited us. The room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. We had dinner at Botanica which is also in the property-one if the best meals I have ever had. Highly recommend staying at Spicers Estate, especially for the excellent service and personal touch.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

From the minute I got out of the car after a long drive up from Sydney I was blown away! My husband and I were greeted by wonderful staff who had such a warm friendly feeling.
Upon arriving to our room we had welcome card addressed to us both wishing us a very happy anniversary! Can I just say my hubby was quite impressed. The room was to die for! The king size fluffed up pillows with the most amazing bathroom! The room was more then just perfect, I could not fault at all.
Our complementary mini bar on arrival and breakfast the following morning just put the icing on the cake!
The staff here are absolutely amazing by the time we left they felt like family that we had known for years!
My husband and I will defiantly be back in the future.
See you soon Spicers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spicers is a nice place, unfortunately architecturally designed like an old highway motel, so no sense of privacy at front of back of rooms. Having windows open means people within a meter of your window walking past can see in. Easily hear any noises from adjacent room, yes, including all the details when they're using the bathroom. I would far happier if the price was $250 a night, but not $400 plus, I'm used to a much higher standard at that rate. Cheaply furnished too.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Martin,

I cannot express how terribly upset and sad our team were to hear that you have not absolutely loved your stay with us, as our other reviewers have done. Here at Spicers Vineyards Estate we pride ourselves on representing ourselves as outstanding service providers (most especially after being voted No.2 in Australia for best service hotels), offering a relaxed environment in the beautiful wine country to unwind, enjoy gourmet delights, and all with good value.

We package all of our accommodation packages with a beautiful gourmet breakfast, complimentary all day espersso service, a complimentary arrival mini bar complete with a full sized bottle of sparkling, local beers, soft beverages and nibbles, along with a daily maid service and an offered turndown service nightly along with complimentary cocktails. Pairing this with the very large, spacious rooms, fully set fireplaces with limitless firewood, plush king sized bedding and spa's in every room, we feel that our bed and breakfast packages are jam packed with value, especially compared with many other properties offering room only with no retreat facilities at the $250 price point you mention.

We are an intimate guesthouse property and although we cannot change the overall building structure that was designed by previous owners, we are dedicated to continually improving the guesthouse building and room offerings. We recently completed adding to the building with four new luxury spa suites, a day spa, new pool and spa and new sitting places around the property. Our regular guests who have been staying with us since we purchased the property over 5 years ago continually comment on the high quality of the additions we carry out annually.

Martin, we would love to have you come back and stay again - and think perhaps the absolute privacy offered in our new luxury spa suites would suit you perfectly. Please feel free to contact me personally on gm.vineyards@spicersgroup.com.au and allow me to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our luxury spa suites on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Belinda Stapleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I recently visited the Hunter Valley for the first time and chose Spicer's based on pictures and reviews. It delivered in every way and we were delighted to find ourselves in what we thought was the prettiest part of the valley (northwest area) along Hermitage Road. The property is large and very natural, set back from the road and there's no sight of any other buildings from the hotel. It feels very private and secluded and we loved having feeling surrounded by nature, so many types of birds and we saw kangaroos early one morning just a stone's throw away. The decor of the rooms fits with the environment, a lot of wood, and uses the colors of the area -- sage, greens, beiges and browns.

We selected the king spa suite and it was extremely spacious with large sitting area, bedroom area, huge bathroom and 2 outdoor sitting areas, front and back. Neither are private, but with a small property, we barely saw anyone else and everyone was quiet, maintaining the peaceful setting. The rooms look brand new, bathrooms too and spotlessly maintained. We loved having a refrigerator for our wine and cheese purchases (don't miss the cheese store at the dairy down the road!), but also loved that the entire "minibar" selection was included in our stay. It's a really nice touch, avoids all that "nickel and dime mentality", especially the bottle of sparkling wine. We also loved the 6 pm knock on the door with fresh towels and a delicious pre-dinner drink (loved the sangria!). The only thing guests might want to know about the room is that to maintain privacy getting dressed or sleeping, you have to close all the front shutters, which does make the room rather dark. Otherwise, the view out those shutters is beautiful.

Breakfast is terrific; loved sitting outside on the restaurant patio and everything was delicious. On our last morning, we had to leave early for the airport and the night before the staff delivered fruit, muesli and milk to us for a pre-departure breakfast. We also had dinner in Bontanica 2 nights - plenty of different choices (especially of wine by the glass), excellent food, nice service. Only suggestion might be to soften the lighting in the room; it's a little bright and doesn't seem to jive with the dining experience you're trying to create.

The entire staff were extremely friendly, so courteous and always offering to get something for us or make a reservation or a suggestion -- yet without being intrusive.

The only other suggestions I might make to the owners are: a) upgrade the internet capability in the room so we could actually work at the lovely tables on our porches (we never had enough "bars" near the room and had to use the living room near reception, which is a beautiful room, just not as convenient) and b) put a real coffee maker in each room (the coffee bags are pretty dreadful and since breakfast doesn't start until 8:30, we longed to be drinking coffee on our porch when we got up at 7 am).

Spicer's was the perfect boutique hotel for us - we'd be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Lanie54

So wonderful of you to write a review on the property and share your wonderful experience.
It was a pleasure taking care of you and showcasing the Hunter region.

And thought we should let you know- following your stay and the realisation of our internet issues - we have had the system overhauled and we have full service again to the entire guesthouse.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again to the Hunter and to Spicers!
Warmest regards,

Belinda Stapleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Finally a luxury getaway that gets it! When you pay a certain amount of money for Accomodation you expect exactly what spicers delivers. Uncompromising hospitality, friendliest staff on the planet, and a place that is willing to go that extra mile! Botanica is all class and the day spa is a must. Book a weekend away here or do what we did and spend the week!

Definitely a top 3 destination for Australia

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dearest Ano,

We enjoyed looking after you as much as you enjoyed your stay!! Now you have found yourself a little peace and quiet, luxury and friendliness - dont be shy, we would love to welcome you back again - perhaps your anniversary!!???

Hoping you are not dreaming about your week in the Hunter too much - perhaps you should enjoy a nice bottle of Hunter Semillon to bring back the memories!

Hoping to welcome you back again soon!

Belinda Stapleton and team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent a weekend away at this lovely winery, which is situated in a secluded area in the Hunter Valley away from the busier areas of Pokolbin. Luxurious accommodation and fantastic service.Cocktails brought to your room in the evening and breakfast brought up to your room as well upon request. Spacious room with fireplace and complimentary drinks and nibbles. Only complaint is the low water pressure in the shower and variable hot water. The restaurant on site, Botanica was outstanding. Highly recommended Hunter Valley getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Spicers Vineyards Estate, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi Craig!

Such a pleasure to read your review of Spicers Vineyards Estate! We were especially pleased to hear that you thought so highly of our beautiful restaurant onsite, Botanica.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm wishes,

Belinda Stapleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing